We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ko Chang
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
325
152
28
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
325
152
28
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kai bae wooden villas beach front adult pool beachside restaurant low tide great massage the breakfast area private villa egg station plenty of sun loungers small beach direct access to the beach your doorstep five nights thai massage lovely beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 521 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

GajaPuri is a place for relax with natural environment with lots of trees and has its own private beach. Good food in the restaurant. Each room types has its own characteristic and private area.

With the distance not too much far from Bangkok, you can get a pure natural with both mountain and beach in Koh Chang area.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yellcute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After reading numerous reviews, our expections were probably too high. Our superior lodge was very spacious, bathroom was huge and as requested in a quiet location (although it appeared that building works were due to start behind the lodges). Was disappointed when I requested an iron and ironing board, to be told that they did not provide these, we would have to sent laundry out for pressing (first time we have encountered this in Thai hotel). Breakfast was pretty basic, and lacked "ambience" also it was not ideal sitting near people that were smoking whilst eating breakfast and service was a bit hit and miss, due to language barrier and staff being busy. Had a couple of massages there - the masseuse was excellant and although a little more expensive than outside hotel, it was worth it. Plenty of sun chairs pool and beachside. We felt that Koh Chang was aimed at backpackers, and not worth the long trip and expense.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Calabaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhans, General Manager at GajaPuri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review which will help us to improve services.
In the meantime an iron and an ironing board is available for guest to use. We appologize that we not could provide it during your stay.
Our breakfast offers several teas, coffes and juices which will be served. There is an eggstation with a choice of boiled egg scrambled egg, poached egg, fried egg and omelet and bacon or ham, also served by our staff. The air conditioned buffet part offers fresh garden salads with 3 different dressing, cereals, yoghourt, fruit salad, fresh fruits, 2 kind of cold cut, 2 kind of cheese, soup, a variety of hot dishes (Thai and International) sausage (type changes every day), 2 kind of toast bread croissants, brown bread, butter, homemade jams, honey and either pancake, waffles or french toast.
Once you miss something you should just let us know and we would provide it the other day if the product is available on the island.
Please be assured that we will do our best to improve service quality and English language skills.
Regarding the ambience we plan to redecorate and resize our Matang Restaurant, where breakfast is served, and will also than be able to to have a separate corner for smokers.
Koh Chang is not at all just a place for backpackers but also a destination for travellers seeking tranquility, relaxation and plenty of nature.
We would be pleased if you would change one day your mind and visit Koh Chang again.

With best regards
Hansjoerg Jenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My (now) husband and I first found Gajapuri two years ago when we came to Koh Chang to look for a wedding venue. Our family are very scattered all over the world, and would be travelling thousands of miles from Norway, UK, USA and Australia to come and see us, so the venue was incredibly important. After a long day trawling the faceless resorts around Koh Chang, we walked into Gajapuri. From the moment we arrived we knew that we had found the perfect place for us. The wooden walkways amongst tropical vegetation, the beautiful rooms with bathrooms bigger than my living room! This was only confirmed further once we had met Hans, the general manager. After a fabulous meal by the beach we knew we had found our place for wedding and had also found in Hans someone who loved good food as much as we did!

Nearly two years later we have just had our long planned wedding. My husband, myself and two friends stayed in the Pool Villa Suite, which had character, space, privacy and was perfect for us all. Our other friends and family all stayed in a range of rooms and they all LOVED every minute of it!

Our wedding day was more than I could have asked for. The flowers were stunning- orchids and roses were arranged in a center piece. The ceremony was on the front lawn looking out onto the beach at sunset, and the dinner was an outstanding seafood BBQ of scallops, tiger prawns, squid, fresh salmon and tuna amongst others. Hans and the rest of the Gajapuri staff went out of their way to put us all at ease (I was trying not to be a bridezilla!) and gave us a day that our whole family will remember. So much so that my husband's grandmother from Norway is now planning her 80th birthday there in a couple of years!

A big thanks from all of us for giving us a holiday to remember, and a massive recommendation from myself and my husband for anyone thinking of staying at Gajapuri!

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamarajadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Friends recommended Koh Chang to us & described it as 'how Thailand used to be' It is very unspoilt and great for back packers. We hired a bike for a couple of days to see the coastline which was interesting.
The resort was very comfortable, with great rooms and a lovely pool. This Island does not have any beaches, but it is fun to go kayaking.
We would suggest that 7 to 10 nights woudl be the perfect length of holiday.

Room tip: Best rooms are near the sea, away from the wooden walkway.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefsailinturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is not as new and shiny as presented on the website but it is a really nice " eco" style boetiek hotel. It doesn't have a wow factuur but more a restful back to nature feel to it.

Beach front Room 215:
We loved this room - it is one of the foremost beach front " houses" - you have your own deck with sun beds and its lovely hearing the waves.
The wood is not so shiny and new as the website but it still is very acceptable if you think about the heat and moisture. The room and bathroom where both very clean.
One small niggle is the shower - it is a kind of dated power shower - I didnt think it fitted in with the room - I would have expected a rain shower or more "natural" shower in this type of room.

Beach
The beach is only small which is an advantage as it is quiet and a perfect spot for watching the sunset. It is rather stoney though and can be a bit shallow but the pool is nice too!

Breakfast
Nothing really to write home about - small buffet - adequate. Slight niggle is when you order tea that you get a cup with a teabag in it. Would have preferred a small teapot - the espresso though is very good!

Dinner
The restaurant is good - not great. When you venture out to the road and see the selection of " restaurants" on the island you may decide to eat here every night! There are a couple of good supermarkets very close by and if you get fed up with Asian food We went to Ziva one night for a piza. Most nights we ate at the hotel though - probably your best bet if you see the hygien of most places!!

We chose Koh Chang as we had read that most of the island is National Park and this hotel is totally in keeping with our expectations - the island of Koh Chang though was a big disappointment - Koh Chang itself is just one busy dusty road - very touristy - and not the best kind - dirty cheap restaurants, cheap tourist shops, and sex bars. The island may have some 5 star hotels but the rest of the island is still very backpacker.

This is probably the best hotel on the island if you're looking for peace and quiet - sun and sea!

Room tip: Room 214 and 215 are right on the beach front!
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GLJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews