We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible management, mediocre resort”
Review of Top Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Top Resort
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The management in this place are truly abysmal. We were overcharged on the bill and then when we queried it they called the police! I get the feeling that this happens a great deal as the police were somewhat bored by the whole thing and were apologetic to us and the matter was sorted - but the resort management never showed their faces. The poor receptionist had to try and sort the matter, and he was obviously not charged with enough responsibility to make decisions. The management were hiding from us all the time, although they were nearby! The manager/owner (?) just was not interested in hearing what we had to say and just kept telling the staff to call the police.

The resort itself is reasonable. It is small, but the rooms are at a fair price. They are not the cleanest rooms I have ever seen (nor the best equipped), but they come at a fairly low price so my expectations were managed. I would say that, with the terrible management attitude, there are better resorts in the price bracket in the middle of White Sands - Top is definitely out of town (but not quiet!). If you are German then yes, you would probably feel more welcome, myself and my family (4 adults and 2 kids) didn't feel welcome at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Thewatcher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 185 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed with a our son ( 3years) at the hotel for 4 nights over Christmas. The deluxe room was more then what we expected. Large room with a balcony. The hotel has a small pool however this was not a problem as there was almost no guests by the pool. The minibar and the laundry service in the room have the same prices as the 7eleven store down the road.
The hotel personnel where very nice. It is a short walk to the beach, 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denheliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I am very dissapointed about some comments, that resort was not so good because have no direct way to the beach!
Guys, open trip advisor before you plan to stay at Top Resort, not after this!
I have set the highest score to this hotel, because I have not claims or complaints for this hotel, because I have faced with very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms and good restaraunt.
Several times I have asked Managers to solve my problems (wifi for examples) and they always do their best to make our stay there as pleasant as possible.
I wish prosperity and development to Top Resort!
See you in December 2012!

Room Tip: Garden Bungalows, Family Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EugeneM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we stayed at this hotel and booked the family room. I can only say good things about this hotel. The rooms are very very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and the portion sizes are if anything a little big! They have a lovely swimming situated in the middle of the hotel and a lovely outside bar also. The entrance to this hotel doesn't do it justice! However, it is in a great place to get a bus to visit other parts of the island. The hotel is not beach side but makes up for it with the above facilities and its great views from the cliff top.

Room Tip: They have detached bungalows around the swimming pool which I am sure have a lovely view over the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bashersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very good place to stay, German management and kitchen. Really cool "villas" with a real sea view. Flexible personnel, clean rooms and a not-too-crowded pool. Prices are low for what you get. Central location, only a few minutes away from a shopping area, market, restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 night a few months ago. The resort is average I stayed in the main building it was nice and newer but there were a few bugs in the room and the wi-fi was not working for some reason. The rooms are big a lot bigger then I anticipated which was a pleasant surprise. You really can't go swimming off the back beach it is too rocky. It is at the south end of White Sands but you can definitely walk to the main beach. One suggestion we inquired about renting motorbikes and was quoted really high. I went next door and got a motorbike for half the price. I would say for the value and location it is worth a stay. It was nice having Paddy Palms Irish Pub across the street.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthefareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Booked in here for five nights with four others after being assured via email from manager that the unit was big enough for five adults. First issue: manager said he was expecting only 4 adults despite the fact that we had emails from him confirming we had booked for 5. Second issue: managers discontent at having to get spare bed into room on our arrival. Third issue: unit was too small for 5 adults with bed set up in lounge. Fourth issue: Unit was dark, smelled damp and was overcrowed with loads of bulky, unecessary furniture which made it very difficult for 5 of us to fit in it. Fifth and most important issue: We had a query with the bill on check-out and wanted to talk to the manager (he was on premises). He refused to come to talk with us and had his male receptionist running from us to him and back again putting him in a very difficult situation. This went on for over 30 minutes with manager refusing to come to sort it out. In the end we were forced to pay the overcharged item because we were advised that the police would be called if we didn't!!! All 5 of our party are well-seasoned travellers and none of us had ever encounted such rude and arrogant behaviour. Sadly this person tainted our Koh Chang experience and is not a good advertisement for tourism in Thailand. The resort itself was of an okay standard but as long as it remains under the same management I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindyj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#55 of 73 in Ko Chang
128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Keeree ele' Hotel
Keeree ele' Hotel
#51 of 73 in Ko Chang
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#31 of 73 in Ko Chang
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Resort

Address: 24/45 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach Road, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: $22 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Top Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thailand's biggest island in the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Chang, offers with the Top Resort several suitable accommodations for the discerned lover of a tropical island. Our family-style resort is placed at the southern end of the "White Sand Beach" community, in the tranquility and privacy of a huge and lush tropical garden, which hugs a cliffside.Our layout is designed with maximum comfort in mind, we offer 12 well proportioned hotel rooms, 3 garden bungalows, the family apartment and 3 seaview-bungalows, overlooking the Gulf with its mindboggling sunsets.Our flagship rooms called seaview-villas, both have recently been completed and feature unobstructed panoramic views over the Gulf of Thailand from either your privat terrace or panoramic window. Let us be your host for an unforgettable vacation and provide you with a holiday residence in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Top Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing