We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$43
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$46
View deal
Expedia.com$43
CheapTickets$43
Travelocity$43
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveler rating
605
44
8
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
605
44
8
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the east coast quiet side paddle boards total relaxation thai massage scooter hire thai food exploring the island ferry pier family bungalow small pool laid back beautiful garden white sand private beach simon ning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 665 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The east coast of Koh Chang is far less developed than the west coast and Amber Sands is perfectly located to explore both sides of the island as it's close to the north end (the ring road doesn't join-up at the south end).

Amber Sands is a real gem, friendly staff and owners, clean rooms and a great little pool. The beach is good for young kids as it is shallow with no strong currents. The food is excellent and fresh and the restaurant is very charming.

If you are travelling with a family it's perfect, even if you are going solo or as a couple it's a great quiet retreat. If you are looking for a lively party atmosphere you should consider looking at somewhere on the east coast.

Julian organised a snorkelling trip for us on Koh Wei, which was a fun trip and well worth a look.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToyMotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you ToyMotor for your comprehensive review that I'm sure will be helpful for those researching their next holiday destination. You certainly cover many of the areas that travellers will be looking into.

We're pleased to read your comment about Amber Sands being well located between the east and west coasts of Koh Chang. We have always believed the same thing ourselves.

It only takes 20 minutes to travel the 8 kms to White Sands by car or scooter, and in 25 minutes you're at Salakhpet in the south of the island. The best of both worlds, and yet you come "home", as most of our guests say, to peace and quiet.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had read about Amber Sands at tripadvisor. That is why we wanted to stay there. It was really nice. Lovely food and nothing was impossible for them to make. The garden was lovely. We stayed there for 10 days. We had never been to Koh Chang before, but we sure be coming back both to Koh Chang and to Amber Sands

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you Teresa2210, we are so pleased to hear that you are looking to come back some day.

Often when guests leave us they say that they will be back, but we realise that the world is a big place with SO much to see and visit. However, despite that, we do in fact have a high rate of returning guests, or guests who have told friends about Amber Sands. That is so rewarding, and of course nice to familiar faces again.

This past week we have guests who are now staying for their fourth year, another couple who returned with her sister and brother-in-law, parents of a previous guest, and another local resident and family returning for the second time. So 5 out of our 8 bungalows were "returnees".

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

if you want to get away from the "mini-Pattaya" jumble of bad discos on Ko Changs West coast, come to the east coast and chill out at amber sands. Here's what makes it great
- the people - very friendly, relaxed. They even have an honesty bar. Who does that anymore?
- the food - excellent Thai cooking with the occasional toasted cheese and ham sandwich when more coconut chilli deliciousness is more than you can handle
- the place - lovely sunrises and shady sunsets

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowbagsdahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thanks Rowbagsdahab for your concise comments.

We think we should use them in our advertising because they sum up perfectly what we're trying to achieve here! :) We want to be a little different and capture that part of the market who are tired of the bog standard corporate hotels by providing that personal service and hospitality. In our view this is what travellers are looking for nowadays.

We hope that our terroir continues to attract like minded guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our stay at Amber Sands was a great start to our visit to Thailand. Julian and Cheryl are amazing hosts and will help you arrange activities, car rentals, transfers, massages, etc. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained, the pool area is relaxing,and the food is delicious (we ended up eating almost every meal here and didn't regret it). We stayed in the top floor of the beach house, which I would highly recommend because of its private balcony with amazing views. But really, any of the bungalows would be fine as well. This is a quiet part of the island, which is exactly what we wanted. If you’re looking for dance clubs and 7-11s this may not be the right place for you, although White Sands Beach is just a short taxi ride away. Amber Sands was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randych
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you randych for your kind words. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience of our little spot with readers on TripAdvisor.

Not to mention those stunning photos! It's always tricky to capture the moment in that evening light, but yours look great.

We're also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant food. we're receiving more and more comments about our restaurant, which we'll pass on to our staff, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Amber Sands last August and still think back of the great time we had there. Everything that you see on the website is true. What we liked most was the friendly atmosphere, nice staff and the peaceful location.

We stayed in a room with an attached room for our children (age 6 and 8). We did a snorkling tour and a coking course. Especially the cooking course was really fun! Even our children liked it! Just ask the owners / staff. They are always willing to provide you with good advise.

We already recommended this accomodation to some friends of ours who will travel to Thailand next summer.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoniqueN884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments Monique N. I'm sure that others travelling with children will find them useful.

We built that Family Bungalow for our daughter, son-in-law and of course our granddaughter, Amber. It works well for young children and has proved to be very popular.

And you're so right about the Thai Cooking School. Nam, who runs the course, is a lovely person and our guests always thoroughly enjoy the experience.

We look forward to welcoming your friends next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews