We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still not finished and bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still not finished and bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I booked a family suite with this hotel directly on the hotel website. Just before leaving I re-read the reviews and from reading Jaws550402 decided to call the hotel to make certain that the construction work had been complete. We called and were told that the previous couple complained about the pool that was being built and this was now complete and there was no further work being done.

We reached the hotel and were taken to our suite which from the pictures I thought was a double story building so we could have privacy from my parents but instead we were given the upstairs of a double story with 2 bedrooms. The walls did not continue all the way to the ceiling by design, even in the bathroom so there was no privacy. To make matters worse the downstairs was still undergoing work. Doors were being put on and painted, there was sawing, drilling and all sorts. We asked about this and the staff looked confused and smiled. We asked about leaving early and were told we would have to pay the penalty of 1 nights accomodation. Unfortunately my luggage was also lost and we had to wait a few days for it to arrive so we have to stay and eventually did not move at all.

We had so many problems at this hotel that I am not sure where to start:
Service: They offer a free shuttle to Bang Boa pier every evening. On our last night we wanted an early dinner. Initially we decided to go to Salek Phet but as it was going to take an hour to get to we booked the hotel shuttle to go to Bang Boa at 7pm instead, an hour later than we originally wanted as the hotel was busy. We waited and waited and waited, eventually at 8:15pm we asked about the shuttle and were told that the driver was off (on the busiest night so far) and so they had to get another driver who was young and she was not used to driving hence it was taking a bit long to transfer people. We also wanted to know if we could get back by 10:30pm if we leave late and were told that if we wanted to get back at the earlier time then we would have to pay for our own shuttle. We then asked if we could order food at the hotel instead as it was too late to go anywhere by then and were told that the cook is not available as she is driving people around :-S. No food and ruined plans on our last night. We could have just gone to Salek Phet but instead were messed about by the hotel staff. The next morning we asked someone else about the young cook driver and was told that she was 36.
There is no one on the beach offering you drinks/snacks as they have too little staff. We asked about this and on the last day we were there this was improved.
The staff did not replace dirty towels that were left on the floor, they just hung them up until we complained.

This is the only resort with a pool and is far more expensive than any of the places around there which means that the neighbours are not of the same callibre. The bungalows next door start from £17 a night. We had multiple incidents of people from outside the resort swimming in the pool, some were drunk and badly behaved and made guests uncomfortable. The hotel did not do anything about this until complaints were made by guests. There was a a sign up to say that the pool is for guests only but the neighbours didn't care as the pool is right on the beach.

The beach is nice. I would recommend the snorkelling trip to the 5 islands. Lots of fish, the visibility is really good. Great to swim and you also stop at a beach for lunch. You get food on the boat and its quite good. Its also great value and all equipment is provided. We booked when we were at Bang Boa Pier, there is a place right at the end of the Pier with a Russian lady who speaks really good English who helped us with everything.

We tried the food next door to the hotel and also at Klong Prao beach bungalows which was great. The food at the hotel, when there is a chef is also good.

The road to the hotel is very dangerous and not tarred. Only get a scooter if you are very confident as there were mulitple accidents when we were there. It also makes driving to the hotel at night on a scooter dangerous. We also were getting charged more by taxis because no one wanted to travel to the resort because of the road.

All in all it was a huge mistake to book this hotel. Its out of the way and not finished, not just structurally, they need to look at staff, service, everything. I would not go there until they sort all these things out. There are much better places on the island to stay in the same cost bracket. Try Amari Cove or the Dewa. We went through these on our transfer back to the ferry.

Room Tip: Do not choose a family suite if you need any privacy, rather take a private bungalow. Try to get som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L0nd0nGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    43
    17
    2
    5
See reviews for
64
66
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

booked directly on the hotel internet website for 4 nights but left the same night!
This resort is in full building, renovation mode - unfortunately the hotel did not state this on the website. Rooms barely furnished, swimming pool no where near finished, no chairs anywhere in the rooms or outdoors no beach towels, no soap in bathroom just to name a few things.

Location is great even though a very long way from most other restaurant, shops and other facilities. The owner refused a refund in cash and we are not confident getting the refund by credit card as there seem to be a money problem and ownership change happening at the moment.

Will be interesting to see what happens to the place once ownership has changed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaws550402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in this brand new hotel: only 20 rooms: perfect.
It is located far from the very busy sandy beach, very peacefull, some small bars next to this hotel on the beach.
This hotel is designed with great taste!!!
The staff was very friendly and helpfull, the food very good, freshly made, what made we had to waite for each dish (this is our only minus...)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

The hotel is pretty new and we stayed in the Family Beach Front Villa which has 2 connecting bedrooms with an outside sitting area. The rooms are nice and big. The building is built in traditional Thai style. The service and staff are great. The only downside is the road to the hotel. It is on a dirt road about 800 meters from the end of the main highway. It has free wi-fi. You can also use a kayak for free.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pavee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband booked this hotel a few days before we arrived on the island, we arrived late and it was at the farthest point on the island and very hard to get anyone to take us. When we arrived it was dark and not a single person was around, beginning to get worried somebody finally arrived and told us that the complex was not yet finished and the room we had book - a garden view was not completed. At this point I was looking at my husband thinking oh no what have done! they quickly reassured us though and upgraded us to the beech front villa and when we saw it we were amazed! it was by far the most beautiful hotel room we'd stayed in. Huge with high vaulted ceilings and the most stunning bathroom. The next morning when we woke up we pulled back the curtains and saw we were right on the beech, it was heavenly.

The beech is secluded and very quite the majority of the time we were the only people there, walk around the corner and it is a bit busier but not much. However there are a few lovely bars and restaurants and the people were so laid back, it was extremely relaxing.

The food was delicious in the hotel and the staff were just great. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it all. Koh Chang is quite a party island but this section is just laid back and much more tranquil.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worms
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

The hotel is located 10 min away by car from the fisherman's village Bang Bao. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the village at arrival.
The rooms and bungalows are incredible, very stylish and everything brand new. The hotel has a private white sand beach and offers an excellent restaurant with normal prices. The stuff is very friendly and could help us at any time. The hotel offers tours, arranges massages and rents motorbikes.
The beach is not as crowded as at other places on Koh Chang. Besides of us there has been only 2 other guests in the hotel, which caused a very private atmosphere.
The hotel is a perfect hideaway for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful beach. We were simple amazed...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJW1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irkutsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

I write being in a room of the hotel (D4). We are revolted by actions of the personnel cleaned in our number. Yesterday at us our Chinese tea and a cockleshell has been stolen, 11.02 we have found out that the personnel had been opened a gift (packed) my husband, the pool for feet isn't cleaned and not filled, the bed-clothes don't change.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ArtemBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalBeach4212, Manager at Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
We want to clarify what was a series of regretable misunderstandings with these guests from Russia, undoubtedly due to the language barrier :

1/ The cockleshell in their room was not « stolen » by our staff but removed to protect our guest from running into serious trouble at the airport when leaving the country. These guests from Russia were obviously not aware that Thailand customs regulation explicitly forbids the illegal export of protected species (corals) harvested from one of its marine conservation park (the coast of Koh Chang). The management tried and described these guests the motive behind this « confiscation » of their cockleshell but unfortunately, the language barrier was too high for them to grasp the issue ;

2/ The gift packed in their room had been sealed using a low-quality glue instead of sello tape. The humidity and heat did the job of reopening the package, not our staff ;

3/ The Chinese tea bags were USED tea bags left in a tea pot and as is normal catering practice in our resort, they were cleared by our cleaning staff assuming it was part of their normal duty to do so.

We stress that our policy is to welcome guests from all parts of the world and to make our best to solve any communication problem on the spot whenever their occur. Our guests are now kindly invited to check all information regarding restrictions on the exports of natural species from Thailand before they leave the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
4.6 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
10.3 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
5.1 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang

Property: Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
Address: 117 Moo 1, Bang Bao | Koh Chang Tai, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This idyllic island hideaway affords the tranquil solitude along with fun and pleasure you could ever hope for escape to Chivapuri beach resort on Koh Chang discovery why it is the finest hideaway on Thailand's most pristine island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing