We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern design, but it's getting old.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Excellent breakfast, we enjoy late breakfast. Other hotel, you have to get up early.

For the price of the room, they should have better bathroom and pool is not as clean as expected.

Hotel locate between a nice resort and camping ground. sometime, get too much noice at night.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanMan851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 626 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Looking for a nice place with perfect location, nice swimingpool, excellent service and a high standard on the rooms. This is the hotel/resort.
The chill looks brand new and has some un explored ground on both sides of the resort, which is a small shallow resort according to its lenght, and then I mean, long from street to beach. You have nothing that disturb you from the "sides" and the street, even if its close. The pool is perhaps not so deep (1.4m) but its big to let you swim a lot, if need of some exercise or like to play some in the pool. The beach is good, not as the beaches more north on the island and as on Koh Kood, but good enough. They have kajaks to rent to explore the small island outside the resort.
Rooms very clean and spacious with super nice bathroom. The thing of having the room on first floor and access to pool seems like a less attractive sulotion as the rooms are in the shadow angle of the sun.
Very helpful staff, with perfect service at the pool area with good food for breakfast and lunch if you are at the resort during the day. We did not eat dinner so that I can't have any opinion on.

The location on the Koh Chang is perfect. Relative calm and central if you are planning to go both south to Bang Bao pier or north to White Sands. The good places to eat is as you understand spread out on the island so you have to move for some variety. You do have what you need outside the resort for your needs of booking transfers, diving, boattrips and so on. You have several bars, but that you have all over the island, if you want to have a beer/ drink for less money.

All stuff such massage and similar is of course much much more expensive at the hotel but is on a high standard. You find cheap good places just in the neighborhood.
If on Koh Chang once more we will return
And finally, the resort is more of a design hotel, and if your looking for genuine Thai style, this is not your place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 112345crusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Liked: location (close to everything and not too noisy), amazing pool (huge, never crowded), breakfast all day (never used the opportunity but I am sure many people find it appealing), nice staff (very helpful, especially Yasmine), good beach (not too shallow, beautiful sunset), delicious lunch menu (highly recommended!), ok room (balcony), very clean!
Didn’t like so much: a bit overpriced (they claim it’s always full, being there you see its not true), breakfast is so so (I’d like to have wider selection of fruit and breads, and juice shouldn’t have artificial taste), really bad shampoo (if I can call it that way, I couldn’t use it)

We enjoyed our stay at the Chill and can recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZhannaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Visited over the Christmas holidays with my family. We loved the modern design of this relatively new resort. Great service from all the friendly staff. The environment (especially the private beach) was peaceful and very relaxing, a great break from the city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

It's difficult to book accomodation without first checking it out physically but we had to go on photo's and minimal reviews available for this newish resort and we were pleasantly surprised. I would think that this is the coolest and most picturesque resort on Koh Chang.
We stayed for 7 nights celebrating new year and the start of 2012. The compulsory gala dinner for new year's eve was disappointing and very over-priced for the entertainment although the food was exemplary, as were the daily menu offerings. We had been looking for a comparison to new year on Koh Tao the year before but unfortunately it didn't have the same buzz. Still, being on a beach for the bells is always memorable!
You can choose to switch off within the confines of the resort or wander the island - we did a bit of both.
Nothing against kids, but the only downside is that we had hoped there would be no kids running and splashing around but there were a little too many for what we thought and understood to be more of a couples retreat.
Sunset views to store in memory forever...

Room Tip: sky suite is a pure luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monty6678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Very relaxing. The bed was so damn comfortable. Sunset was superb. The view magnificent, and all day breakfast a very thoughtful idea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Charming couple's retreat - but there were many families with kids, although it was Christmas Holiday....
This place was very nice - I have stayed at a several properties on Koh Chang and written a couple of other reviews - this was the trendiest, most modern chic property that I have stayed at. It was for a romantic holiday get away. There was a "library" with DVDs to watch and books and a few couches to relax on. The Spa was great the GF informed me as I did not go personally. We stayed in a "Splash Room" - direct access to the pool was nice in the morning when the sun light shone on the pool - in the afternoon it was a little chilly. The outside day bed was a nice touch to relax with a little privacy. The room was good sized and bed very comfortable. Bathroom was great with a "rain" shower - for what it mattered the soap, shampoo, and conditioner where not the best so just bring your own. The TV was a little small for the room, but adequate as all we used it for was the HDMI input from the computer to listen to music. WI-FI was GREAT at the property. The beach was okay nothing special, but it was clean and free of peddlers hawking hand made goods - it was a little windy at times. Very nice hammock to relax on right by the water. The main pool was great and clean - water was well maintained! I am going to say that the best part about this property was the staff - they were all GREAT and then next the breakfast that was included with the room. Wonderful FRESH buffet style (Thai and Western food) until around 11am and then onwards it was a la carte. The menu was unique everyday which was nice, but there was also the made to order section (eggs, bacon, sausage, ect...) The wait staff was very attentive and knew what you wanted. I had a triple espresso at my table every morning right after I sat down and only ordered it the first day :) The cooks were good enough to provide the ingredients to make a BLT on the first day and then offer me one prepared fresh every morning upon my arrival to the dining area. Great property and would stay again. I expected that the rates where reflective of the holiday as I stayed the week between Christmas and New Years – it was a little high for Thailand and the Gala fees for the holiday evenings were crazy high.

Room Tip: With the included breakfast you do not have a wake up early to rush to a breakfast buffet - although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rivertownwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
5.7 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#10 of 73 in Ko Chang
996 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
422 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.0 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Address: 19/21 Moo 4 | Kai Bae Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $124 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your private getaway paradise. The Chill offers truly unique experience and privacy that redefines the definition of modern luxury resorts. From immersing in the tranquility of the beautiful white-sand beach to unwinding at the luxurious Chill Spa, from indulging at the five-star Thai fusion cuisine restaurant to relaxing in the beautiful tropical postmodern accommodations, The Chill is not just a destination for your vacation, it's your private getaway paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chill Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Chill Koh Chang Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing