We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chilled out place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Garden Resort
Ranked #58 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice chilled out place”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We only spent 3 nights here, its a bit far out from white sands but we hired bikes, the resort is basic but the rooms where fine for the price, the food was great so much so i had moo Ka pow for breakfast every morning.The Staff where very friendly.
If i ever have the chance to return i would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    10
    9
    5
See reviews for
7
25
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for one night which was enough this time. The staff was helpful, location is good and you can change money there. Pool looked nice. I did have bit bad luck with my room due it had small bugs all over the bed and it smelled damp and mould. I ended up sleeping in my friends double bed that night, even his room was next door, he did not have any of my room's issues. I said about this to staff but they ignored the whole thing. Other thing which bothered little was wasted, loud customers with their thai girlfriends but this you cannot blame the hotel itself. I heard they have own partner scuba diving school which is nice.

Room Tip: Check and smell the room carefully before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SirRahikkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Will defiantly stay here again and will recommend to friends.breakfast is good and a very clean place and a bargain price room cleaned everyday and clean towels etc and the pool is stunning just enjoy your stay here

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jimbojamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Just cant find anything wrong at all w/ this resort! Great value for the money. Marco, the resort manager, was friendly & accomodating. The rooms are gorgeous. The pool is big. The complex was very lush. The resort is located just off the main road w/ many restaurants & mini marts within walking distance. Planning on coming back many times 2 this one for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edgeoftexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Booking late for a stay over Christmas and New Year, we got to pay 1600 bath for a double. The room was OK with a balcony and chairs outside the front door overlooking the pool.
The AC was silent and worked perfectly.
The bathroom was small but OK. The pool big enough for diving and swimming. The bed was hard. Very hard. Breakfast was included and you got a ticket for each day where you had to note what you would like for breakfast. They had American breakfast (2 slices of toast, marmelade, butter, 2 fried eggs, one piece of ham, one slice off bacon, 2 small sausages, 4 slices of cucumber and 2 slices of tomato), porridge, pancake (with one pack of jam) or fried rice. The restaurant also served lunch, although quite expensive for rather plain dishes and they sold drinks all the time.
They also rented out scooters, 125cc, for 200 baht/day. I got a really nice machine, although the speedometer was broke.
The main disadvantage was that it took about 10 minutes to walk to the beach. Klong Prao beach was quite nice, even if I probably should recommend White Sand Beach instead.
But, you always had the sauna at the hotel if you got tired of the beach.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are smaller but have balconies and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobbelkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed at Sofia for 3 nights in January 2012. I paid 2500 baht for a "superior" room which was an absolute rip off, but it was last minute and I wasn't sure if I could just 'turn up' and find something (in retrospect, that would have been a far better plan)

After the wonderful service of other Thailand hotels, I was taken aback by the Sofia staff's grumpy, unhappy and totally unhelpful attitude - plus they NEVER smiled. I almost always grab a quick bite at the hotel's restaurant but the area was made so unpleasant by the staff's grumpiness that I never did. At one point the reception lady was plucking her nose hairs (honestly!) at one of the tables people eat at!

The room was very basic and small, with a hand held shower and a tiny balcony that looked over a very unpleasant view of a mud puddle and wrecked car. I can sleep on anything but I found the bed almost unbearable as it was so hard.

The worst aspect of Sofia's was the atmosphere. I felt highly uncomfortable there as it seemed to be a place that women brought their clients. I was kept up all night by the people in the room next door - VERY unpleasant! I am pretty open-minded (I'm 20) but really, it was awful.

Breakfast was okay and the wireless internet worked well. The pool seemed nice but given the atmosphere I didn't really use it. The location is okay and there's a nice bar/cafe across the street, and a place to rent bikes next door which was handy.

All in all, it was a really horrible experience. Honestly, just avoid staying here, no matter how last minute you are!! I have stayed in $3 a night guesthouses in SE Asia so I was not expecting much, but this place is really awful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Basildon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in october 2011, it was low season and they had rooms from 450 baht, the lady on reception was very helpful and showed me all the rooms available. I stayed in a room overlooking the pool for 700 baht. I filmed the room and pool and put it on youtube, you can find it on my channel "williamorwell".I never ate in the hotel because there were so many good restaurants and bars nearby. The beach was a 5 minute walk away, I had breakfast there every morning overlooking the sea, .I really enjoyed my stay here and will return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Kachapol Hotel
Kachapol Hotel
#49 of 107 in Ko Chang
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bailan Beach Resort
Bailan Beach Resort
#29 of 107 in Ko Chang
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Garden Hill Resort, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seabreeze Hotel Kohchang
Seabreeze Hotel Kohchang
#70 of 107 in Ko Chang
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 116 in Ko Chang
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salakphet Resort
Salakphet Resort
#41 of 107 in Ko Chang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Garden Resort

Property: Sofia Garden Resort
Address: 31/28 Moo, 4 | Klong Phrao Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofia Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Garden Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing