We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a small paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island View Resort & Spa
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here in december 2011. the situation is really great, at the end of the road so away from the crowds but still easy to get to the hotel from Trat. We loved the island of Koh Chang and its deserted beaches on the south side. The little boats we could use to go to the beach were great and we loved the trip to the beach. Food was great, like in most places in Thailand.
A great memory for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewoud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 107 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We left Bangkok, where we live, for a short trip to Dieter's resort, we met for the first time with our kids (4 and 9 years old). To summarize, perfect room with a wonderful sea view in the jungle, the kindness of Dieter is excellent, and the food excellent as well as the wine... it's very important for a french family. We took our kids on the Hobbie 13 and we had a lot of fun sailing to the Islands. An other day we took the Kayaks and we crossed the small bay and went into the mangrove. We were alone, listening the animals... when the kids did't make too much noise. We also enjoyed the pool to relax a while. For sure we will come back as many other activities are possible in a wonderful nature away from the hectic concrete resorts. We will go back as soon as possible to discover the jungle and enjoy the sea. The good thing... our son has almost forgotten to use his bloody Nintendo DS. For sure we will drive to the Island View Resort as soon as we can... the kids are excited to have some fun there too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Philippe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I Checked into this hotel and that was about as good as it got. Dirty, unfriendly staff and in my opinion over priced. Avoid!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PawelSalakPhet, Owner at Island View Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Mr. Robie M. has never been in our resort. We wunder what is his motivation for his false posting.
Everybody can check the various posetive postings of other guests.
Unfriendly Staff: Is definately not true
Rooms dirty: Is realy insulting us and not true
Too expensive: Compared with other resorts with similar quality, offering and location we are about 50% cheaper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I started my Trip in Cambodia, Siam Reap - headed down to Sihanookhville and crossed the Border to Thailand.
I decided to make a Stop on Koh Chang and found this very extraordinary Resort away from the Huzzle of the very touristic and overcrowded Beaches on the East Coast
Living for some Days on the Water - quiet, relaxing and well treated from the friendly Stuff, tasty and healthy Thaifood ( and some Beers in the Evening, while chatting with other Guests ) - what a great Experience. This Resort was just the right Place for me after all
Hope I will find Time to come back to this Resort and spend more Time there and to explore the Area and all Kind of Activities offered

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The ease of check in,by chance ,no passport rigmarole,credit card,or surname needed.fantastic Thai dishes ,dieter is a howl,albeit knowledgable host who is very honest(open bar,just sign for the beers you have) he will profer all info in the areas amenities.he seems to have the only private boat (self drive)rentals on the island,Which all work fine and allow you to cruise to close islands safely.sue and her kitchen brigade are producing the most delectable food in Thailand at half the normal price to anywhere else in ko Chang,she's always discretly there if you need anything,.there is no nightlife on site,I'd reccomend arriving by rental jeep, which you can pick up on west coast.I've given the bedroom 3* as it would be misleading to say 5*,even though the magic of sleeping over water is 5*,also we felt the fisherman village close by is a very nice real world friendly experience,proven by the freshness of sue,s fish of the day dinners,basically easygoing half price quality,far away from ,the usual Thai beach resort mayhem.well done dieter and sue and family.the fine rooms are only 1000bths /night,no tv or coffee maker,but who needs that when the good coffee is 5metres away,not to mention the honesty bar.brilliant

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leenaneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Last Weekend, I visited this Resort and made many very positive Experiences:

you live 100 Meter in the Sea, surrounded by Water, Islands and a very beautifull Landscape!
The Owner will brief you about all possible Activities can be done - from Canooing to hiking the Mountains. Excellent Food, very nice and friendly People, as well very unique Customers .
Excellent Value for your Money

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brasilieiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed for a week in December and loved it. It is not a 5 star chain hotel where the staff have been on courses and all behave in exactly the same way, and when you have been home for 6 months, the stay mulches into all those other corporate type experiences you had in hotels around the world, and you could not pick one member of staff out from an ID parade. Island view is different and memorable. The owner Dieter is a bit forgetful and I did have to ask twice on a few occasions for a coffee but as I was sitting in the sun with the sea lapping and the metal masts gently pinging in the background, I really didn't care. He strikes me as a slightly shy man but once you make the effort to know him you will realise he is a man of great principle and possesses a wonderful dry humour. We had the room at the very end of the jetty and furthest out to sea. Late afternoons were spent sitting in our private area reading and fishing. The sea bass I caught was hook to plate within an hour and expertly cooked by the young cook, who incidentally makes the best Lad Nar I have ever tasted. The staff are so natural and it is obvious that Dieter treats them so well and they have great respect for him. I am sure you can find a slightly cheaper breakfast or Pad Thai but is that why we go on holiday? Corporate - No. Individual and memorable - Yes.

Room Tip: If you want to fish, choose the end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
8.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#20 of 73 in Ko Chang
184 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rock Inn Bailan
Rock Inn Bailan
#35 of 73 in Ko Chang
30 reviews
4.4 mi away
Buddha View
Buddha View
#18 of 73 in Ko Chang
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
Privacy Resort Koh Chang
#26 of 73 in Ko Chang
91 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#27 of 73 in Ko Chang
89 reviews
5.4 mi away
White House Bailan Resort
White House Bailan Resort
#70 of 73 in Ko Chang
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort & Spa

Address: Salak Phet / Rong Than, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: $30 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please check our photos as there is one with a big building, which ist totally wrong and misleading as we have only one storage buildings. We do not know whot put this photo in. The photo we have attached shows part of our resort with some explanation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing