We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island View Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are looking for a bit of old fashioned charm at a brilliant price this is the place for you. Yes the rooms are a bit tired, but at this price what do you expect? Dieter is a lovely host who tries hard to make sure you have a pleasant stay and genuinly cares about making your days enjoyable. The rooms are kept spotlessly clean by his two Thai assistants. The air con is very welcome. Sitting on the decking watching the boats and the wildlife whilst sipping a beer from the honesty bar is pretty much as good as it get at a bargain price. The food was the best we had in Thailand, the sea bass with mango salad is to die for, we orderd it both nights. The local area is pretty much the real Thailand, tatty charming vendors along the alley. The swimming pool is a welcome addition and the kayaking is fun. The atmosphere in the evening is a bit like a house party as there is no one else around. Dieter arranged for a local small boat to take us around the south of the island to bang bao to avoid the long bus trip, a really fun way to get to the other side of the island. 1200 bht for a fun way to travel. Thanks for a lovely few days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicketynoonaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is really at the end of the island and there is no way to go on the other side where bars and restaurants are situated unless you want to have a 1 hour drive in taxi...
On the bright side, the rooms are nice and clean.
However, the owner of the place is just awful. He is very arrogant and don't like to speak with the guests.
If you are hungry, don't go to the restaurant unless you want to eat in the next hour...
The food is ok but very expensive compared to the restaurants near by.
So don't go there !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elfigolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After getting lost finding this resort we were amazed at the location when we arrived. Located on the quiet side of the island most of the neighbours are Thai fishermen and their families. Our air conditioned rooms where located out on a jetty above the sea and clean if a little dated, but excellant value for what we paid.
The food at the hotel was very good (both the Thai and Western Food) and yes sometimes it took a while to arrive but what the rush when you are sitting with friends with views out across the sea.
There are canoes that can be used free of charge to paddle across to one of the islands and the lovely swimming pool is great for relaxing.
This is a great place to get away from it all, on a very beautiful island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We discovered this resort some years ago, but it was full booked. But we never forget his location and the natural place where it was. That time we went just for a dinner, and we finded a very nice restaurant and a great atmosphere, funny but with many guest. So some months ago, november 2012, still in low season, we went back to Koh Chang and rent a motobike near the pier. Then we travelled for about 45 minutes motodrive in this less touristic area of this island. And I appreciate to repeat, "Less Touristic Area" of Koh Chang. The location of the hotel is simply wonderful. It was approximately 100mt from where we leaved and parked our motobyke, before walking "on the water" up to the hotel. We finded simple rooms, very clean and confortable. You can recognize the perfect way to arrange them from the owner, a German man.
At your arrive, the owner and manager of the hotel, show us all the trips we can make with him or alone if we prefer. He suggest us the things he really likes, but then leave us very free to decide our preferences, and most of them was then organized by ourself. The restaurant place where we take our meal was with great view but more important, with a delicious menu. Yes the price was differently from what we can find on the roads of Koh Chang, but the quality and the service was simply great, and not very expensive if compared with what you get on the table.
And what was special, a romantic atmospere just over the water and a beautiful moon. Because happened more than once we leaved the table during the meals for just one minute walk to the pier and breath the complete silence of this place.
We spent just 3 nights. We appreciate (not usual for us) the small swimming pool on the hill, with a fantastic view and excellent place to relax away from the hot sun. Other things we appreciate was the kayak free of charge that we used more than once to visit some near and nice beaches.
The fisherman village is not far away, there you can meet very nice Thailand people and....enjoy a special nice ice-cream selled by a Thai woman on a motocycle ! We suggest everybody to try it!! The location of the hotel is perfect also if you like to sail to the near island, because the hotel have a pier and the sailboats (probably managed by others).
Was our first time. Will be not the last!
by Italian couple from Madagascar

Room Tip: When the hotel is not full, you can choose the rooms with windows directy on the water side. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuisTripMada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a warm and heartly welcome by Dieter I found in this resort at a qiuet and calm bay with view to several small islands a spacious clean room with a modern bathroom. Dieter gave me a short briefing about the activities to do: free kayaking to the beautiful beaches on the islands, sailing, diving, snorkeling, renting a motorbike or hiking in the national parks or swimming in the new swimmingpool. Dieter was so helpful to bring me with his motorboat round the southern tip of the island to the dive boat! The food in the restaurant was very delicious, both thai and western cuisine. And all for very resonable prizes!
I never had a more relaxing and good vacation in Thailand before!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

LIKE: First, we chose this hotel for its services; snorkeling, kayaking, and undeveloped beaches. All of these services were free and always available. Second, we chose this hotel for its isolated location which is 40 minutes (by car) from the ferry pier and about an hour (by motorbike) from the White Sand Beach tourist area. The pool was quiet and relaxing. Our room (located on the hill) had a breathtaking view and was comfortable. The few encounters we had with the Thai staff were pleasant.

DISLIKE: Throughout our month in Southeast Asia, we enjoyed meeting the staff members of the hotels in which we stayed. Not only did we find it strange that we had few encounters with the staff and Island View but would have preferred it to the rude, disrespectful, and condescending ex-patriot manager.

At every turn, he argued with our wishes. From our request for cooking utensil=0s to the simple request of a cup of hot water, he felt it necessary to disagree with us. Over and over again, he insisted that we dine at the hotel restaurant, claiming that the food was excellent. After one mediocre and expensive meal, we knew we would not be eating there again. Instead we took up eating at the local restaurant located two minutes outside the entrance to the resort where we bought freshly made, reasonably priced, delicious Thai cuisine. For example, the sweet and sour chicken at the hotel was upwards of 150 baht when we could buy it at the local restaurants for 50 baht.

At one point, in an attempt to show us the extent of the hotel's facilities, he handed us a notebook which included among other things, a step-by-step map to an isolated beach. Thinking nothing of it, we took the notebook to our room, thinking it was ours to use for the duration of our stay since he had said nothing about needing us to return the notebook. A few days later, upon returning the book he yelled at us since we had "caused him trouble" since he had to verbally dictate the directions to other guests. Although we understand that such a task would be difficult in a second language, his reaction was unnecessary and unprofessional.

Also, the manager told us that he didn't get to know us since we didn't hang out at the dock which he thought was strange. We found this exceptionally irritating since we did not travel thousands of miles to spend time with foreigners at an island resort. Even if we did hang out at the dock, it is difficult to say that he would know who we were since he did not recognize us as guests on our second day even though he checked us into our room and spent nearly half and hour talking to us the night before.

Overall, our meetings with this man were unpleasant and made us feel unwelcome and insulted. We have never been treated so poorly by a hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to interact with locals, partake in a cultural experience, or those wanting to save money. BUT if you're interested in meeting other travelers you would enjoy this hotel.

We would like to reiterate that we LOVED the amenities and hotel itself but were extremely disappointed and offended by management. We do not intend for this review to vindictive but would like to inform other guests with the same travel expectations and interests.

Room Tip: The rooms on the hill have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PawelSalakPhet, Owner at Island View Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

If the guests are treated rude or disrespectful, we apologize. The person in charge at that time is not with us anymore. Sometimes we have to employ temporary staff (even expats)

A few misleading comments should be corrected:
1. The guest was offered an apartment with kitchenette for an extra small amount of 200 Baht which was refused. So this comment cannot be accepted.
2. Our guests are free to eat wherever they want, but of course our restaurant in the beautiful ambience over the sea with a gourmet kitchen and a large variety of fresh seafood, Thai and international cuisine does not intend to compete with the small food stalls along the road with sometimes unsanitary condition and a very limited menu
3. Upon arrival all our guests get a comprehensive briefing of our large range of activities, amenities as well as the location of the many attractions around us. If a guest takes presentation material such as notebooks away without informing us we are seriously hampered in our work.
4. The complaint “to hang around our dock” is not understood. All our guests are free to move, but we have to be careful with strangers in order to protect our guests as well as the sailing yachts on the pier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

First of all, location: very very far away from tourist beaches. But thats the beauty of this place. Go here if you want peace and quite.

If you want to search the island there are motorbikes that you can rent. We will most definetly go here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkoMm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
8.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#21 of 73 in Ko Chang
180 reviews
6.2 mi away
Na Tara Resort
Na Tara Resort
#30 of 73 in Ko Chang
42 reviews
7.0 mi away
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
V.J. Searenity Koh Chang
#40 of 73 in Ko Chang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rock Inn Bailan
Rock Inn Bailan
#33 of 73 in Ko Chang
30 reviews
4.4 mi away
Buddha View
Buddha View
#16 of 73 in Ko Chang
169 reviews
4.7 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#29 of 73 in Ko Chang
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort & Spa

Address: Salak Phet / Rong Than, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: $29 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please check our photos as there is one with a big building, which ist totally wrong and misleading as we have only one storage buildings. We do not know whot put this photo in. The photo we have attached shows part of our resort with some explanation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing