We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par”
Review of Chai Chet Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chai Chet Resort
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

At first glance, your thoughts are "Wow!" The hotel is set beautifully on the curve of the beach. We had rooms overlooking the water. They were beautiful and for the most part comfortable. My wife and I had a bungalow with twin beds. After a restless first night's sleep, we discovered that our beds consisted of 1 top mattress (hers) and 1 box spring (mine). They had taken a twin set and made 2 twin beds. After much hassle, we managed to get mattress cushions put under the sheets so that I couldn't feel the springs. The rooms had a sewage smell in the mornings. The window in the bathroom needed to be kept open all the time.

The hotel looks beautiful. The grounds, however, have been neglected, gardens having promise but needing much TLC. The staff is neither helpful or friendly. The food in the restaurant is the worst Thai food we have ever eaten. The breakfast was awful, serving instant coffee, white bread, and poor Thai food. If you are looking for breakfast breads, find the bakery on the main road. There are very good, and reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

The hotel was overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTedUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    82
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
52
82
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The villas overlooking the water are beautiful. Simply decorated, beautiful bathroom (loved the shower) and with the simple touch of folded towels in the shape of elephants and more. The property is well maintained with a beautiful swimming pool, a downfall being that people put towels on sunbeds early in the morning and show up much later. Management doesn't do anything to stop this while other resorts remove towels after a certain period of inactivity. Food at the resort leaves a lot to be desired. Breakfast leaves the most to be desired. It consists of all Thai dishes with one western dish per day. The thai food is some of the worst I've had and the western fare is not any better (when there was any left that is). Considering the restaurant is set amongst beautiful scenery it fails at delivering good food. The staff at check in were not helpful and downright rude. Luckily there are lovely restaurants to choose from near by. If I could take the beautiful villas and put them on a different resort...I would go back then. This place has potential with a little bit of love put into it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlbug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at Chai Chet Resort from the 21st December to the 26th December 2010. We had two hill side Villas next to each other. The rooms were great, well looked after. The rooms that overlook the water at the very end of the resort look great as well. The pool area was fantastic with ample poolside chairs. The breakfast that was included was ok. We certainly had enough to choose from. The walk over to the beach was all of 100mtrs or so. There was a big choice of places to eat both along the beach and along the roadside at the entry to the resort. There was also a few shops selling clothes and touristy things. White Sand Beach was about 15 minutes by taxi and Bang Bao Fishing Village about 30minutes. We didn't use there internet service but went next door to Cocodee's it was really cheap. This is a great resort on a great island and I don't know why more Australians don't travel there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kehani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We booked this resort as it was the cheapest and we defenitly got are value for money , we had the most amazing time it is beautiful here the staff are brilliant we got on with them so well so happy all the time would do anything for you ,The reseraunt was stunning especially in the evening when it is all lit up they do lovely BBQ's every night the food is gorgeous they have fresh seafood every night also the currys are to die for .
The pool is gorgeous and the pool bar great they do all cocktails and fruite shakes anything you want they also have thai massage ....sooo relaxing and so cheap £4 for an hour i definitly recommend having one its in a great location the beach is beautiful right on your doorstep there are some nice bars and resteraunts along beach in the evening walking distance , The rooms are lovely to very clean cleaned every day if you wish . Make sure you go on the boat trips and i did a thai cooking course which was fantastic . I had the best holiday i.ve ever had . I DEFINITLY RECOMMEND IT HERE !!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodybracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and got the impression that overall, it's a 2 star resort that has just built a new pool (lovely pool) and some new villas. We stayed in the new villas which are first line seaview with outstanding view. The villas are very nice but do not look like they have been designed to proper resort standards. I would never recommend this resort for anyone with children as there are plenty of places to just fall off and get injured (doors opening onto 5 foot drop to concrete!) Reception were as helpful as possible but found restauraunt and room maids lacking. Overall great value for money if you can overlook these points.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyjayadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Vow! It was the first impression when we saw the resort.
I found out about Chichet Resort in a guidebook but i didn't expect it would look so nice.
At first I thought it would be very expensive but it was great value for money.
Reception area, swimming pool, restaurant...it all look really great, even luxurious (although we are not such kind of couple searching for luxurious things).
The room...actually a bungalow cost 1, 200 BHT which is really a good price for what you get.
Breakfast is included in price.
The room was very cosy and nice, clean and we really enjoyed our stay there. We even had amazing view to the sea.
The whole area and the beach is amazing.
Staff is very helpful, everything we asked for,they responded promptly and were at our disposal at all times. We had some problems with the safe in the room and they dealt with the problem in a few minutes.
We definitely recommend this place and the beach there. We have such a nice memory from there. There is nothing to complain about, really!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabyCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.1 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#32 of 73 in Ko Chang
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flora I Talay Resort
Flora I Talay Resort
#4 of 7 in Ko Chang Tai
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 115 in Ko Chang
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chai Chet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chai Chet Resort

Property: Chai Chet Resort
Address: 6/2 Moo 4, Cape Chai Chet | Klong Pram Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chai Chet Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Chai Chet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chai Chet Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing