We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$256
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang(Ko Chang)
$109
$72
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
$68
$55
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
$95
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AWA Resort(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
$80
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$73
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
462
39
7
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
39
7
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjulian cherylhealthy startquiet sideeast coasthonesty barcar hirehome away from homeelephant trekkingwestern dishesthai massageamazing hoststhai foodrooms are spaciouslush gardensswimming poolget away from it allrelaxing holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 516 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Recently my husband and I had our second stay at the wonderful Amber Sands Resort. Our first stay was only last Christmas with our adult children and their partners. Caught in peak hour traffic one morning we decided to treat ourselves to another stress free holiday and return to Amber Sands, minus the rest of the family. Again, I have no hesitation in recommending this Ko Chang gem, if a quiet and relaxing holiday is what you are after. Amber Sands is located on the quiet East side of the island and hiring a scooter or car is recommended if you wish to see more of the island, but it is very easy to slip into the relaxing daily routine of Amber Sands and not want to venture very far at all. You can eat at the restaurant, which has a great selection of both Thai and western meals, relax by the pool, relax on the beach or have a Thai massage, all metres from your accommodation. Julian and Cheryl are the perfect hosts and are well support by their staff. It was like returning to visit long established friends. It is their friendliness and attention to detail that makes Amber Sands so special. We have already started discussing when we can return to Amber Sands for a third visit and hopefully with the rest of family again.

Room Tip: Tips: Try to book the beach house, but if it is booked don't let it dissuade from booking, all accommodation is very similar. Hiring a scooter is more fun than hiring a car, but know your ability, the hills are steep and the bends are tight. Try a Thai massage Try the bruschetta.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian C, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

It was lovely to see you both again Mandy M, and thanks for your kind review.

This week we had all 8 bungalows full, two being occupied by returning guests, and one other occupied by guests here on the recommendation of their friend. From a resort owner's perspective, that is so rewarding and pleasing because one knows that things are clicking together and working. We get many repeat guests and have one couple coming for their third visit in January, with 6 of their friends!

What I enjoy is when you guys come in of an evening, and there isn't even a need for you to order, just a nod from your hubby does the trick to ensure there are a few cold ones on the table!

Thanks for all your help testing the bruschetta! Hope to see you all again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Julian, Cheryl and staff operate like a great team and you will feel immediately at home at Amber Sands. Location is perfect and the garden and beach are really lovely. Imagine the gardener climbing the palm tree to cut coconut in order to prevent them from falling on the guests heads but meanwhile you get a perfectly fresh coconut as he cuts it open on the spot. Our son loved playing in the garden and Cheryl made sure he had a great birthday dinner. Debbie (chef) can prepare the best fish on the island and Thip will give you a massage you will not forget soon (finally someone who really gets into the muscles, it sometimes hurts but that's the whole point of Thai massage, you will feel better afterwards not only during the treatment! If you go to Koh Chang you should book Amber Sands for the real and relaxed island experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, the family house has a bit more space
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schatjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words Schatjes. It was interesting to read the different points that you brought up.

Our gardener worries us when he climbs the coconut trees to prune them, but you're right, you can't get a fresher young coconut than after he's cut one down!

Debbie says thank you for your kind words about her fish, she was very excited to read your review!

And as for Thip and her famous massages......! You're so right, they are proper Thai massages, and are so good for you when you have 2 or 3 during your stay. Usually what happens is when other guests see her doing a massage under the sala next to the water's edge, a queue starts forming! She is very good.

We are most fortunate to have a great team, who we're glad helped you to chill and relax on your island holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Amber sands is simply perfect and there's nothing not to love about it. Julian and Cheryl are amazing hosts, ensuring every guest is made welcome and when you leave you feel like friends. They are warm and friendly and take care of every little need you have. The setting is idyllic among perfectly groomed gardens and each holiday cottage decorated with attention and beautiful Thai artifax and all have air conditioning and fans. Each small terrace is equipped with a table and two chairs overlooking the lovely pool area,gardens and beach.Little swings,salas,loungers and deck hairs enable guests to enjoy relaxing days at Amber Sands. We could have been tempted to just stay there all week, given the beauty,ambience and hospitality there,but Cheryl and Julian were so helpful in organising our trips out to make the most of our time on Koh Chang. We would all definitely recommend the catamaran trip with multi lingual Michael ,which was arranged by Julian.A wonderful last day. Having eaten on our first evening at Amber sands after a long journey,we knew it would be hard to find other places to match the food of Amber Sands. Everything was delicious and so reasonable.The fish and prawns can be pre ordered by Cheryl to ensure they are fresh and a must! A great menu of Thai and European dishes for all meals. After eating out at one of the five star resorts on the island we told Cheryl that it wasn't a patch on Amber Sands and about five times the price. We loved the honesty bar which we used during the afternoons or late at night when the staff have their time off.
We know amber sands has won a trip advisor award for the last two years and this is richly deserved and is definitely one of the nicest&friendliest resorts I have stayed at during my numerous visits to Thailand. Thank you so much to Julian and Cheryl for your hospitality and a fabulous week at Amber sands.

Room Tip: The beach house property is amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Michelle, you've gone to so much trouble to share such detailed information, thank you! What a great description of our resort in your own words through the eyes of a guest. That will be so helpful to others considering Amber Sands.

We're pleased that you enjoyed the catamaran trip because we only like to work with partners who are going to value our guests as much as we do and offer a good experience. It's no good recommending unsatisfactory tours that just leave guests unhappy. I passed on your thanks to Michael of Sea Adventures by the way!

Our honesty bar does work well, doesn't it? Many guests say that it's not only about the convenience; they appreciate the trust shown to them, which is in keeping with the atmosphere that we encourage at Amber Sands.

It was great fun meeting you all. You created such a good vibe in the restaurant during your stay, interacting with the other guests and enjoying yourselves, it was infectious, and our pleasure to have you all stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Wow what a great little resort Amber Sands Is. I was travelling with friends and we were lucky enough to book this fabulous hotel in Koh Chang. After a long road trip we arrived to a very warm welcome from Julian. We stayed in one of the superior bungalows and the upper floor beach house. The bungalows are neat, cosy and have what you need for a chill out holiday. The beach house a little more equipped, with the most stunning view. Cheryl & Julian helped us with organising whatever adventure we wanted to organise and also ensured with their team that we were always very well feed and watered/wined.
The food in our opinion was the best on the Island and we went to some of the more fancy resorts but they just did not compare. We tried pretty much everything on the menu and we think that they have got a great selection of Thai and European food. So with something to suit everyone in our group, we believe that Amber Sands is truly great resort to rest, unwind and chill out.
We hope to return soon. Did I forget to mention that it is super reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aj2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed your week with us Aj2509, and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.

Our Beach House rooms are rather nice, especially with those gorgeous views over the bay; it's just a pity that we can't fit in any more on this property!

Thank you also for your comment about the food. We're very happy with the work that our team does in the kitchen, and we will let them know.

We're glad that you found our prices reasonable. It's important to us to deliver value for money rather than be the lowest priced, or the highest for that matter. We don't want our guests to feel ripped off.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

From the excellent web page to the ease of booking to the delivery of everything it promises, this place deserves all the trip advisor awards you could give it. The hosts are delightful and so very accommodating.
We stayed in bungalow 4 in November after spending 10 says in Thailand touring the north west region. The transfer from trat was fine and remarkably easy. The airport charming and hassle free. The cheap airlines in the UK could certainly learn a thing or two from bangkok airways!
We were greeted by Julian at the hotel and shown to our room. There was air con as well as a fan and an adequate bathroom.
The grounds were so lovely and tended daily, the result being a really well maintained garden area surrounding a lovely pool. There were plenty of hammocks and sun beds and it all created a most relaxing environment.
We only stayed for 4 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. The highlight of our trip and the place we'd love to come back to.
Don't hesitate over booking this place, it's a little gem.

Room Tip: All rooms look lovely (could do with fridges though)
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words Julia.

We are very careful about managing our guests' expectations. It is no good offering the world on a web site or in glossy marketing materials, and then failing to deliver. That doesn't make anybody happy. We would rather you receive more than you expected, which is always a challenge for us and keeps us on our toes all the time.

We will consider your comment about adding fridges to the rooms. Initially we didn't want to put tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, but due to demand, and our own preferences, we have now added that facility. Maybe we can do fridges too.

As I write this the gardener is mowing the lawns and it's a stunning day with a calm sea, so the gardens are really looking good. Sorry you can't be with us! But we hope to see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews