We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday start!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lulea, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday start!”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Me and my wife together with our daughter and her family, total of 6 people stayed in Amber Sands for 9 nights in January. Amber is not for all as other reviews and Julian pointed out at our first contact true e-mail before we booked but if you read the reviews and find this is what you looking for I am 100% sure you not going to be disappointed. We have visit Asia and especially Thailand many times before and experienced a variety of accommodations and this was easiest the best place we stayed at when comparing all the elements that you get when staying at Amber.

Of course are Julian and Cheryl genuine caring and commitment to their guest wellbeing is very important part of this. The other staff with Debbie, the amazing chef, is also important making guests feeling welcomed from the start. During our visit they were little bit short of staff but still managed to keep everything top notch and Julian and Cheryl always find time to chat with guests and make you felt a special guest. Cheryl for instant went out finding a birth day cake for our daughter which was a nice surprise for her.

The resort has only 8 rooms of which one is a family bungalow, nr 8, with two rooms. One is Beach house with one room upstairs, nr 2, and one downstairs, nr 1. Both of these options are great for families. All rooms are overlooking the beautiful garden with swimming pool in the middle and the beach just behind it. We stayed at the upper level of Beach House with great sea view and spacious bedroom & bathroom. Our daughter with her husband and their two children stayed at the lower level with only 10 meters to the beach. The rooms are large and comfortable, very clean and well managed. At the upper level you have a nice balcony to sit and watch the amazing sun set or just reading. At the lower level it’s a nice terrace to sit and listen to the waves 24/7. There is no TV in their room but you got Wi-Fi in all rooms that works great if you need to keep update what´s happening or keep in touch with your family and friends.

The restaurant is relaxed with wooden furnishings, creating a nice ambience. It's beautifully positioned and overlooks the sea and is a great place to watch the sunset At Amber we had our best meals for a very long time when staying in Thailand. The dishes taste authentic fresh Thai with superb presentations. Debbie and her staff did a great job in serving delicious meals with a varied menu that you not getting tired of. Except for Thai food they also had some western dishes and children menu. We had some meals outside when having tours and one at the resort next doors but none of them could compare with what was served at Amber. Their breakfast, not included in the price for the room, is also a nice start of the day with a la carte menu where it’s easy find the best breakfast for your own taste including Thai rice soup to English breakfast. The restaurant is closed between 2.30pm and 6pm but then you help yourself to drinks and just asked to record what you have had.

The garden, which has beautiful plants and trees, which add to the resort's atmosphere and sense of being close with the nature. The gardener did a great job with the garden and keeping the beach clean. There is a small but lovely pool as well with some sun beds. Our grand-children loved to play in the pool. At the beach you have two Salas that was a favorite with many guest and also some wooden sun beds on the beach.

The sand on the beach is indeed amber colored. The beaches on White Sands are nice to stroll on and fit in more with image one thinks of with the perfect white beaches. However the beach at Amber is a 100% private and perfect when you want enjoy the peace coming back from tours. There are a couple of private homes and small guest houses along the beach near Amber Sands, but they weren't in any way intrusive to the peace and tranquilly at Amber.

The location on the beautiful east coast of Koh Chang is ideal to relax, away from the busy west coast including White Sand Bach but if you want to go their it’s easy to just take a taxi which takes around 15 minutes and cost 300THB. Otherwise you have some small shops at the pier, hidden from sight, a short 10 minutes stroll away from Amber.

We wanted spend time with our family, eating great Thai food and relax in a peaceful and beautiful place and that is exactly what we were able to do. We could easily stay more nights without getting bored with the peace and quiet. We lost track of times and if you when checking out have to ask Julian if they missed to charge some meals & tours then you know you got great value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lars10_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Gosh, how does one respond to such a comprehensive review? Your comments should give prospective guests a very thorough idea of what they can expect at Amber Sands, and is what Tripadvisor is all about.

Your family fits what marketers are now calling “3G travel”, being three generations travelling together; grandparents, children and grandchildren. Being grandparents ourselves, we were very envious of the lovely relationship you had with your grandchildren. And Amber Sands does suit extended family stays in a safe, relaxed and comfortable “home away from home” environment.

Seeing you all enjoying yourselves at Amber Sands brought us much pleasure, so we’re happy to go that extra mile in return, like finding your daughter a birthday cake, or helping other guests in other ways.

Thank you so much for the time and trouble you went to; we really appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    36
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
190
19
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

This is a promise often heard / read (the "home away from home") but after travelling a lot and experienced a variety of accommodations, from very basic guesthouses to 5star-hotels, this is definitely the one that deserves it the most. Everything was perfect, from the moment I contacted Julian to make enquiries and finally book our stay. The resort is small, with a family atmosphere, the staff is really nice, helpful and discrete, and we really appreciated the constant attention to details that make the guests feel comfortable and carefully looked after. Julian and Cheryl do make you feel like a guest and not a mere costumer. We needed to relax in a peaceful charming place and that is exactly what we were able to do, even losing count of the date ! Thank you again for that wonderful experience, and we hope to be back soon !

Room Tip: The beach house is perfect for families. Our superior bungalow was very spacious, with plenty of sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-S Beijing Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you Marie-S for your kind comments. It is wonderful to be given a compliment that compares us better than many other places including 5 star hotels, thank you.

We do try hard to make our guests feel at home. On our web site we talk about being the sort of place where you can just put your feet up and relax. That has always been our goal, and what a good holiday should be about. When your most important decisions of the day should be your menu choices, and whether to sit on the sala, in the shade under the tree, or around the swimming pool!

We do hope to see you back with us again when you can make it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

If you are looking, after the best beach on earth, a big pool, a lot of people, loud music, 24 hours open bar/reception,shopping just outside your door, then you are at the wrong place...but, yes, the beach is not the best on earth, but still nice, a lot of space and has the most amazing sunset!!!, yes, the pool is not big, but our 4 kids (age 6-12) spent hours and hours there and had a great time, yes, there is only 8 bungalows, witch does that everybody is saying hallo to each other and there is a cosy ambiance, yes the restaurant/reception is closed from 1430 to 1800, but then you just go by yourself in the bar, take what you need and write it on your own bill....amazing, Yes, no shopping around the corner, but 10 minutes walk, there is a nice pier, with a few shops, with everything you need, and by taxi ( 300Bath), just 15 minutes from white sand beach and a lot of shopping. The rooms are nice, very clean and our family 2 rooms Bungalow was perfect for us. The restaurant is great, cosy, relaxing and the food is soooooooo great and tasty. Breakfast is not included, but you can choose a la carte every morning ( try a healthy start or the fruit bowl). They have by the way, the best coffee ever tasted in Thailand. The garden is a paradise of flowers and the whole resort is so beautiful. Then there is the owners Julian and Cheryl and the rest of the staff....There are there for you all the time, helping, smiling, talking,arranging trips for you, telling you about the area..The place was just perfect for our family, we stayed there for a week and we loved it so much, that we had to come back for 2 days before leaving for Bangkok
Thank you again for a wonderful stay over 2 period. Many regards Eric, Trine and the kids

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the sea and are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianodense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our resort. I think you've captured some really important points about what guests will not get at Amber Sands, so thank you for that also.

From talking to many of our guests over the past 3 years we believe that they are all tired of the same old large impersonal hotels which might well be smart and luxurious, but they are same same whether they be in Copenhagen, Brighton, Melbourne or Chantaburi. People are looking for something small and personal with some ambience and atmosphere to relax and spend quality holiday time, which is what you found at Amber Sands.

And one of the best compliments we can be paid is when our guests return, as your family did, thank you. We're so glad that you had a good holiday. It was lovely to meet your family, and get to know you all. I still have the lovely drawings from the children on the wall behind my desk!

Have a good year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Having an extra day at the end of an exhaustive business week in Bangkok, I decided to spontaneously go down to Ko Chang (that was the only transportation option from my old hotel so I took it) for a day, coming back the next.

I was told that I better get a reservation because most establishments would be booked this time of the year and walk up prices would be significantly higher. So, just prior to leaving that Sunday morning I emailed several of the best rated resorts about availability and hopped in the mini-bus for an uneventful 6 hour ride.

I was able to check email at the ferry dock and out of all the inquiries, Julian was the only one that responded with a personal message, offering me a last minute deal on one of the rooms.

Arriving at Amber Sands confirmed I had made the right decision. Calm, peaceful and everything you expect from a tropical small resort; I felt immediately at home.

After relaxing a bit Julian arranged for a scooter rental (250 baht -about $8 for 24 hours). I drove all along the beaches and little towns on the west side of the island and ended up down at "Lonely Beach" watching a wonderful sunset followed by a yummy meal while listening to a more than good reggae cover band with some English FA Cup soccer/football action on the big screen. Life doesn't get much better than that...

I relaxed the next morning on the veranda before heading back to Bangkok.

Thanks to Amber Sands this turned out the perfect last minute mini vacation. Thank you, Julian and Cheryl!

Room Tip: ground floor rooms provide easier access - second floor better views. All rooms/cabanas face the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedict D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thanks Benedict D for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Amber Sands, our 100th as it happens!

We're very pleased to hear that even though your stay was so short you still enjoyed your time with us, and on the island. You certainly did seem to pack in a lot on your fast track visit!

On your next visit take the time to explore down the east coast of the island where you can spend a day or two seeing the unspoilt side of Koh Chang and enjoying Thailand as it used to be, swimming at the waterfalls, walking through a mangrove forest, taking a kayak to a small remote island, admiring the view of the islands of the archipelago south of Koh Chang, finding a "secret" beach and sampling some good Vietnamese dishes, vegetarian cuisine or seafood.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Lydeard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Six of us stayed at Amber Sands for two weeks. Julian and Cheryl made our holiday complete. Nothing was to much trouble and they were always happy to have a chat and impart local information. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful location then this is the place to come. We can't thank them enough for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: The Beach House is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind comments.

We often worry that Amber Sands may be too quiet for a longer stay, and do always double check with a guest when they make a long booking. It's difficult for us to know what a guest is looking for on their holidays and we don't want anyone to be disappointed. But you and a number of other guests recently have stayed for a while, and we're pleased that you found what you were looking for.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and getting to know you all. It was our pleasure to help you have a good holiday. Thank you again for choosing Amber Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Amber Sands for 8 nights with my toddler. The place is gorgeous, and the rooms are very comfortable, well maintained and affordable. I really liked the fact that the resort only has 8 bungalows, so it's very quiet and peaceful. My son really loved the pool and the beach. Julian and Cheryl went out of their way to make us feel at home. They helped us to book motorbikes, elephant rides and cooking classes. They even provided some toys at the pool for my son and other kids! I'll definitely go back to this place very soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisevZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments LouisevZ, they are much appreciated.

We agree that our 8 bungalows are about the right size. There is the temptation to add more rooms to maximise investment returns because we do have the available land, but we won't do that in a hurry because we believe that it will change the nature of the resort, increase guest numbers and spoil the peaceful relaxing nature that we have with fewer rooms.

We’ve often noticed that even when all bungalows are occupied, guests are out for the day on activities, or exploring on their own, so there can be the odd occasions when we’re full, but you can have the resort to yourself!

We hope to see you and your toddler again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asnieres
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

What else can be said after all the previous reviews ?
Julian and Sheryl and their lovely Thai chef (also in charge of the waitresses) are very welcoming and their 8 large rooms very nice. Each are different (i stayed in 2 different rooms there) and i can't say which one was best (the number 5 for its natural all-bamboo style) or the 8 (family) with a nice colonial (?) style. very cosy in both cases.

The situation is good, not far from the pier and from the few shops of the northern "city" and 30mn away from the south of the island which deserves at least 2 days of "expedition" Anyway the east of the island is far much more beautiful and preserved than the west.

The hotel itself is a little paradise on earth. ON five days, i regret i didn't have enough time to chill out in all the cute spots that are available in the hotel :2 Salas, 1 hammock, a few traditional bamboo beds in front of the beach, transats around the pool, the comfortable sofa in the super-cosy living room....

If i had to give a improvement side i would say that i really missed the fridge and the kettle in the room to have some independence and be able to keep some snacks / fruits around and boil some water anytime.
indeed the breakfast is not included. Good side is, it allows you to ea anything you want from the healthy start (fruit/ yogurt and muesli) to the Thai traditional rice soup or the English breakfast which all are succulent !!! :) And you can never get bored of their Menu. (we has only 1 lunch out of the hotel in 5 days.... and almost regret it ;)

The guests of Amber Sands is very eclectic from the young English couple with a baby, the trendsetter German couples writing a blog about Thailand, a bunch of retired Scottish.... All of them are very discreet and respectful and this place is made for resting that's sure. Beware that the walls are very thin and you can hear a baby crying next room from time to time.

Hope this review will make you want to go there. I do whish i could go back soon.

Room Tip: number 5 is more girly, number 3 more neutral (bmboo style) both are large number 8 has got 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiekkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCsaffas, Owner at Amber Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments sophiekkt. We enjoyed your writing style and humour!

You've touched on two aspects that not many other reviews have, namely the individual room styles, and the other guests. The next time we can have our web site revamped, we will include photos of the different rooms. We like to personalise and individualise the rooms, but no matter which one you stay in, they all have a good sea view, are close to the swimming pool and are surrounded by plants and gardens.

As for the range of guests we have staying at Amber Sands, you are quite right to comment on that because it is important, and it does add to the overall "feel" and atmosphere of our resort. There are times when we have only couples, other times when there are some families with young children. Amber Sands really suits an adult family group, maybe with some grandchildren, taking a few rooms to enjoy holiday time together; we have many of those groups.

In terms of nationalities, the majority of our guests are from Europe, including Dutch, German, Scandinavian and British, with some Canadians, a few Australians and even the odd fellow South African. It's lovely when our guests interact with each other, as they often do, because it creates a relaxed warm atmosphere and everybody can learn from what others have found on the island.

Sorry about the crying baby noise! The bungalows are separate and not built with common walls, except perhaps the shower rooms. But I guess some noise wll unfortunately carry.

And we note your suggested improvements of a fridge and kettle; thank you for being constructive. We continually strive to improve our resort, so we'll certainly give consideration to your valid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.5 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
975 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
9.6 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#7 of 73 in Ko Chang
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
415 reviews
5.9 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
8.3 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Sands Beach Resort

Property: Amber Sands Beach Resort
Address: 51/3 Moo 2, Baan Dan Kao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience peace on Koh Chang's tranquil east coast in our small, family run resort metres from a quiet, almost deserted beach where we bring you a personal, individual experience. Only eight spacious air-conditioned bungalows, set in a tropical garden, all with views of the beach. Our fresh water pool provides an alternative. The thatch roof open-sided restaurant is steps from the beach and offers both traditional Thai dishes and a range of Western foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Amber Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Sands Beach Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing