We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai food ever!!!”

Ka-Ti Culinary Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 233 Restaurants in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Authentic Thai food by the family recipes .
The Hague
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai food ever!!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We ate here tge first night of our 1 week stay and ended up eating here every night. The 2 other places on Koh Chang we tried for lunch proved that the food on the island has been adjusted for the tourists and is not traditional and spicy. Kati on the other hand is perfect! Spicy, tasting perfect, making you crave for more! We tried all the curry's, mango salad, fish, squid, they even made special Massaman for our 6 year old daughter! And the service: with a smile you come far! So we became friends! We miss the food so much! Thank you, Kati!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BorianaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    118
    52
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level Contributor
250 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Creative Thai cooking”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Been twice to this restaurant, in Jan-Febr this year.

Both time we had a very delicious Thai food a la carte, cooked to perfection. Presentation is excellent too.

But, to extract maximum pleasure from your visit to this restaurant you have to prepare yourself beforehand.

First, you have to book a table in advance. In peak season - 2 days in advance should be enough.

Second, you have to be ready to wait. A beer or two smooth the wait and set you to a right mood. They are a bit understaffed for dinners, it looks. Also, 80-90% of the visitors are here to check the box "been to Ka-Ti". Such visitors order fix menu, therefore they can be served before you, even if you ordered before they came.

You are hear to try something better than mass produced conveyor cooking, aren't you? So, enjoy your beer, look through the menu - there are many Thai food treasures inside.

When ready, don't hesitate to signal with the smile, lifted hand to the staff. It takes them 1 to 3 minutes to react (they are busy with fix menu, remember).

After submitting your wishes to your waiter, pls listen carefully to him/her repeating your order. Amend, if necessary. Confirm. Done.

You may have, approximately, 15-25 minutes, depending on what you ordered, before the first positions of your order arrive. Enjoy!

Third, be ready to the anti-mosquito spirals emitting smell and smoke. The restaurant has got open premises, therefore the spirals needed to keep local vampire insects at bay.

Food a la carte is wonderful, its taste and aroma are exceptional. Thumbs up to Ka-Ti!

I would recommend this restaurant to any Thai food lover without hesitation!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
205 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Be patiënt, enjoy the food”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Lovely restaurant, but you have to be patiënt. They are not very well organized. But the food is good and the portions are big!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamEnjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good Thai meals, found it thanks to reviews”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We ate here twice, and headed straight for it on our first evening thanks to its outstanding rating on tripadvisor. This was particularly appreciated as we found the rest of Khlong Prao rather scruffy and tacky. Ka-Ti is unremarkable from the outside, seating is on a raised deck with open sides, but once in the food is very enjoyable.The first time we had the good value 3 course set menu, on the second we were accompanied by a Thai friend who commended the quality and variety. We enjoyed curries, stir fries and fish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Real Thai food, good price, staff can sometimes be hostile but with limited language its not unusual.
The food makes up for this though, authenticate beautiful flavours.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbaker214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ka-Ti Culinary Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Chang, Trat Province
Ko Chang, Trat Province
 

Been to Ka-Ti Culinary Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing