We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seaside hotel for family with young kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great seaside hotel for family with young kids”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The facilities compare favorably to other small, modern boutique hotels worldwide. The Chill has a great set of dipping pools running all the way from the lobby to the beach. The pools are not deep so they are perfect for young children. The ground is nicely landscaped and the overall atmosphere is very relaxing.

The staff is friendly and courteous. The food at the restaurant by the beach is adequate, though the menu could do with a bit more imagination, especially the drinks, as one needs to keep well-hydrated lazing by the pool.

The building that houses the spa and the library is a spacious and very nice for kids to play in.

Room Tip: The ground floor room has pool access and loungers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moscowgirlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    109
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
184
281
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The Chill is a small luxury boutique hotel, nice modern, minimalist design. We stayed in the Splash, pool access room. Breakfast served any time of the day, it was really great for me. Friendly staff with good English. The setting of the hotel beachfront pool (infinity pool), the restaurant Chill Out Café, and the beach is IMHO the best spot in Koh Chang. Don't miss the sunset, it's the most beautiful sunset one rarely experience. Our dinner was one of the most romantic dinner, ever. The hotel library is really relaxing, it was like a big beautiful living room with two free iMac internet stations, and wi-fi all over the hotel. Overall, this hotel's name says it all, you can just completely chill out here.

Room Tip: Try the Splash pool access room near the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bluezwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Chill has potential to be a great hotel however. it requires the supervision and direction of a experienced General Manger.

Overall out stay was average not memorable due to poor customer service at the front desk and in the restaurant. House keeping staff were friendly.

Service can be hit and miss nothing special.

Food & Beverage - Horrible, poor breakfast, cold hamburgers, and yesterdays salad for breakfast. One morning they didnt even setup the buffet breakfast and just put out a plate of cheese and boiled vegetables.

Location and Beach, great area for relaxing and very good swimming pool

Room Tip: Just Average
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bangkokfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We Stayed at the Hotel last year during Songkran which is a Big Water Festival Thailand or Thai New Year. during our day the Staff were very nice and helpful guiding us tourist point and restaurant. They all speak queit good English.

The Room were very comfortable and relaxing. Our room were pool access which suit use the best. The Service and the surrounding were also good. sofar,.. good good good

Overall i would recommand The Chill

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MsD_LadyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

it's a new and modern hotel right on kai bae beach. it's not on crowded white sand beach which maked the hotel a nice spot to relax. great pool area. breakfast is ok. it's really a hotel to relax.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The hotel was nice designed, but a little run down. But rooms where clean and the pool was very nice to relax. From this hotel, it is easy to walk to the nearby restaurants. The service was ok. Maybe this time of the year, Koh Chang is to busy. Fortunately this hotel was a little away from the crowds and we could enjoy a nice vacation here. Very nice nature arround this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank schustertravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thaïlande
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

When you arrive at The Chill , you are very impress with the nice and large lobby , very nice staffs welcome you. But this place is only a big show .. the hotel itself is very beautiful , amazing pool , Our room ( the splash) has a direct access to the pool , in fact more a fish pound than a real pool as it was only 60cm deep , could be perfect for kids but not for a 190cm height guy like me. The room itself is well decorated , flat TV but limited choice of international channel , nice bed but the problem was the smell of the bed linen , as it had been raining quite much the smell of humidity was terrible. I have asked for a change but still the smell was there. Bathroom is ok but with only one showe. Nothing much to hang clothes and no wardrobe so if you come for few days thedre is no space for clothes and that is a pitty as you dont even have anything to hang towels to dry or swimming wear to dried. The bath room window is funny as the lights of the corridor are so bright at night its difficult to have a dark room because doors of bathroom are made of glass so I had to hang pool towel to have some dark. The hotel has been open since October 2008 but it seems it has been open for years as everything is going older so fast , the paint on the pool deck is gone and metal chairs started to be rusted. If you go into details this hotel has a 3 * only but with prices of a 5*. Breakfast is louzy for such place , powder orange juice mixed with water and suggar and no choice of much things ... frozen croissant and little choice of everything, fisr day buffet was ok , second day was amazing but that was probably because some official of the tourism authority of thailand were there and needed to be impressed, thirs day buffet was so poor than when I requested a simple fried rice thai style they refused to do it. I have seen breakfast much better in guest houses I paid my room over 100$/night and usaully expect better food. If you like music bring your own as the same CD is played constantly and not the "chill" kind of music.
The very poor management made this hotel looks cheap, I have stayed in design boutique hotel before but that one beside is beauty. I wont go into details as it would be too long to tell but one thing is sure DO NOT EXECPT anything great at the Chill. Staff is nice thanks to them. I couldnt even pay with my credit card as they had problem with their phone line but didnt have any manuel way to operate credit cards. Another way to make cash ..... I will not recommende this hotel to anyone looking for Design hotel but they will always find people who wont mind about details and prices they pay. On the other hand there are so many better places in the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lolobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
5.7 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
983 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#5 of 73 in Ko Chang
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#8 of 73 in Ko Chang
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.7 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.0 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang

Property: The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Address: 19/21 Moo 4 | Kai Bae Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your private getaway paradise. The Chill offers truly unique experience and privacy that redefines the definition of modern luxury resorts. From immersing in the tranquility of the beautiful white-sand beach to unwinding at the luxurious Chill Spa, from indulging at the five-star Thai fusion cuisine restaurant to relaxing in the beautiful tropical postmodern accommodations, The Chill is not just a destination for your vacation, it's your private getaway paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chill Koh Chang Hotel Koh Chang
Chill Koh Chang Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing