We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Siam Hut Koh Chang

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siam Hut Koh Chang
Ranked #67 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Loved it here, stopped off on our way to Cambodia. You get exactly what you should expect - a basic hut on the beach with no hot water - but it's perfect. The beach is beautiful and the bar is really good, the food isn't great but get a moped and go and visit some of the amazing restaurants close by. Be careful of the cows, we got wasted one night and ended up being chased by them, the entrance to my hut was blocked by one looking really scary for about 20 mins at midnight - but all part of the memories.
Such a sociable place, we met loads of people here. Some of the staff were really helpful and friendly but I do agree that some of them are moody and rude, but it didn't exactly affect our stay and saying that, our power went out and the guy came to fix it straight away. They provide mosquito nets which are definitely needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    19
    23
    35
See reviews for
2
41
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I wish I read trip advisor before checking in to this place. It's right on the beach and seems okay at first. The rooms are extremely basic but I wouldn't mind normally since it's right on the beach. The toilet wouldn't flush and instead just poured tons of water and pee all over the bathroom floor. There were mice or rats in the bathroom (in addition to plenty of bugs). The room was very dirty, with gross mold and dirt on the walls. The room really needs some new paint and a good cleaning. I was willing to overlook all of that since it's a budget room and right on the beach.

Then things got worse when I tried to use the internet. I asked about internet before I checked in and was told they have it. While they might have internet, it cuts out constantly and I could only load a page on my laptop successfully about once every 15 minutes. I tried for an hour, asked the staff for help, and explained that I'm here for business and need consistent internet. I was supposed to have a Skype meeting at 5am so I wanted to make sure internet would work well enough for that. One person tried to help me but it didn't help. Then I asked a few more staff members if they could assist and was told there was nothing they could do. They were unapologetic and extremely rude. I have never had such bad and rude staff at a guesthouse in my life (and I've been to nearly 30 countries and spent over 1.5 years of time traveling). I'm not one to be fussy about service or write reviews online but this was completely unacceptable. The staff here needs to learn that guests are paying for service and its their JOB to help guests with things like internet and towels.

I ended up requesting a refund and moving to a different place. At least I got a free place to store my things on the beach for a day because it was overall a terrible experience.

(I went to Oasis instead, which had much nicer rooms and fantastic service for only slightly more cost. It's not right on the beach but it has views of the ocean.)

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claud33433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

It's a bamboo shack in the beach, we stayed in the fan bungalow No 7 the best non air conditioned one they have. It's on the beach, the best location you can get. The room is basic and has many entry holes so bugs galore but you do get a mossy net. The staff are friendly but very laid back so don't expect exceptional service. This is not a hotel it's a backpackers hang out and it ticks all of the necessary boxes in that respect. Hot shower, no wifi in the room and a 10 min walk from the town. The music will play until 4am so don't stay if u want a quiet night. If you want a cheap beach front bamboo shack look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you want to be in a 5* hotel, here you get the opposite. The place is like a slum from tourist. There is trash everywhere, people are noisy, and you are staying with the Cambodian staff from the hotel and the restaurant. Because they all work at different times, you are guaranteed to have noise almost all the time, so you won't feel lonely. There are bungalows with aircon and without aircon. The price is really low (down to $5 / night in low season!). some bungalows are on the beach and are more expensive, but they are also more quiet. You are not going to sleep well there but at the same time you will enjoy the 2 weekly noisy parties on the beach (low season has 1 party every Friday) that ends at whatever, 1,2,3am depends if there are still customers drinking. At the same time you get to enjoy sharing the same life style the poor staff who are working there for $150 to $300 a month. You won't be surprised that this place is owned and managed by the same (rich) family that does Siam Beach Hotel -check my review of this hotel to understand - there is a pattern here if you wish... On the positive side, it is a very lay down place. Police will not check what you are smoking, and there is a special pack packer feeling. The place has a soul. People are very nice in general and when they are not drinking after work, they are playing volleyball (check the pictures). So for me this place has an unique feeling, the feeling of the first resort built on Lonely Beach, but it wasn't really upgraded since. If you can avoid the aircon, they never clean them, so unless you clean by yourself, you might get some lung infection if you are not lucky. There are mosquitoes, flies, 2 big buffaloes that not one take care and seems to enjoy the place like if they were the owner here, monkeys on the road, cats and dogs. I could rate this pace 5* for the ones who really want to get a slum experience, and 1* for the ones who are expecting a clean and organized place. Apparently many farangs like the low price and the relax style. Now the owners are building a pool close to the restaurant, it is noisy, but it is a little bit strange, a pool in a slum? Weird idea, but maybe the price will raise, there must be a reason! Special note about the restaurant on the beach, that is part of the resort. It is a very good choice, the location is great as is the food and the price, I highly recommend it, specially when a thunderstorm is coming from the sea at the sunset, unforgettable! If you feel to clean up your brain from the cities and the Western life, this place might be for you. You will not forget it.

Room Tip: Stay close to the beach where it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAHRAIN
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Arrived on Friday to Lonely Beach and went out with a couple of people from our hotel to the famous friday night party. Arrived there at around 11pm, place was yet to pick up. Drinks and buckets were priced ok, plenty of seating on the deck so you can watch the fire performers.

Tips:
Place is dark the moment you step out of the premises, try to park as close as possible.
There are a lot of nails, jagged edges and blind steps on the floor boards in the restaurant, so please be carefull when walking around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indieglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pros: Excellent location. Right on the sandy stretch of the lonely beach area. I stayed in a beach side hut for 6 nights. Sitting on my hut's patio- reading, listening to music and enjoying the unreal scenery were the highlights of my stay. Restaurant does BBQ which is quite cheap and okay.

Cons: Management of this place is totally at disarray. At times I felt like the management just do not care at all as they know people like me would stay anyways because of the location. But then again sometimes it felt like they are just disorderly and need some discipline in their operation. The toilets are quite basis which is not the problem. The real problem is they are disgustingly dirty . I asked my towel to be changed after 4 nights of stay and a rude staff told me that WE DO NOT CHANGE TOWELS. However, they were quite keen on receiving payments on time- their overall chilling attitude did not seem to work when it came to get paid!

I only stayed here because I got one of the beach front huts- so if you don't get one of those- check out other options- there are plenty in the lonely beach area.

Room Tip: ONLY THE BEACH FRONT HUTS!! Every Friday night they have a SIAM HUT PARTY- which is awfully loud- so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moverbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

These bungalows are stumbling distance to Lonely Beach.
They are very basic but when you're on a tropical island you don't really need much else. The food I had in the restaurant was pretty tasty.
No complaints for the price you pay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dembirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang
0.1 mi away
Bhumiyama Beach Resort
Bhumiyama Beach Resort
#25 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#12 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siam Beach Resort
Siam Beach Resort
#86 of 111 in Ko Chang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sunflower Resort
The Sunflower Resort
#54 of 111 in Ko Chang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Hut Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Hut Koh Chang

Property: Siam Hut Koh Chang
Address: 100/1 Moo 4 | Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing