We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and sleazy atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofia Garden Resort
Ranked #50 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed at Sofia for 3 nights in January 2012. I paid 2500 baht for a "superior" room which was an absolute rip off, but it was last minute and I wasn't sure if I could just 'turn up' and find something (in retrospect, that would have been a far better plan)

After the wonderful service of other Thailand hotels, I was taken aback by the Sofia staff's grumpy, unhappy and totally unhelpful attitude - plus they NEVER smiled. I almost always grab a quick bite at the hotel's restaurant but the area was made so unpleasant by the staff's grumpiness that I never did. At one point the reception lady was plucking her nose hairs (honestly!) at one of the tables people eat at!

The room was very basic and small, with a hand held shower and a tiny balcony that looked over a very unpleasant view of a mud puddle and wrecked car. I can sleep on anything but I found the bed almost unbearable as it was so hard.

The worst aspect of Sofia's was the atmosphere. I felt highly uncomfortable there as it seemed to be a place that women brought their clients. I was kept up all night by the people in the room next door - VERY unpleasant! I am pretty open-minded (I'm 20) but really, it was awful.

Breakfast was okay and the wireless internet worked well. The pool seemed nice but given the atmosphere I didn't really use it. The location is okay and there's a nice bar/cafe across the street, and a place to rent bikes next door which was handy.

All in all, it was a really horrible experience. Honestly, just avoid staying here, no matter how last minute you are!! I have stayed in $3 a night guesthouses in SE Asia so I was not expecting much, but this place is really awful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Sofia Garden Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in october 2011, it was low season and they had rooms from 450 baht, the lady on reception was very helpful and showed me all the rooms available. I stayed in a room overlooking the pool for 700 baht. I filmed the room and pool and put it on youtube, you can find it on my channel "williamorwell".I never ate in the hotel because there were so many good restaurants and bars nearby. The beach was a 5 minute walk away, I had breakfast there every morning overlooking the sea, .I really enjoyed my stay here and will return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Sofia seemed like a good deal when we booked a room for 4 nights on Koh Chang. The rooms are a smallish size, but big enough for two people. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever sat on, much less slept on. You could feel the springs digging into your back. The towels smelled like mildew. The bathroom was clean enough. When we asked to switch rooms, they said they could let us see another room when one opened up or just put more blankets on to soften it. And no, they didn't have any extra pillows. So we left and found another place much more to our liking.

Also, the location is poor. You have to walk back up to the main road, down the road, and walk through another huge ritzy resort, through their swimming and bar areas, and then you finally get to a rocky stretch of beach. There are better deals to be had in Koh Chang for the price of the room at 890 bht/night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingwife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Sofia offers a very good standard for the price, 700 - 900 THB - per night. The rooms a clean, the stuff is friendly, the pool perfect, only our bathroom tasted a little muggy. I can recommend it.
Take care renting a bike in the internet shop nearby the main road about 50 meters direction White Sands Beach. We had a little accident - take care driving on Koh Chang, the street a narrow and hilly, the turns are sharp - fortunately no one was really hurt. They charged us definitely to much for the repair and change of items not affected. Chose an other bike rental!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cptJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank Игорь Б
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxmilian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nastasee_Ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island View Resort & Spa
Island View Resort & Spa
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bailan Beach Resort
Bailan Beach Resort
#29 of 107 in Ko Chang
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 121 in Ko Chang
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kachapol Hotel
Kachapol Hotel
#55 of 107 in Ko Chang
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Garden Resort

Address: 31/28 Moo, 4 | Klong Phrao Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range: $20 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sofia Garden Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofia Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Garden Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing