We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Delft
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

At the end of our 7 week trip we wanted some more luxury so we selected chivapuri. The location is fantastic; it is really quiet and the bungalows are spacious and the swimming pool (with bubbles) is fantastic.

There restaurant has acceptable prices and the meals are okay (not the best in asia but acceptable). The staff is really helpfull.

I thought the comfort of the bed was a bit dissapointing (pretty hard) and the shower was also unstable. So that is not something you would expect here.

You can walk to ban bao pier in 25 minutes or walk in just about 5 minutes along the beach to other restaurants.

All and all an excellent end of our holiday and for us the right spot. But if you would like to stay at koh chang really think of what you want in your holiday. This because the roads are dangerous and the tuk tuk are really expensive (especially at night). If you would want a quiet relaxing place; chivapuri is your resort. If you want to hang out in the bars do not go here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrikusJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    42
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
59
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Beautiful place, very calm and relaxing, clean beach, high quality service, very good food and the room... excellent! Very big, light, comfortable bed, open shower.
Highly recommended if you want to spend you holidays in peace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malwmax M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time for me and my friend who come from Chiangmai. First of all, the most outstanding is an extremely good service. The location a little bit far from business area but it's not a problem at all since we decided to come here for our peace holiday and it wasn't disappointed us at all. There are 20 rooms with classic & classy wooden interior, it can give the sense of relaxing time while we are in the room. Moreover, a lovely beach and splendid scenery makes me love this place even more. We hope that we can come back to stay in this lovely place again. Thank you for all administrator and all staff here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Winnie De P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just returned from a fortnight in Thailand, one week of which was sent at this luxury hotel. Yes it is just about as far South as you can go so is off the beaten track, literally, but the food, accommodation, staff everything was 5 star. We had hired a car so drove down from Bangkok, about 6 hours, and then boarded a not to modern ferry for the 30 min crossing. Take a right turn from the ferry and just keep going for about as far as the tarmac road will take you. You then go down a very bumpy dirt track to an oasis. The 'little houses' were immaculate. The bedroom was spacious, kitted out with everything you need including indoor and outdoor foot wear. The bathroom is huge boasting a full bath and 'wet room' style shower. All beautifully tiled and spotlessly clean even by my exacting standards. The pool is fantastic and the sea itself - perfect for children and so warm. For the first few days of our stay there was only the four of us plus another couple but the place filled up by the weekend for Songkran. There was a plentiful buffet style breakfast serving western, continental and Thai style breakfast dishes. Everything was superb and if what you wanted wasn't there then chef would try to do it for you. We ate one meal in the hotel and for four of us, including quite a few drinks it came to £42ish. This was the special barbecue so there was loads of fish in this. We ate at a couple of the hotels a five minute walk up the shore from the hotel (the second one(not the one set back that looks like a bar) and last ones were the best - good size portions and cheap). The first two villages that you come to on the way back out of Chivapuri both have some great places to eat and it was in the second one - more or less opposite the 7eleven, we booked a snorkelling trip around 4/5 islands. This was a great experience at £10 each. We have done one of these in Egypt but this was far better. The staff were great, the food was excellent and it was easy to climb on and off the boat. Downside to this was there wasn't a guide and you had to pay extra for flippers but to be honest we didn't really need either. Loads of fish in clear waters - superb. This was one of the most relaxing holidays I have been on made even better by unobtrusive staff and amazing surroundings.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the houses may be better as you do hear some noise in the rooms below - especially if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

What a lucky find this place is awesome. It is very far South in Koh Chang but honestly once you get here you will realise that you are part of The People In The Know. Firstly the hotel is on a beach with real sand not pebbles, the rooms are all less than 25 metres from the beach, also the rooms are big and so are the bathrooms, all the staff members can actually speak English, the food is fantastic and the overall service from the staff is fantastic. You can get a complimentary transfer from another hotel to this one or if you happen to be flying into Trat, the closest airport, the cost from the airport in a shared minibus from the airport in a ferry and then from the Koh Chang port to the hotel is only THB500. Honestly you dont want to be in the middle of all the drunkards closer to the airport. And the sea is amazing here. Definately do the beach BBQ which comes with a show. And if you want some variety in your meals / drinks /tanning there are many other places up or down from the hotel. Excellent value for money! I will definately be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keithvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent a wonderful week there with our two kids (5 and 1.5 years old). The rooms were nice and clean with convenient terrace leading directly to the garden. The staff was very friendly and tolerant towards our kids, helping us not only with the hotel issues but also giving us some information on the Thai culture and habits. The restaurant is good, although it's quite pricy compared to other restaurants on the location. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to everybody!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are the same as the ones overlooking the beach and IMHO it's not worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ondrej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Lovely place to stay and very quiet. The staff are very helpful. The pool is lovely and well maintained. The beach is good (excellent for kids) but should be raked to get rid of rubbish and the beer bottles from the previous day.
Set on a good private beach next to a number of other bungalow resorts most of which have bars and restaurants for a change of scene. The food at Chivapuri is western with a few Thai dishes which were not great so we ate along the beach most evenings.
They need to buy some more loungers to stop people thinking that they have to reserve a lounger by putting towels down early on, and then not using the lounger.
It is a long way down a very bad road- we hired a car via the hotel (about 1500thb per day) and I would recommend this.
Wi-Fi over much of the grounds. Irritating music from the bar but they were always happy to turn it off when requested.
Rooms were very clean and overall I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManLikesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.6 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
4.7 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
10.3 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
7.0 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang

Property: Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Address: 117 Moo 1, Bang Bao | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idyllic island hideaway affords the tranquil solitude along with fun and pleasure you could ever hope for escape to Chivapuri beach resort on Koh Chang discovery why it is the finest hideaway on Thailand's most pristine island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing