We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Garden Resort
Ranked #56 of 106 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Trat, Thailand
1 review
“Poor bed”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at Sofia resort staff friendly you can rent motorbike, roomies cleaned everyday, the only down fall was the bed, king size bed with 2 single mattresses, one bigger than the other which made it very uncomfortable. If the bed mattresses was to be changed it would be good. I noticed that many guest complained about the bed

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a good bed before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nittaya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
7
25
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights booked on agoda.
Its a nice looking resort with a nice pool and plenty of tropical trees/ plants.
The room's are a bit small with a kingsize bed ,which is two single's put together. Had a problem with my original room which was on the ground floor. It smelt damp and was humid,there was aircon but even that did'nt make a real difference.So I changed room's ,now i'm on top with a small balcony...fine but then the sink was blocked,water comming up then the shower leaver would'nt work.So I saw the manageress,a very nice compotant woman both problems fixed in the morning. So why do I say resort to caution....it's the water supply,it's a sort of mild redy brown. This was the water for the shower ,the loo,the sink. I was told it was fine BUT if your a male and shave this could get you an infection ( possibly ). It's not the resorts problem as a thai woman I know near the temple told me her water can sometimes be the same. If your a family and you stay here,stay as far away from the pool as you can as it attracts people at night for a drink.The second night I stayed here,a party went on past 3 a,m.
The manageress said she was not told.

Room Tip: Have a top room ,if your a family with kidds ,take a room away from the pool area. It look's ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice hotel in Khlong Prao, good location, close to a beach but not the best one. Actually a bit too far from the clubs and cool bars. Very clean but basic rooms and no breakfast included.

To sum up, it s a nice calm and clean hotel for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here around Christmas and it was such a terrible, terrible experience. First, the website and photos are terribly misleading. It is nowhere near the beach, in fact it was a 20 minute (not 10) walk down a dirty back alley and through some disgusting dirt tracks filled with garbage and animal feces. The beach is a public one. Once you reach it, that is fine. But any time you want to get back to your room, it is a 20 minute walk through the blazing sun. Our first night was horrible with a million mozzies and the hardest bed in the universe (even by Asian standards). We demanded to be moved, which they did reluctantly. We also got 4 blankets and put them under the sheets to soften the rock hard surface. Breakfast was greasy, often cold, and served by surly staff. We were given instructions on how to get back to Bangkok and assured that it would take about 3 hours - it took us 7 following the owner's instructions.

Bottom line - avoid this place. We booked and paid in advance. What a mistake. For the price, we expected more and had we known what it was really like (if the website had not lied) we never would have booked here. The owners should be ashamed at the level of misrepresentation.

Room Tip: Avoid this "resort" all together - the way to get a good room is to book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Llucmajor, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We expected more after we had seen the reviews here. Room was ok, crowd wasn´t .. and on the last evening we had a bad experience with a girl at the reception, she accused us of having had an accident with the motorbike we rented - not true at all...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 979Ralf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We felt in this hotel like at home. Room is very nice and clean, aircon. Service cleaning room everyday. Very nice staff, nice pool, free computer place with internet, private safe, good food. To far away from beach! On the next side of street is shop and small restaurant where is brilliant food, very cheap! You can rent a bike in reception for good price-you need bike in this hotel-it is far away(maybe about 2km) from bigger town, bakery, pharmacy etc. Very, very nice hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pikim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We only spent 3 nights here, its a bit far out from white sands but we hired bikes, the resort is basic but the rooms where fine for the price, the food was great so much so i had moo Ka pow for breakfast every morning.The Staff where very friendly.
If i ever have the chance to return i would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze Hotel Kohchang
Seabreeze Hotel Kohchang
#70 of 106 in Ko Chang
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Garden Hill Resort, Koh Chang
0.0 mi away
Kachapol Hotel
Kachapol Hotel
#51 of 106 in Ko Chang
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Salakphet Resort
Salakphet Resort
#40 of 106 in Ko Chang
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noren Resort
Noren Resort
#16 of 106 in Ko Chang
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boonya Resort
Boonya Resort
#10 of 115 in Ko Chang
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Garden Resort

Property: Sofia Garden Resort
Address: 31/28 Moo, 4 | Klong Phrao Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Sofia Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Garden Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing