We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay on Lonely beach”
Review of Siam Hut Koh Chang

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Chang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siam Hut Koh Chang
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Lonely beach in November 2012 and we stayed at Siam Hut for 5 nights. We loved it. Bungalow was very basic a big double bed, a fan, and a bathroom with cold shower (we can get air con + hot shower + front row for a little bit extra) but clean. We brought a hammock which we hung on the terrasse of the bungalow and that was lovely to be able to read a book while having a sea view. The beach is lovely.
The restaurant was nice, we had lovely food there (try the spicy squid salad) and very nice location. The staff was lovely, especially the older lady that brought the food to the table always wanted to make sure that everything was fine. They also have cinema nights and parties. The only complain I have to make about this place is the lady at the bar where you order you food/coffee in the morning. She was totally unfriendly and quite rude at times to the people staying here.
Well, if I go back to Koh Chang I will defenitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a front row bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 119 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

The huts are wooden bungalows and very basic. Also water buffalo's could spend a night under your hut. The nearby beach is really good and Siam Hut restaurant is popular due is the first restaurant coming from the lonely beach. The staff was bit rude and typical "farang" attitude was clearly there. No hurry to serve customers not to mention even the fake thai smile. TIT. Food is average thai food. I think this place and it's employees has bit bored of hipsters which want to cheapest place to be and whine about everything (disclaimer: I did not whine).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SirRahikkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Today we are just leaving this resort. We stayed 2 nights in A19 bgw. In first bgw they offered us didnt work light and this A19 shower was broken. But when we asked they fixed it.
Room was for 450 bath with AC fan and net around bed. Wasnt dirty but not clean eighter :). Staff do basic things and do not expect smiles except one man who play cards with u if you want. Thay play movies at bar two in row. There are also rooms for 350 B type and 250bath C D E.
We had A type which sould by beach bet ther were so many stones u must go over so B type was without AC but closer to beach, but may be noice from movies...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samcek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Whatever its faults we loved this place. Ok, the floor boards are falling through in places, and I have, to be fair, seen cleaner places. But the location is sublime, and just having a drink and ice cream there at sunset is a lovely experience from the low seating. The food is fine and pretty cheap, so happy days there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikitikitavi-kampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed in the best bungalow on the resort, I would give the rest a wide berth, rubbish strew dirty place.
This is the only place I have ever been told by a member of staff to [--] Off!!! All I asked for was a clean cup.
There are much,much nicer places to stay.
Also these bungalows have many lively parties nice to go to but not sleep next too!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 10_17_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

When we arrived at Siam Hut it seemed that we had reached paradise. The location the accomodation is just perfect. It took us about a day to stop fooling ourselves and see that the place was littered, not cared for and that the staff treats you like they don't want you there.
The bungalows are basic, have their own bathroom with a cold shower and a sink that leaks all over the bathroom floor (but that's how it's supposed to be). In the room there is was double bed made out of two mattresses with a clean sheet. The mattresses however, are stained with various shades of brown and yellow. Actually, any fabric in the bungalow was stained brown and yellow. The mosquitonet over the bed was reasonably intact (this is needed, so check if you do decide to stay here!) and the fan squeaked for half the night.
The food can be nice, but is not of consistent quality and some items are overpriced. There is a barbeque every night which is nicely priced, we didn't try the food though. The TV in the restaurant is on constantly with the staff slumped in front of it, which takes away from the nice atmosphere that potentially could be there. Some chill out music is played sporadically, probably when nothing interesting is on the TV. Two movies are played every night starting from 19:00, so if you feel like connecting to your fellow traveller, better go somewhere else. A couple of nights a week a dance party is organised by the Siam Hut, here you will see the workers at their most active, however still with daggers in their eyes. We left after one night when we repeatedly asked for water to be turned on in the bungalow. The water was turned on after a couple of hours (where 10, 3 and later 20 minutes was promised), needles to say the staff was insulting and rude and did not appreciate us disturbing them with our trivialities whilst they were trying to get high and do nothing.
Only stay here if you have thick skin. If you want to feel welcome, do not go here, there are plenty of places that do want you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Well it was cheap and would have been a great place if only they had cleaned and tidied up the ground around the huts! Right on the beach good restaurant attached although staff a bit indifferent if they had only spent a little time and effort it would be a five star place as the beach is great. It struck me as a place that had been great in its prime and had now been left to rot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marian_kuyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 73 in Ko Chang
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rock Inn Bailan
Rock Inn Bailan
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bhumiyama Beach Resort
Bhumiyama Beach Resort
#29 of 73 in Ko Chang
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lonely Beach Resort
Lonely Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Ko Chang Tai
91 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
Tropical Beach Koh Chang
#31 of 73 in Ko Chang
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
White House Bailan Resort
White House Bailan Resort
#68 of 73 in Ko Chang
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Hut Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Hut Koh Chang

Address: 100/1 Moo 4 | Lonely Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing