We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Nearby Hotels
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
$65
$54
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Grande Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)
$76
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
130
53
21
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
53
21
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbumpy roadbaobad roadsouthern tip of the islandnicest placesthe hotel staffrelaxed environmentswimming pooldirt trackfree shuttlebamboo hutminutes walkingother gueststotal relaxationrooms are bigfishing villagehundred meters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 213 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had booked this hotel for the new year period, hoping that the secluded location would ensure peace and quiet and the real get-away-from-it-all feel that we had read about in previous reviews. The site and setting were beautiful and the room was nice but we felt that some details let it down. The water wasn't always hot and never hot enough for the lovely big bath that I'd been so looking forward to. The patio area outside our room had no furniture or towel rail as these had clearly been taken by other units and there were no spares. The beach front and pool were amazingly beautiful but there weren't enough loungers and beach furniture for the guests. This resulted in early morning towel hogging which didn't really suit the relaxed environment. The staff worked really hard and long hours. They were very kind and friendly and we couldn't fault them. The food in the restaurant was good and very reasonably priced BUT service was very slow as they were clearly understaffed. This was the most expensive hotel on our 4-month trip (including much more expensive countries) and really didn't live up to the standards of many other places in which we stayed. To top it all, the restaurant closed for the whole day on new year's eve to prepare for their New Year's Party. The tickets to the party were very expensive compared to normal local prices - £60 a head plus drinks - and in a full hotel there was very low take up. Perhaps it would be nicer at a quieter time - we were there in peak holiday season - but for us, it didn't really work.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms better as better view, not be looked into by passing neighbours and private balcony which would get the sun.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel_sylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier23170, Manager at Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear angel_sylvester,
Thank you very much for this helpful and detailed review pointing out some specific issues that the new management team seriously took into consideration in order to improve the services and facilities. Besides additional wooden furniture and loungers we have recently purchased for the beach, swimming pool and villas, we have now a new large kitchen well equipped where our skilful Chef & team can fully express their talent. Moreover, for a better service and quality delivered to our Guests in every area, I am pleased to let you know that we almost doubled the number of staff compared to the period you have been staying with us. Knowing all this, I truly hope we will have a second chance to welcome you in the future. Best regards. Olivier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just loved the most beautiful, relaxing, romantic spot in Koh Chang (I am sure there are also others). Private entrance to a spacious room, and a big bathroom. Although it is really a secluded place (most southern spot in the island), it was a good place to relax after a month of travelling everywhere. Quite, white sandy beach, breathtaking sunrise and sunsets - in short, a real paradise.
Coffee and tea in room, small refrigerator. Very convenient. A desk in room.
Breakfast was very good (buffet). Hotel offers baroque dinner on the beach. Fairly cheap.
Outside pool, very clean and nicely set.
We loved the unit.
My husband went snorkeling and was picked up with a group (paid tour). Enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kukiline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

An ideal place for people travelling individually. Not on the cheap side, but worth any bhat. We had a room upstaris, very nice and clean. For some it might be a downside, that the next village is a 15 minutes walk away (or 5 minutes by scooter), but for us it was perfect: No beach od full moon parties aso.The friendly staff was very kind, helpfull. They don't overcharge your for laundry (60 bhat per kg) or any other service. The food is nice, BBQ every night. We have seen some families with children, and the staff was very kind to them. Overall, one of our best stays here in Thailand.

Sorry for my voting of the fitness studio, they do not have one! But you can do Kayaking. If you want to go to a Gym, look for BB GYM, a 20 minutes drive from Chivapuri, the only one on the island as far as we know but fits best to our needs! (****)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L_Ulrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A small and personal resort situated at the far end of the island, the sealed road ends and a track through the jungle leads to this piece of Thai paradise. We rented a beach front house of which there a two, large spacious typical teak and red tile design with inside and outside showers and double bath.
The room was kept immaculate each day and at night all you could here were the croaking lizards and the sea on the beach.
The staffs were extremely friendly and ready to help. Dinner is served each evening on the beach which we took advantage of most evenings, drinks slightly more expensive than the neighbouring two or three bars along the beach but the resorts beach location was far superior and compared with UK prices still very good for a hotel.
Twenty minutes walk along the beach or a taxi ride bought you to the relatively quiet fishing village built on pier over the sea. A few more restaurants bars, shops and ATMs. Although by night fall fairly deserted. If you want wall to wall theme bars and tee shirt vendors this part of island the is not for you, its just relaxing by the perfect beach and maybe take the resorts complimentary kayak out along the coast and swim and snorkel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sidcup_FlyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We arrived late at night to the hotel, down a fairly long track road and were extremely curious about what we would find. On arrival, the manager met us and offered us dinner. There was a small complication with our booking and this was swiftly sorted out. Our bags were taken to our room. The rooms were lovely, spacious, and clean with beautiful furniture. The bathroom was modern and clean. The resort is pretty quiet, there are just 22 bungalows. They are all absolutely lovely though and it feels very personal when you stay at the hotel. The manager Mar is an absolute gem and he went out of his way to make sure we were happy and incase there was anything we needed. He is a true asset to the hotel.

The hotel is remote and at the Southern most tip of Ko Chang. We were overjoyed about this as it's the nicest part of the island and still pretty unspoilt. There are a choice of bars and places to eat along the beach...about 10 places but all very thai and very local. Other parts of the island are quite toursity, selling lilos and other tacky goods. So if you're looking for a truly thai experience and some luxury, i'd really recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews