We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”
Review of Top Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Top Resort
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very good place to stay, German management and kitchen. Really cool "villas" with a real sea view. Flexible personnel, clean rooms and a not-too-crowded pool. Prices are low for what you get. Central location, only a few minutes away from a shopping area, market, restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Top Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 night a few months ago. The resort is average I stayed in the main building it was nice and newer but there were a few bugs in the room and the wi-fi was not working for some reason. The rooms are big a lot bigger then I anticipated which was a pleasant surprise. You really can't go swimming off the back beach it is too rocky. It is at the south end of White Sands but you can definitely walk to the main beach. One suggestion we inquired about renting motorbikes and was quoted really high. I went next door and got a motorbike for half the price. I would say for the value and location it is worth a stay. It was nice having Paddy Palms Irish Pub across the street.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inthefareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Booked in here for five nights with four others after being assured via email from manager that the unit was big enough for five adults. First issue: manager said he was expecting only 4 adults despite the fact that we had emails from him confirming we had booked for 5. Second issue: managers discontent at having to get spare bed into room on our arrival. Third issue: unit was too small for 5 adults with bed set up in lounge. Fourth issue: Unit was dark, smelled damp and was overcrowed with loads of bulky, unecessary furniture which made it very difficult for 5 of us to fit in it. Fifth and most important issue: We had a query with the bill on check-out and wanted to talk to the manager (he was on premises). He refused to come to talk with us and had his male receptionist running from us to him and back again putting him in a very difficult situation. This went on for over 30 minutes with manager refusing to come to sort it out. In the end we were forced to pay the overcharged item because we were advised that the police would be called if we didn't!!! All 5 of our party are well-seasoned travellers and none of us had ever encounted such rude and arrogant behaviour. Sadly this person tainted our Koh Chang experience and is not a good advertisement for tourism in Thailand. The resort itself was of an okay standard but as long as it remains under the same management I would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindyj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was at Top Resort in March 11 and stayed there for over two weeks; the hotel was as expected in ratio price/quality - although one could find even better on the island. As mentioned by others on tripadvisor, the hotel is on the South end of white sand beach but all is in walkable distance. There is however no direct access to a sand beach so for those who are seeking for that Top resort is not a good choice. There is no night reception as the front office closes between 10PM and 7AM.
all in all, the hotel is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjorn_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The hotel doesn't look much from the outside but you get nice garden and small pool area inside. Big room, modern facilities in good condition, free wifi(weak signal), great balcony to sit and relax, helpful manager. small safe and a bit low water pressure in the shower.
There is no private beach as such, just pebbles down 134 steps.
cons: no free water not even a bottle a day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itzik10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights with my Thai girlfriend. She was the only Thai person staying there and I was the only American. Every guest was German. We felt out of place. We werent treated nicely. More like outsiders. If you are NOT German then dont stay here! The Thai bartender/pool boy was the only nice person working there.
If you are German then only stay in a seaview room.
It's the only thing this tiny resort offers.
It's at the south end of White Sand Beach. The nice part of this town is the North end. The south part has all the bar girl bars. So it's good if ur single and that is what ur looking for.
The North part of White Sand Beach has the nicer restaurants and clubs.
As for the room..The AC is in the bedroom and stays in the bedroom making the living room, kitchen and bathroom unlivable.
So tho it's a nice size, u really just stay in the bedroom so it's actually really small.
Also, if u dont like wind, dont stay here.
The wind whips up around 4am and lasts til the sun comes up. I'm not talking about a little wind. I'm talking blustery winds up to 50mph where I thought we'd be blown out to sea!
The food at Paul's is average. Eat somewhere else.
We walked by places that are right on the beach that are in the same price range. Pick one of those!
We picked this hotel based on it's reviews. It's ashame that the reviews are either fake and written by all the owner's german friends or people just dont know what a nice place is.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Koh Chang is beautiful!
First tip: Rent motorbikes! Only $5 a day and fun. Take them to all the beaches and waterfalls, restaurants and bars.
The Beaches:
White Sand Beach is the nicest beach for swimming and laying out. Stay at the North section of it.
Kai Bae has kayaking which is fun to do at sunset and romantic too ;) The beach has ruined coral a couple hundred feet out though so not great for swimming. The town here tho boasts the most amount of bars and restaurants.
Klong Prao was the most scenic beach. During high tide tho, there isnt much beach. We took a ride on our motorbike and ended up at Barali Resort and had lunch there on the beach. Was really nice and they have there own sand section so they have beach all day long. Little night life at this beach tho. But Kai Bae and White Sand arent far with ur motorbike or taxi.
Snorkeling is at the islands south of Koh Chang. I recommend doing this also.
Bring Mosquito spray..It is a jungle so at night u can get eaten alive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PickyEaterIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I stayed 8 nights at Top resort and don't have any complaints. Staff was very helpful and answered all my questions. The room was perfect. I really loved the balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. Its close to everything in the White Sands area. It has a private beach, seperate from the main beach area which I really liked. The price was definitely right. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends going to Koh Chang.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelthaijapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#48 of 73 in Ko Chang
127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Keeree ele' Hotel
Keeree ele' Hotel
#51 of 73 in Ko Chang
104 reviews
7.8 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Resort

Address: 24/45 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach Road, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: $23 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Top Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thailand's biggest island in the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Chang, offers with the Top Resort several suitable accommodations for the discerned lover of a tropical island. Our family-style resort is placed at the southern end of the "White Sand Beach" community, in the tranquility and privacy of a huge and lush tropical garden, which hugs a cliffside.Our layout is designed with maximum comfort in mind, we offer 12 well proportioned hotel rooms, 3 garden bungalows, the family apartment and 3 seaview-bungalows, overlooking the Gulf with its mindboggling sunsets.Our flagship rooms called seaview-villas, both have recently been completed and feature unobstructed panoramic views over the Gulf of Thailand from either your privat terrace or panoramic window. Let us be your host for an unforgettable vacation and provide you with a holiday residence in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Top Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing