We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Hideaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elephant Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I found Gu's Bay by accident while looking online. Glad I did. It was in the quieter area of Koh Chang, which I prefer to the busy end of White Sand Beach. You need to hire a scooter if staying here. The place was relaxed and very funky. I guess you could say it's flashpacker style.
The manager was very friendly. The food was pretty good, but there is also a couple of other bars and restaurants within walking distance. The beach is no good for swimming in this area, but the pool makes up for this. And if you want to go to a nice swimming beach then you just to to ride to the next beach along (only 3 mins up the road). The rooms were very funky, each has it's own unique style. Brightly painted rooms, each with there own theme too! I had a great stay here for 4 nights and did not have any problems at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cellypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Awesome place, I went with about 8 other people, all the basic fan rooms were lovely, right next to the sea, hammocks and huts everywhere, absolutely beautiful, such nice vibes, and swimming pool. It's about a seven/ten minute walk down a dark road to the main bars, but if you have no issues with that it was definatley worth it, all the staff were lovely and helpful too. I would recommend trooping on with the walk to town as its not that far and the taxi there is 100bht which in my opinon isnt worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

i went to koh chang many times but this is my first time staying at Gu's Bay. it was on the far end of the island...quiet but close enough to a party/hangout place like lonely beach. Our room was an AC bungalow with a king size bed (thick comfy mattress...to be exact!) TV and open air bathroom...it was simple...a bit old but for the price...it's perfect for me :) the place is backpacker style but at beach front and i enjoy the easy and relax atmosphere a lot. the common area is good to hangout and talk to friendly stuffs and/or meet other people. food and drink was simple...good coffee!! ku's bay was great for me :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitnada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at Gu's Bay for three nights. We had a basic fan room with bathroom. There was only bed and table with tv. The room was so hot that we can not sleep there. The location was poor,and the hostel area too. If you like to drink everyday and party with the staff, this will be your place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trawellerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

All that you would expect from some relaxed place on the beach. The audience is mainly young Europeans looking for some relaxed daytime and some beers in the evening, but also some families. It mixes quite well here. If you don't mind a sandy beach, you get good value for your money here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Gu's Bay with our 2 children of 8 and 13 and had a great time. We had a basic room with a fan but this was good enough to cool off the room at night. The rooms are basic but clean and showers work with warm water. Min was the bed which was very hard and you could feel the springs coming through. There was only a small silk blanket to cover us up. The location is really good with a big open grass area giving you the best views all day. The pool is clean and the food is good at a fair price. The big plus here is the staff. Really easy and helpful. Trust them on their trips. They are cheap and good. If they are going somewhere you can jump in with them for free. This is not a luxury hotel but you get nice clean rooms with pool and the best atmosphere around! Beach you do not need as besides Nature Beach is all rocks here. Great for swimming but nothing else. Bailan is only 1,5km from lonely beach but road is so small and curvy that it is not safe to walk, espicially at night. Taxi should not charge more then 50bht pp or hire a motorbike for 150bht per day. With the cheap room at Gu Bay you can still afford a motorbike but our not in the noisy Lonely Beach. Best beach is Nature Beach.

Room Tip: Basic rooms is sufficient. Airco is only needed if you need to stay in the room during the day. At n...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

.......As last year I visited my brother in Thailand.This time on Koh Chang, Trat Province..
No reservation made as it was at the beginning of the rainseason my brother new a nice place just 5 minutes away (by motorbike) from his restaurant.
I was tired after a long journey and a "short visit" at my brother's place till 5 AM.....I woke up next morning and the view over Gu's Bay when I opened my door of my little bungalow was able to keep me silent for quite a while........simply amazing.
Gu's Bay in short: Warm welcome of the staff from the first till the last day.
Traveller's should take a break here and relax.So peaceful and such a kind people you will feel at home very quick.Nice meals are served through the whole day.At a nice terrace or inside in the shade and softly humming fan.
I had the most wonderful holiday ever and it made me emotional somehow.The island as well has a lot of nice places.When you return to Gu's Bay after a hang out at the beach or bar in Lonely Beach it felt like I 'm going to my place.
It;s basic but in line with everything.No BKK kind of bars if you might be looking for that.If you don't want to hear the music till morning late 10 steps away from your door and enjoy the beautiful garden and super clean swimming pool with hammocks around then you're at the right place.Want to have some more action: rent your scooter/motorbike at Gu's Bay or just around the corner and go to Lonely Beache's all sorts of Bars and Restaurants.
I made a lot of friends there from all around the globe and will certainly return what ever it may take.......I had my wake-up call there at Gu's Bay
I fell for Koh Chang and of course there will be more places to stay but I had the pleasant experience of Gu's Bay which I can recommend for back packers,travellers,and young families.Choice in rooms with or without A.C.(fan instead).Small bath room with hot water.comfortable bed.........what more do you need when your world is just outside.

Room Tip: Last room (2 persons) closest to the Tattoo Studio of Nishapat is very quiet and has just a fan.Basi...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buonviaggio66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
300 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#11 of 121 in Ko Chang
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
5.2 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 121 in Ko Chang
276 reviews
9.0 mi away
White Sand Beach Resort
White Sand Beach Resort
#68 of 121 in Ko Chang
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Bay Resort

Address: 6 17 Bailan Bay, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range: $16 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Bay Resort (EBR) is located south-west on the island of Koh Chang, in Bailan Bay. The resort has a big garden with lots of room to play sports such as volleyball and badminton, hang-out in one of the several hammocks or just enjoy the sun by the pool. It is both a place to be by yourself and to meet people. Moreover, the resort is surrounded by walls and with only one entrance and exit, will make your stay as relaxed and private as possible. All rooms are decorated in the same style, yet none are the same and they each have their own personality. The restaurant and bar area has a funky, colorful look and invites you to mingle with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Elephant Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gu`s Bay Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing