We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly staff, but rundown and way too expensive.”
Review of Mac Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mac Resort Hotel
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I could not fault the staff, very friendly and efficient. The hotel, is more of an upmarket guesthouse that has grown over the years with apool. It unfortuanetely suffers, like a lot of Thai Hotels from neglect ; when it was brand new, it was lovely, but then it is just run into the ground!
Our room was in the new block of "Grand Superior" rooms only built last year and already with faulty shower and damaged furniture.
The restaurant on the beach was nice and food was of a good standard. Breakfast was a buffet and acceptable but no more, some items were cold.
The swimming pool, again was nice but poorly mantained, clean clear water one day, and merky the next. Also some sharp edges on the unfinished tiling of the pool.
None of this would normally bother me, but we were charged a lot of money by Thai standards for this room. Even with some serious negotiations and a hefty discount, this room cost $US60. This is just too much for what you get.
Also be aware, this hotel is popular with large Thai families and groups of vistors from Bangkok at the weekend. The swimming pool can become very noisy and crowded

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grownupbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Mac Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

Mac Resort is a beautiful hotel in the main area of Koh Chang. We absouloutly loved our stay at Mac. Mac has a beautiful beach that is all sand no rocks at all in the water. There is also a beautiful pool and they set up a restraunt at night. Our room was average but had a beautiful shower and it was cleaned every day very nicely. Overall our stay was great but the people on Koh Chang and the beautiful landscape are what really made Koh Chang enjoyable

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ntfbball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

When we got to the island of Ko Chang we didn't have a booking. We went doorknocking from hotel o hotel. We finally ended up a the first beach and this hotel since it had the best deal for us and where located at the best restaurants and had a pool right at the beach. We paid 2000B/ night for a double room. It was clean, the staff where sweet, and the pool was cold but nice. The price included breakfast.

Ko Chang is a good place to stay if you don't mind quite a lot of tourist, lots of scandinavians. The people here are not as friendly as the people in the north of thailand. There are more things to do on this island then on the surounding islands. The beaches are nice but not as gourgeous as the ones on Koh Samet. i probably won't go back to Koh Chang. It's probably a good stay for families with kids.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank QueenJosefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: อาหารอร่อย
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Champpy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Moritz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Marcel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#48 of 73 in Ko Chang
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cookies Hotel
Cookies Hotel
#52 of 73 in Ko Chang
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apple Beachfront Resort
Apple Beachfront Resort
#44 of 121 in Ko Chang
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sangtawan Resort
Sangtawan Resort
#86 of 121 in Ko Chang
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill Steak House
Buffalo Bill Steak House
#62 of 107 in Ko Chang
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dutalay Hotel
Dutalay Hotel
#64 of 107 in Ko Chang
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mac Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac Resort Hotel

Address: 7/3 Moo 4, White Sand Beach, Ko Chang, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: $33 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mac Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mac Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mac Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing