We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great!”
Review of Chang Cliff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chang Cliff Resort
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Thought I'd write this whilst on our last day from our ocean view room overlooking the sunny blue waters of the gulf of Thailand.
Negatives first: food, the resort owns a restaurant near the entrance , great location , gave it a try twice. Only three tables occupied but waited an hour! Disorganised in the extreme with the staff arguing.
Most of the staff in the resort are not Thai, they are from Myanmar and you will be woken most mornings to the sound of them chatting loudly at 7am, guests, what guests!
Plus sides: housekeeping great, room great (for price) grounds spotless. Breakfast great if you like omelettes. Location not bad, only short walk into town or one pound taxi, just wave them down at the entrance.
Eating go into Pink in town , Thai, fast friendly and great food with many Essan specials for those missing northern tastes.
Not wheelchair (or very unfit) friendly as steep slopes and many steps.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonSukunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Chang Cliff Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We really loved the Chang Cliff Resort, however it was clear from the begining that the staff doesn't speak good english. Sometimes it was annoying, sometimes it led to big laughters. We had to point with our fingers and hand gestures to have our rooms changed as we didn't like the first one. Also, once we tried the room service and it was a pain as well...very hard to explain what we wanted and then they did not bring any forks or knives and didn't understand what we want. We finally ended up eating with teaspoons found in the room. Probabaly the funniest moments of our journey!!!

Later we managed to find the common language somehow so we got along well. The last day we ordered breakfast to the room and it arrived spotlessly :) Otherwise it is served on the hotels huge balcony and is worth money. We always chose the american breakfast - bacon, eggs, toast and some veggies + coffe.

The hotel's restaurant has a large seafood selection too. It is totally fresh and we paid around 1200 bahts, 2 glasses of wine included.

We got an Ocean View room which was fantastic. The scenery from our balcony was just perfect for a romantic getaway. The weather was quite rainy so we appreciated the covered balcony where we could sit and sip some wine even when it was heavy tropical rain. The only bad thing was the mosquitos and bugs coming to the balcony (trying to get into the room of course) after dark...but I guess it is pretty much the same everywhere.

The room is large enough and clean as well. Basic amenities, coffe-tea making, towels, safe. The bathroom is clen and huge with a large furniture to put your clothes on. A bit simple shower though. Massive concrete for design :(

A bit disturbing that the actual White Sand Beach is around 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel which we found a bit far. We wanted to rent a moped but the rental place was not operating...probably it was too early in the season (November).

All in all, we liked the Chang Cliff Resort and would happy to go back.

Room Tip: Get into S8 and S9 if you want your balcony to be in front of the rooms. There are rooms where the b...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shabba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Its a bit of the center of white sand , takes a 20 min walk to the middel of it. We stayed here this ear, 6days total. The resort is wel maintained .Calm and the bungalows are in a beautifull garden.The sea is just below the resort. But no beach suprisedly its build on a cliff. You get value for your money here. We paid 1200thb pn for mountenvieuw room.
Its our 4th visit to koh Chang and we keep this hotel in mind for a next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michielstroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spent Three Nights at the Resort. The Views are Amazing, and for the value, you really could not find anything better. The Staff is very freindly and will bend over backwards to assit you. Good example, I was up early for Breakfast one morning, which is serve on a beautiful terrace, overlooking the ocean. I decided I wanted a Latte and was going to head down to the cafe about 2KM down hill. When I reached the edge of the property the young waiter drove up on his motorbike, sidecar and all, to take me instead of walking. On my return I tried to tip him and he would not accept it. "Love" the young woman at the service desk is very friendly and speaks english very well. She was a great help in booking all our tours. She also let us check out at 4pm, so we could book one final tour. I look forward to our return trip.

Room Tip: Ocean View a must.....
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mvalenzuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I spent 5 enjoyable nights here in the ocean view room. The concrete bathroom gave the room a bit of a prison feel but overall it was very comfortable with a soft bed and good aircon. The balcony side of the room was all glass which was nice during the day but the thin curtains could give light sensitive people some problems sleeping in. I had no problems sleeping through to 10am each morning though.
The balcony was great. We spent a couple of evenings chilling on the balcony with a few drinks taking in the view. Very quiet and relaxing for the tail end of our trip.
The hotel is on the end of the strip and it was a decent walk to get to the beach restaurants. The beach strip is quite long with many restaurants, bars and shops. There are baht buses to take you along the strip but it's also a nice (if hot) walk.
If I return to Koh Chang I'd definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Upgrade to the sea view room, the balcony views are worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and another couple having previously visited three other places in Thailand. We were looking for somewhere to relax and unwind. Booked the hotel four nights before we arrived. On arrival the double rooms we had booked were unavailable. The staff were apologetic and moved us the following morning. The hotel is located at the edge of White Sands Beach resort, far enough away not to be disturbed by the noise from the bars and restaurants but close enough to walk into the resort centre. The sea view rooms we booked were very quiet and it was great to sit on the balcony in the evenings and relax. If you want an uninterupted view of the ocean then you will need to book the ocean view rooms. The hotel is family run and is clean and well maintained and the small team of staff are very friendly and very approachable. A variety of breakfast fare was on offer. We also had a meal in the restaurant attached to the hotel and being guests we were offered a 10% discount, the food was good but the portion sizes were a bit too large. With the hotel being located on the cliff side it does mean that the paths leading to the rooms are quite steep so this hotel would not be good for anyone with limited mobility. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.
A word of warning if travelling to Koh Chang be warned using taxis and Baht buses can be expensive. Check prices before you use. We were very unhappy with how much we had been charged.

Room Tip: Opt for sea view rooms rather than mountain views if you prefer it to be quiet. The mountain view r...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshuahenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night in an ocean view room, room was ok but basic. The curtains need to be thicker as they cut out no sunlight, floor was just polished concrete and it’s the first room in Thailand I have been in that had a few cockroaches running about. The location is not the greatest as it was a reasonable 10 minute walk down a steep hill to the centre of White Sands with no access to the beach.

The best thing about the room was the view from the large windows and the balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
Keeree ele' Hotel
Keeree ele' Hotel
#51 of 73 in Ko Chang
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
4.0 mi away
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
#38 of 73 in Ko Chang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Top Resort
Top Resort
#24 of 73 in Ko Chang
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#31 of 73 in Ko Chang
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chang Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chang Cliff Resort

Address: 16/14 Moo 4, White Sand Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: $21 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chang Cliff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chang Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing