We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View - Beutiful sunsets - Great Hotel!”
Review of Koh Chang Sea Hut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Chang Sea Hut
Ranked #37 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was truly amazing. When you wake up in a hut built into the shallow ocean, you feel like you cannot do a better escape from everyday city life. The sunsets are spectacular.

This family run hotel puts personal individualized service first, such as free shuttle service to the nearby beach, tour organization, and catering to individual wishes!

The huts are simple yet clean and feature all the ammenities that one needs (TV, air con, full bath room, comfortable bed, fridge, etc.)

Only critique, the wireless signal is too weak to reach the huts, and there is not too much breakfast variety.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuryBudgetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at "the loft" in Sea Huts and consider ourselves very lucky to have booked this at the end of December 2012. The hospitality of the owners is something unheard of and exceptional! Koh Chang was our favourite place of our holiday which included River Kwai, Bangkok & Jomtien Beach in Pattaya with sunsets that are surreal, almost postcard like. The swim on the beach nearby was approached from the sea hut by boat with their compliments and a lovely surprise! Also the kayaking which the whole family enjoyed was free of charge while all other places charged for it. The local village is convenient as you have to trek through it daily. The prices of sea food is the best value for money on that stretch on the pier. Just have to find the right restaurant as there are plenty. Don't forget to check out the syrup ice on fruit! Breakfasts at the sea hut is most generous and sets you up for great adventures on the island! May have been our 1st but definitely not our last visit! Absolutely amazing! Take insect bite repellant for all of Thailand though!

Room Tip: Maldives bungalows are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The sea huts are on the south west side of the island in Bang Bao. The whole little city is standing on stilts. This is where most diving and snorkling trips depart from.
You get breakfast served in front of your hut, on your own private porch. The staff is very attentive.
Jump off your porch for a swim, or go canoeing around the bay.
We booked a snorkling trip on a powerboat with 10 guests and it ws great. The staff snorkeled with us and pointed all the great stuff out. We were so happy we did not choose the big noisy boats that take loads of gusts at a time! Snorkling by the hundreds aint no fun!
Lots of restaurants to choose from. Sea huts are clean and quiet. Good for couples too.

Room Tip: The huts on the end are the best because of the sunset views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel2europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Huts in December 2011. During the 3 weeks in total we were in Thailand, Koh Chang Sea Huts was our favourite place to stay (all the family agreed)

We were lucky as the huts were only just built (after renovation) The craftsman ship involved on the huts are amazing, all hand built in wood (including the bed/wardrobe/shower area etc) All very clean and tidy, amazing views out to sea of the sunsets.

Breakfast was nice as you could say what time you wanted it serving and they would bring it to your room (outside on your seating area) - a lovely way to wake up by the sea!

Lek the owner and his staff there were amazing, they were so helpful and lovingly charming, they really couldn't do enough to help you out during your stay. Bang Bao fishing village is a really nice place to shop too, so defiantly spend some time in the markets as you can pick up some gems.

We had a lovely trip to some neighbouring beaches too (didn't get the name of them but ask Lek he will tell you!) There was free use of the Sea Huts Kayaks which was lovely.

We really enjoyed the restaurant close to Sea Huts... It was called Buddah View, amazing food! We had the best Pad Thai there (and we sampled quite a few in Thailand over the 3 weeks we were there!) It was an experience just sitting by the table with your feet dangling down over the sea water!

Hope to see you again soon!

Love from England,

Graham, Lanetta & the kids

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lordydord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had seen the huts a few years ago coming into Bang Bao and admired them.
This time we thought we would look them up and stay. We were thrilled with the hut, lovely standard and very clean. We even enjoyed the decent pillows after a week or so of what felt like wooden blocks!
It is fabulous for couples wanting to chill out, enjoy the jetty village in a bit of luxury.
Breakfast was served to our hut to eat outside and enjoy the view, again is was excellent.
The price was 2200bht for the night and if we didn't have plans we would look to stay longer.
Well worth the money and we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Beautiful Place what a Jem !!!! Lek the receptionist was so delightful and helpful. We stayed in one of the Maldives Bungalows. How romantic was the setting. Wooden Floors and Furniture. Delightful sunsets with the ripple of the water surrounding you and the fish jumping. Stayed there 9 nights. Breakfast delivered every morning. Cant wait to go back. Free WiFi in the Bungalow.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seahuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

if you are looking for cheap and cheerful this is the place to stay,from £10 per night for a big room with tv and fridge,some rooms have great sea views if you are lucky,spotlessly clean,front apartments can be a bit noisy due to traffic but if you get one out the back of building you can hear a pin drop! restaurant overlooking sea is excellent or if on a budget turn right at reception and visit Mol's kitchen 20m away for a real thai experience with excellent food,very cheap and Mol is a lovely person that can't do enough for you.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank clarketravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0 mi away
Chivapuri Beach Resort Koh Chang
0 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#4 of 73 in Ko Chang
329 reviews
0 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#6 of 135 in Ko Chang
275 reviews
0 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#27 of 73 in Ko Chang
93 reviews
0 mi away
The Mangrove Hideaway Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Sea Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Sea Hut

Address: 53 Bang Bao Village, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You don’t have to be in the Caribbean to experience a Maldives-like vacation. The bungalows at Koh Chang Sea Hut stand on wooden stilts directly above the water, giving you that feeling of a seaside lifestyle. Feel the soothing breeze with a rustic ambiance while enjoying the occasional sights of fishes under your feet. Keep yourself occupied with a wide range of activities such as kayaking, fishing and mountain biking. The resort is located at the southern tip of the island, giving it the advantage of being the jump-off point to snorkeling and diving trips at nearby islands. The sea under your feet, the charming mountain watching over, a cool gentle wind, and the most spectacular sunset view on the island – the right combination for a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Chang Sea Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Sea Hut Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing