We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I and another couple stayed there for 3 nights and none of us wanted to leave. Stayed in the new bungalows. Very peaceful and the bed was one of the best I have slept in outside of my own. The staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. What you expect from professional Thai staff. We have no reservation about recommending.

Of all the reviews I have put on TripAdvisor, I have not rated one higher!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JUMandPAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Gajapuri Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 420 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed with my fiancé in one of the rooms nearer to the small pool (room 210) and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated (nice mood lighting too). The HUGE bathroom with a large shower and a bath for two was also lovely. I loved the french doors on the front of the room that could open up as well. Overall, the place was quiet (when kids weren't in the pool) and absolutely chilled out. The little bar near the beach was also quite lovely with some very nice cocktails.

Room Tip: Personally, I would not want to stay in the new part of the hotel. It didn't seem to have any ch...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for 7 nights. The location is right off the main road running thru Kae Bae, there is an old part and a new part. We stayed in the new part - a nice bungalow with dark wood, a huge and good bed and a large bathroom. Everything in the room worked fine, and it is kept very clean. There is a Bose blue tooth speaker in the room - a nice touch. Have noticed some people have complained about a lot of mosquitoes - we cannot at all recognize this as a problem. Breakfast is upstairs in a building, meaning nice views of the sea, it has open sides, and thankfully no-smoking. Breakfast selection very good, they ask you for your preference of egg and bring it to your table. Staff is excellent; friendly and helpful. Check-in and -out was very efficient and no-hassle. The resort has a nice pool and direct access to beach, with rocks though, so walk a bit north on the beach to avoid. All in all recommendable if you want to relax in quiet surroundings. As a personal preference it would have been great if Gajapuri would have a small fitness center, maybe just a thread-mill and excercise bike.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PalleFrandsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed there nights in a pool villa and it was private and nice, but it was fray.
I would not recommend to spend 8000 baht for that kind of ackommodation.

It was a 5 star price, but just average to me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoolRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhans, General Manager at Gajapuri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Reviewer
We do not have any record of a single traveller from Sweden, staying with us at GajaPuri Resort & Spa in one of our four Private Pool Villas in February 2014, neither is the rate correct you mentioned.
Kindly submit a proof of your stay to Tripadvisor.
Best regards
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at Gajapuri in January 2014, it is a beautiful setting and would I guess be classed as a boutique resort. However they were doing some building work during our stay which was unfortunate for us as it was noisy with builders during the day - not quite the peaceful ambience we were hoping for.
The building work for the resort was completed by the time we were leaving which seemed to double the size of the resort. Be aware that there are a number of hotels currently under or starting construction next to Gajapuri.

The food at the restaurant is very good so had quite a few lunches there, it seems to be empty at night, which is a shame as it is a beautiful setting. The rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable. The shower in our room wasn't great at all, it tended to be a little temperamental at times both temperature and spray wise. Another comment would be to include a mosquito plug in each room as we did get a few nighttime visits from mosquitos and with no nets over the beds the mosquito's buzzing was all the more threatening (they did manage to have a nibble or two on us during the night as it happens).

The beach area we loved, yes it was stoney in parts especially in the evening for us when the tide was out. However the setting was stunning, with trees overhanging the beach area it is very charming. As it is quite narrow where Gajapuri is not many people were using the beach area so at times it felt like our own private beach, which was great.

Overall it is a pretty resort, beautiful setting and gardens, good food (the breakfast had a good variety of choices), a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eimear D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is split into 2 parts, the old & the new. We stayed in the new part, which consisted of 17 bungalows & I must say that they were spacious, welll laid out & with all the amenities you would want (wifi, safe, hairdrier, tv, dvd player with free dvd's available, fan, air conditioning etc). The 50m infinity swimming pool in the new part is great & is just 15m from the beach. There are plenty of sunbeds & sunshades around the pool & there was never a fight to get one. The resort is done all in wood, which includes bungalows, boardwalks, restaurants & reception, which adds to it's ambience. The hotel is situated in tbe middle of Kai Bae, a short stroll from bars, restaurants & shops. The hotel reception staff are lovely & I would like to say that Am & Nim were particularly helpful throughout our stay, which was much appreciated. The General Manager Hans was also very helpful as we had a problem with our booking, which was no fault of the hotel. So many thanks to you Hans. We had a delightful stay at the Gajapuri, which was due to the hotel ambience, staff & service. The valentines dinner in the beach restaurant was fantastic. The breakfast was fine but it would have been even better if it coukd have been served in the bech front restaurant. My only complaint is that breakfast should be "no smoking", I did mention this to Hans & he did say that this was going to happen. However, I am not going to mark this hotel down for one minor fault. Thank you Gajapuri for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at Gajapuri about 6 years ago, just after their opening, and loved the place.
That was why we chose to return , but we were disapointed when we saw that Gajapuri had been expanded to twice is size. Away was the feeling of something special - now it is just another boutique resort. Grown far to big an unpesonally for our taste.
When it is said - we must say that the room was lovely, spaceious and with a wondefull bed.
The bathroom was super - and outside there was a small terrace with 2 sunbeds. Unfortunately we could not use them, because of the mosquitoes, day and night.
The swimmingpools are great, but if you want to swim in the sea you have to turn right on the beach and walk a few hundred meters to the end of the bay, where the beach is much nicer.
The breakfast is served in the restaurant on 1. floor in the old mainbuilding. Again - disapointing compared to our first visit. You can order eggs and coffe or tea by the staff. The buffet is in a small crowded room next to the restaurant. Actually the staff in the breakfast restaurant wasn`t very hospitable and seemed stressed.
We had lunch in the Beach restaurant - good thai food. It was served by the same staff as in the breakfast restaurant - the difference was, that they seemed more kind and less stressed here.
Although the standard is still high, Gajapuri has lost its charm, and that is a shame.
The staff in the reception was helpfull and kind.
We don`t think Gajapuri is suitable for families with small children because the entire resort is builded on stilts, where several sites have no railings.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near by the water pond because of the mosquitoes .
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.6 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
991 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.6 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gajapuri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gajapuri Resort & Spa

Address: 19/19 Moo 4, Moo Baan Klongprao | Tumbol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range: $80 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gajapuri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GajaPuri Resort & Spa Koh Chang is a Boutique style Hotel at the beach of Kai Bae. Only a short 20 min drive from the ferry pier, the resort offers a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere in-midst tropical gardens. To the west you'll find the beach of the Gulf of Siam while to the east the rain forest with scenic mountain views surrounds your line of sight. GajaPuri and GajaLanai are laid out like cozy villages with unique wooden pathways leading you towards your private corner in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gajapuri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gajapuri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing