We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 out of 5 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“6 out of 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Silent, private beach & bay just in direct front of your apartment, stunning view and and last but not least: OUTSTANDING staff.

There is nothing you can think, they would not make possible for their guests. We stayed in many 5 star hotels workdwide but this place truly lives through its staff's personality. All other reviews below are true, which makes it hard to believe.

We stayed for nine nights and could have stayed forever, we simply fell in love with Little Sunshine!

Thank you Kata, Nat, Tick and the whole crew, see you hopefully soon again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JohanChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
67
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I found Little Sunshine resort to be Excellent! I was here alone for vacation after a few days of work in Bankgkok and found everything i was searching for. The view from this place is amazing, the rooms are great but also the service is superb. I got help from the manager with driving me almost everywhere i wanted on the island and for free which was a bid deal to me! They also provided me with excellent tips on what to do and the island and what to see.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Payam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Little Sunshine is a beautiful small boutique hotel with gorgeous views. The front rooms have views overlooking the bay. The garden with the white sand beach is a sight that you can watch for hours. The staff was very attentive. It is NOT located on a busy beach, which is what my husband and I wanted. However, we did want to go to get a massage and eat some spicy Thai seafood. Because the hotel gets a lot of European visitors, it does not offer a traditional spicy Thai menu.The manager,Katar, was very helpful in taking us where we wanted to go. We had 3 excellent meals based on his recommendations. We highly recommend Little Sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this resort in May 2012 - we're a little late writing the review.
We absolutely loved our stay at little sunshine and would book there again in a heartbeat. The view was picturesque, the bungalows were beautiful and comfortable, and the staff extremely helpful and kind. We spent the first two nights of our stay on Koh Chang here and then moved to a place on the other side of the island for the next two (this was just how we'd booked it before we came). In the transition, my partner forgot his camera charger, which the staff were nice enough to drive over to us. They really went above and beyond. We also enjoyed our meals at little sunshine - thai omelet, fresh fruit, som tam, pad siew, and tom yum soup were all delicious. It didn't hurt that we were there in the off season and practically had the beach to ourselves. The staff were also extremely helpful in driving us to and picking us up from where we needed to go, and they also gave us a hand in renting a scooter - taking us to their recommended place and helping with the transaction. Unless you have a thing against comfy beds, lots of privacy, beautiful scenery, swimming pool and gorgeous beach, perfect sunsets, tasty food, and awesome people, you will love it here :) We would both recommend a stay at little sunshine without hesitation.

Thanks to all of the lovely staff & Kata in particular for your warmth and helpfulness during our stay :)

Amy & Dave

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacejokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a lovely few days at Little Sunshine resort. The room was nice, quite compact but had everything we needed. The staff were incredible, friendly and fun to be around. We enjoyed breakfast every morning and ate at the restaurant a couple of nights which was nice. The setting is simply stunning and we loved the pool (x3!), beach which was deserted and a night in the jacuzzi.
We visited in low season and the resort was very quiet. A couple of times we struggled to find staff when we needed something. The resort is quite a way from other busier areas. This was nice to be in such a quiet place after we had been in so many big cities on our travels. However taxi fares seemed very expensive compared to elsewhere in Thailand. The taxi to the bus station which took 2 minutes cost us 300bht and the bus to Bangkok airport only cost 400bht. It seemed very out of proportion but we didnt have much choice than to pay.
Overall this is great resort with a very personal feel in a truly stunning setting. Well worth staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Occasionally I smile, not very often, but occasionally I do and last week in Koh Chang I smiled a lot. Little Sunshine may have a modest name, is totally unpretentious but exudes class. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well proportioned; the gardens are neatly manicured and lead down to a beautiful beach, the food is varied and tasty. However, the real beauty of Little Sunshine lies in its people - polite, conscientious, friendly, caring, and genuine. Kata, Nat, Pailin, Gong, Wan, Tick, thank you so much for treating us as friends as much as guests and for making our stay in Koh Chang such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed in plenty of hotels around the world that cost twice as much as Little Sunshine but are only half as good. This place is an absolute gem.
Nestled in a secluded bay at the north end of Koh Chang, this boutique resort is a slice of paradise. The setting is sublime: beautifully tended lawns leading onto a white-sanded beach fringed by verdant hills. The entire beach was largely deserted during the week we stayed.
Little Sunshine only has six rooms and a small restaurant, which makes the atmosphere friendly and relaxed. The rooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The wifi is free (expensive hotels, take note!) and the satellite TV has a wide range of channels. The kitchen menu is largely made up of tasty Thai staples, with some Western comfort foods thrown in. For a tiny restaurant, the standard of cooking is great and the all-inclusive breakfast was one of the highlights of our children’s day! (We recommend the muesli-yoghurt parfait)

What makes this place truly special, however, is the staff. They are genuinely warm and welcoming and go out of their way to make everyone feel at home. At meal times it’s a sea of smiles and good humour. They made our kids feel like part of the family and were full of anecdotes about the island (and jokes about each other!)
The jewel in the crown though, is the manager, Kata. He is an amazing concierge: every restaurant and activity he recommended was top class and excellent value for money. His inside knowledge added an extra dimension to our stay on Koh Chang. He is extremely proud of Thailand but even more proud of Little Sunshine. His job is personal; he goes out of his way to get to know the guests so that he can anticipate their needs. Kata is one of the main reasons why this place feels more like a friend’s house than a conventional hotel. The perfect example would be on our second night when he invited our group of nine to share his birthday dinner with his friends and colleagues. He took us to a local roadside restaurant that we would probably have driven straight past had we been on our own yet it ended up being one of the best meals we’ve had so far on our holiday. And on our last night, when we’d finished our meal under the stars at Little Sunshine he asked, ‘Would you like to see some fire dancers?’ and promptly whisked us off to a bar on White Sands beach - at 10pm. The kids then ended up dancing with some of the locals to a live K-Pop band and had an absolute ball.

Little Sunshine offers the best of both worlds; it’s an intimate, boutique experience yet is situated inside the Siam Royal View complex, which provides easy access to an infinity pool, golf course and bar games. It’s far enough away from the hustle and bustle of White Sands to feel like a private island paradise, but close enough to nip into town via taxi or to take Kata up on his frequent offers of free lifts whenever he has business to attend to in the town. (Little Sunshine has a sister café and ice cream parlour in White Sands).

I felt torn writing this review; Little Sunshine is such a special little oasis, you feel like you should keep it a secret - but the wonderful staff, the location and the excellent attention to detail deserve full recognition. If you ever plan to stay on Koh Chang, don't waste your time looking at any alternatives…stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulKempRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
7.8 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
2.1 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
3.1 mi away
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Amber Sands Beach Resort
#1 of 107 in Ko Chang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
The Aiyapura Koh Chang
#25 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 106 / 18 Moo 3 | Siam Royal View, house 4a, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned Boutique Beach Resort on the northwest coast of the Island Koh Chang on the beautiful sandy beach of Chang Noi Bay. Enjoy the privacy and tranquility of this unique spot and make yourself at home with our personalized service were you are a name rather a room number. Relax in our fresh water pool, enjoy different treatments in the spa or get a panoramic view into the bay from our rooftop outdoor jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Little Sunshine Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing