We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
46
44
6
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
46
44
6
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the east coast southern end bao pieter pier su motorbike island bang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 112 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a warm and heartly welcome by Dieter I found in this resort at a qiuet and calm bay with view to several small islands a spacious clean room with a modern bathroom. Dieter gave me a short briefing about the activities to do: free kayaking to the beautiful beaches on the islands, sailing, diving, snorkeling, renting a motorbike or hiking in the national parks or swimming in the new swimmingpool. Dieter was so helpful to bring me with his motorboat round the southern tip of the island to the dive boat! The food in the restaurant was very delicious, both thai and western cuisine. And all for very resonable prizes!
I never had a more relaxing and good vacation in Thailand before!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

LIKE: First, we chose this hotel for its services; snorkeling, kayaking, and undeveloped beaches. All of these services were free and always available. Second, we chose this hotel for its isolated location which is 40 minutes (by car) from the ferry pier and about an hour (by motorbike) from the White Sand Beach tourist area. The pool was quiet and relaxing. Our room (located on the hill) had a breathtaking view and was comfortable. The few encounters we had with the Thai staff were pleasant.

DISLIKE: Throughout our month in Southeast Asia, we enjoyed meeting the staff members of the hotels in which we stayed. Not only did we find it strange that we had few encounters with the staff and Island View but would have preferred it to the rude, disrespectful, and condescending ex-patriot manager.

At every turn, he argued with our wishes. From our request for cooking utensil=0s to the simple request of a cup of hot water, he felt it necessary to disagree with us. Over and over again, he insisted that we dine at the hotel restaurant, claiming that the food was excellent. After one mediocre and expensive meal, we knew we would not be eating there again. Instead we took up eating at the local restaurant located two minutes outside the entrance to the resort where we bought freshly made, reasonably priced, delicious Thai cuisine. For example, the sweet and sour chicken at the hotel was upwards of 150 baht when we could buy it at the local restaurants for 50 baht.

At one point, in an attempt to show us the extent of the hotel's facilities, he handed us a notebook which included among other things, a step-by-step map to an isolated beach. Thinking nothing of it, we took the notebook to our room, thinking it was ours to use for the duration of our stay since he had said nothing about needing us to return the notebook. A few days later, upon returning the book he yelled at us since we had "caused him trouble" since he had to verbally dictate the directions to other guests. Although we understand that such a task would be difficult in a second language, his reaction was unnecessary and unprofessional.

Also, the manager told us that he didn't get to know us since we didn't hang out at the dock which he thought was strange. We found this exceptionally irritating since we did not travel thousands of miles to spend time with foreigners at an island resort. Even if we did hang out at the dock, it is difficult to say that he would know who we were since he did not recognize us as guests on our second day even though he checked us into our room and spent nearly half and hour talking to us the night before.

Overall, our meetings with this man were unpleasant and made us feel unwelcome and insulted. We have never been treated so poorly by a hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to interact with locals, partake in a cultural experience, or those wanting to save money. BUT if you're interested in meeting other travelers you would enjoy this hotel.

We would like to reiterate that we LOVED the amenities and hotel itself but were extremely disappointed and offended by management. We do not intend for this review to vindictive but would like to inform other guests with the same travel expectations and interests.

Room tip: The rooms on the hill have a great view.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PawelSalakPhet, Owner at Island View Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

If the guests are treated rude or disrespectful, we apologize. The person in charge at that time is not with us anymore. Sometimes we have to employ temporary staff (even expats)

A few misleading comments should be corrected:
1. The guest was offered an apartment with kitchenette for an extra small amount of 200 Baht which was refused. So this comment cannot be accepted.
2. Our guests are free to eat wherever they want, but of course our restaurant in the beautiful ambience over the sea with a gourmet kitchen and a large variety of fresh seafood, Thai and international cuisine does not intend to compete with the small food stalls along the road with sometimes unsanitary condition and a very limited menu
3. Upon arrival all our guests get a comprehensive briefing of our large range of activities, amenities as well as the location of the many attractions around us. If a guest takes presentation material such as notebooks away without informing us we are seriously hampered in our work.
4. The complaint “to hang around our dock” is not understood. All our guests are free to move, but we have to be careful with strangers in order to protect our guests as well as the sailing yachts on the pier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

First of all, location: very very far away from tourist beaches. But thats the beauty of this place. Go here if you want peace and quite.

If you want to search the island there are motorbikes that you can rent. We will most definetly go here again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkoMm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Since years we are coming to this wonderful, natural full of adventures location - the Island View Resort. Dieter and his team try every thing that we feel the stay again and again unforgettable. The surrounding, nature, silence, environment, etc. makes the place a paradise. The standard and facilities of the hotel are excellent. The restaurant its personal and the menu (mixed International and Thai) are really top and there is no time limit getting a proper service. This time the weather was not according to the expectation (rainy season) , but never the less the time during our stay runs too fast even with out TV and Disco. The privacy has been never disturbed and we had a lot of enjoyable evenings together with Dieter and other hotel guests.
If you want to escape from the business world and rest and recharge your "battery" this is the right place to do so.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 445Peter445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Island view resort really is a place were you feel like being on a true piece of paradise!

The rooms are very clean. We stayed for 10 days in the familyroom up the hill, next to the pool. This was somethimes really a private swimmingpool!
The cooking is great, the "boatman" is really friendly, the place (swimmingpool, free kayak and "private beach") is ideal to get away from the busy life of every day!

Hans Claeys
Belgium

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews