We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get what you book and they try and charge much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked to stay here 10 days ago in a standard room, when we got to the hotel after travelling for almost 2 days we were shown to a cupboard with a shower in it. The room had no windows and stunk of mould, when we refused to stay in the room and showed them a photo of a standard room they are advertising on the internet they said we had to pay a extra £260 for the week. The receptionist was rude and said we either pay more, stay in the box room or find somewhere else, so we did for half the price just up the road.
The hotel did look lovely with a nice pool and terrace on the beach. But be careful what you book.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 128 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

My review of 01 July 2013 stands cancelled and irrelevant now. On about 12 Dec 2013 I took a trip down memory lane and re visited White Sand Beach and wanted to show my wife : Koh Chang Lagoon Resort where I enjoyed a good happy time. Believe me the place had changed beyond belief! In place of a luxuriant garden in front of my room, a relaxing green space, they have put up a monster of a swimming pool and destroyed the private peaceful ambience that prevailed in front of the room sit outs. The place is now not anything like it was and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone except those who maybe gung ho over SWIMMING POOLS right beside a delightful ocean. Now no more privacy for guests at this hotel.
Orlando.B Pune. India. 12 dec 2013.

Room Tip: I was about to rebook this hotel for another stay with my wife in Dec 2013. I am glad I did not. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Really liked the spacious superio double room, with a balcony overlooking the new pool. Large, comfortable beds, spacious bathroom With tub, enough room for storing clothes. Rooms are a bit worn, but have a cozy atmosphere with wooden Furniture. The rooms appear quite dark during daytime.
Very friendly staff (but i had problems understanding their English), did not see a trace of fleas or smell anything off (as mentioned in an other review). Location is excellent, right between the street and the Beach (I was not bothered by noise).
The pool is large and appealing, and situated practically right on the beach. The restaurant locaten on and by the beach serves good food, but the logistic is absent. Expect repeated questions and wrong deliveries from the waiters!
I got a very good deal in high-season, contacting the hotel via e-mail. At the price we got it`s a bargain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annyh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The lagoon is more of a man made pond.

The rooms are tired and faded and the staff look the same.

Breakfast was ok rather than good and from what we saw of the island, most of the hotels are not really up to par.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

First off, this place does not look like the images on the site/brochures, so you may miss it from the street.

They apparently had some booking issues because there were some angry folks in line who apparently had a reservation which was not showing up. They found our reservations, unfortunately.

We stayed in the new wing of the hotel. This was surprising because the room had 1970s wood panelling, a perpetually leaky something in the bathroom, a toilet that didn't flush all the way, and a really weird smell. Outside of our room was a completely different smell…that of garbage mixed with a sewer.

The staff was not very friendly at all, besides a couple smiles from the attendants cleaning the rooms. A few were actually rude.

But the icing on the cake was the fleas. YES, FLEAS. We woke up with bites everywhere, and they managed to hitch a ride along the rest of our vacation with us. We were worried they were bed bugs, but thankfully(I guess) they were just fleas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The room is big but dark (no windows at all).
The cleaness in the room is OK but we didn't check very detaily.
The water letout in the bathroom is a bit stupid because it was in the opposite corner than where the shower is; so everytime when we showered, the whole floor of the bathroom got wet (so please note to put the carpet outside the bathroom, not just outside the shower curtain).
The door of the bathroom is also too low; my boyfriend is 186cm tall only and he has knocked his head several times when he entered the bathroom.
The breakfast was OK but nothing special.
The best of this hotel is probably its location; it's located in the popular area of white sand beach area so easy t oget to many restaurans, shops, and tour agents.
It also has very easy access to the beautiful beach so you ca enjoy the sun bath or take a nice swim very easily.
For divers there is a dive shop just next to the reception so it's convenient (but it's longer car ride to the Bang Bao pier from the White sand Beach area).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eratolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very convenient location, Good food at reasonable prices, my room was accessible from the main road but I observed hotel staff keeping an eye and reporting with walkie talkies. Good breakfast. Reception co operative and helpful

No negative comments.

Room Tip: I stayed in 701 and it was well located and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orlando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
Mac Resort Hotel
Mac Resort Hotel
#61 of 73 in Ko Chang
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cookies Hotel
Cookies Hotel
#52 of 73 in Ko Chang
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alina Grande Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apple Beachfront Resort
Apple Beachfront Resort
#45 of 125 in Ko Chang
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#31 of 73 in Ko Chang
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Top Resort
Top Resort
#23 of 73 in Ko Chang
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Lagoon Resort

Address: 7/5 Moo 4, Had Sai Khao, Ko Chang 23120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Price Range: $61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Chang Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Chang Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Lagoon Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing