We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor location, too far from beaches and poor service”
Review of Koh Chang Resortel

Koh Chang Resortel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koh Chang Resortel
Ranked #89 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor location, too far from beaches and poor service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

if i were you, dont ever waste your money with this classic hotel. too far from the beaches, all they have are just a huge dirty swimming pool, the room was old and bad smell because i guess of too old and badly damaged. the foods are terrible and very poor service. please try some other hotel, this hotel is not recommendable at all aspects.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sissy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    2
    11
See reviews for
6
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

First thing first. The photos you will see online of this place are most likely from 4+ years ago when it was in it's prime. I was quite excited to get a good deal for my weeks long stay in Koh Chang. The photos and descriptions really made me feel excited. When I arrived I was a little thrown back. The main "lobby" house as it would be was locked up primarily used for storage. Upon walking down the driveway I encountered the HUGE pool and saw a nice woman there to greet me. The hotel grounds themselves are ok and the buildings could use some touch ups and repairs. Both pools were relaxing and nice, being surrounded by trees I was not thrown back by some leaves or fruit flies in the pool. FYI there is no real beach here. This hotel has a fantastic view for sunsets with a little tree swing and sitting area, but the beach is all Rock! I do suggest carefully walking out to the medium size rock and sit-down for a cool photo opp at sunset. Breakfast is included, but I suggest to just skip it and ride your motorbike down to White Sand beach and grab something at Monkey Bar. If your looking for coffee go to any Marion Coffee on the island. Great cappuccinos here!
Ok now the ROOM. The room is minimal, the bare necessities for anyone traveling. My buddy and I had a room near the big pool with twin beds. The bed was comfortable enough, but I have been living in China for 3 years so most beds are better than what I have had. After the first shower and night sleep I was content and understanding at the situation. The bathroom had a few ants on the counter, most likely due to the fact that no one had stayed in the room in a while, The cleaning people probably realized this and after the second day there were no more ants. The shower was what gave me minor frustration. Made for someone 5 feet tall, but it does have a handle shower head... Regardless, once I reset the hot water machine on the wall all was good.
Overall I would stay here again. Its low key, quite, and the family who runs the place is great and friendly. Besides, when in Koh Chang you only use your hotel to sleep, shower, and maybe catch a late night swim. If you are looking for luxury, on site dinning, and overly friendly service...well this may not be the place for you. I'd look into the Kacha Hotel, but I heard plenty of complaints about that place as well. For Koh Chang info you can check out my blog at http://andylinglingchi.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffee-Fanatic-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Resortel for two nights because we saw the big pool and I thought that i could swim there. We were welcomed warmly and the people who are driving the Resortel were very kind and tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. But it was obvious that they were not able to maintain such a big pool. The room was very clean, nice and we had airconditioning and a fridge. Unfortunately was the restaurant only open for breakfast and there were many damages at the buildings and at the equipment. The Resotel is 100 Baht taxi drive away from Whitesandbeach and it has a nice view on the ocean with an access to go swimming but their is no real sand beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maaschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Maybe this was a nice place 5 years ago, but now they have actually given up. Everything is in a state of free fall downhill.
The breakfast is bad and possible a health hazard. The bar and restaurant has closed down, it is not possible to order anything. You can buy drinks from street vendors up on the main road, not in the hotel. The pools are not clean, and the pool area is not attractive, only a few worn sun chairs. Rooms are worn, but actually decently clean.
Location is really bad. There are no restaurants, shopping or other service nearby, you have to go by taxi for everything.
There real problem is the location. In such a bad location it will never be possible to attract customers. And they know it. The staff and manager is friendly and they do their best. I feel a little sorry for them.
Also read "berryberm"s review, he/she is completely right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uffeponken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in here in the first week of janruary..the rooms are okay. There are 2 pools and they are not cleaned untill night time.it gets windy at night and the pool is full of leads in the morning and with the bigger pool there is a load of dead leafs soaked to the bottom. The breakfast is pree cooked and the staff proudly hand u a cooked breskfast which is cold and the flys have had a party on it before u get it. The bar is the breakfast space and is not open at all the staff spend most of the time sleeping in hammocks..this would be a great hotel if the bar was open..breakfast was hot..pools were clean and if they staff kept the grounds clean..we changed hotel half way through the week we had paid for....there's loads of hotels in white sands..don't waste ure money here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barryberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I had a wonderful time at this resort! It backs on to the sea (the views are beautiful), was a reasonable price, breakfast was good, it had two very nice pools and the rooms were pleasant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and helped me to organise a wonderful and care-free stay on the island. The only thing that might put you off is that the hotel is a few kilometers from the sandy beaches... but that said, it is located between two and it was nice to be away from the bustle of the other resorts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Just got home to Bangkok today from this hotel, it was very good! We rented 2 rooms which were both nice and had no problems. Booth bathrooms looked to had been recently re-tiled. The staff were nice and helpful, there was free wifi in the restaurant and lobby, and in some rooms but our rooms did not get wifi.

Breakfast was good, there was a selection of bread, cheese, ham, tuna, thai dishes and they cooked to order sausages, bacon, ham, omelet and eggs. There was also a variety of drinks and fruit.

I read a few negative reviews before staying here...but my experience was really good, perhaps it was the time of year we went (Thai new year, 3Thai public holidays).
We rented out 2 scooters for 200 THB/day to explore the island, it is definitely the thing to do if you choose to stay there or anywhere on the island as taxis are expensive.

Room Tip: Book scooters, lots of fun and easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleyMarlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#22 of 73 in Ko Chang
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
0.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.0 mi away
Chang Park Resort & Spa
Chang Park Resort & Spa
#57 of 73 in Ko Chang
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Resortel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Resortel

Property: Koh Chang Resortel
Address: 13/9 Moo 4 Whitesand-Chai Chet Street, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Chang Resortel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Chang Resortel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing