We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best place on Koh Chang” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gajapuri Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Probably the best place on Koh Chang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Due to the steady influx of package tourists some resorts on Koh Chang have lost their charm in recent years. Gajapuri is a welcome exception to this rule. It is a relatively small resort that caters primarily to couples. The rooms are beautiful, large and tastefully decorated. We got a deluxe room that was only 30 meters or so from the sea and right next to the swimming pool. Due to the small size of the resort it has a very relaxing atmosphere and it's a great place to unwind for a couple of days.
Service is great, everyone is very friendly and willing to please. Front desk even managed to change our hotel bookings when our travel plans suddenly changed.

So, nothing to complain?
Well, yes there's always something that can be improved of course. There seems to be some difficulty in maintaining a constant temperature in the showers. The beach is not your typical tropical island fantasy beach; it's a quite narrow strip of sand. On the other hand, there's plenty of shade offered by the many trees along the beach, it's not as overcrowded as the beaches further north and it's fine for a swim (I saw some other people complain about the rocks in the sea but I usually don't walk in the sea, I swim; the bottom is sandy for the first few meters).

The spa and the massages are overpriced, they ask more than double than what is asked in neighbouring resorts. We got a 300bt massage next door and it was perfect (at Gajapuri it's 700bt).

The restaurant is okay but nothing to write home about. We used it mainly for lunch and went outside for dinner. There are heaps of eateries along the main road through Kai Bae so there's something for everyone.

All in all, probably the best choice on Koh Chang if you want a quiet place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront if that's important for you. However, deluxe rooms 209 and 210 are very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rutgerpieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    110
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
243
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice Room, very clean though hot water problem which was ok due to heat
Aircon a bit noisy
Booked everything through reception including scooter rental which was superb
Bed was nice though pool area was average and no real beach as sand was about 30 cm wide and very rocky at low tide.
Good place for chilling out.. Laundry only 200 metres from resort and great massage centre and Italian restaurant Ciao near by
Good base if you want to scooter around between White Sand Beach 15 minutes and Bang Bao fo fresh seafood as Seafood within walking distance are mostly frozen
Great place except for the bad attitude Russians that invade the area and give a bad vibe at times

Room Tip: All rooms are good but pricey compared to most resorts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankyschuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was a wonderful, small hotel. We stayed here for 8 nights. The location is great, there are many good restaurants around, but it is away from the main road, so there is no noise from bars or traffic.

The pool area and garden were nice places to relax. As the hotel is very small, there were always enough sunbeds for everyone. There is a small beach, where you can swim. The pool was great also. Not much sand, though, which didn't bother us. You can borrow a kayak to go see nearby small islands.

Breakfast was good with both Asian and Western options. Espresso was great. The beach bar was nice also, good drinks and good food, although the food was a bit pricy when compared to other restaurants in the area. Hotel staff were always really friendly and nice!

We stayed at the basic superior cottage, which was very spacious, especially the bathroom was huge! The room was nicely decorated and the cleanliness was excellent.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhans, General Manager at Gajapuri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Madam

Many thanks for your review. We have been very happy reading your comments.

Regarding our food prices we try hard to be in a shape with surrounding restaurants.
However, our rates are net and include 10% service charge and 7% VAT (tax) as that is common once a property is owned by a company and an accounting system is in place.
Familiy owned businesses and small enterprises have different tax systems and mostly pay a fraction compared with companies.
I hope this can explain why in general food prices are higher in Hotels and Resorts.

We wish you peaceful holidays and it would be with big pleasure welcoming you again at GajaPuri Rersort & Spa.

With best regards
Hansjoerg Jenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The only place to stay on the West coast. Exceptional in terms of design and ambience. Outstanding personnel. Very good cuisine. Even the simplest bungalow guarantees a perfect stay. Breakfast with a view. The place is not overcrowded even if fully booked. A MUST DO: take a massage – it is first class. Nok – that works in the SPA – is really engaged and offers all her skills to provide exquisite service.

Room Tip: SPA - Take a massage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukaszNowakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhans, General Manager at Gajapuri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Lukasz

It is a pleasure reading your review and it will keep us going to maintain our achievments.
Of course we will share your comments with our employees and especially with Nok.

We hope seeing you soon again at GajaPuri Resort & Spa and remain

With warm regards and best wishes for the coming holidays.
Hansjoerg Jenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Pro´s:
-The hotel location is very nice. Lots of restaurants, massage places, 7 eleven ect near by. We went to white sands one night and we were glad that we didn't stay here.
-Good pool and garden area to relax
- Good lunch and great staff by the pool/beach restaurant
Con´s:
- Cleanliness of our room could have been better.
- Internett very poor in the rooms!
- Staff in the reception a bit clueless when it came too tours on the island etc.

All in all the hotel was good but not great when compared too other hotels we have stayed in Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinagjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhans, General Manager at Gajapuri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam

We always very much appreciate to get reviews about our property. The good one's make us proud of course but we also look very much forward to get some feedbacks. They drive us to improve GajPuri Resort & Spa steadily.
Following different comments about clealiness we implemented cleaning zones for our maids. Knowing the date of your stay and the room number will help us to find out, which one of our employees needs help and training to improve effectivness. Should you like to share this information with me, kindly contact me at gm@gajapuri.com.
The internet was a very big problem lately. First we thought it is the internal system and renewed all the wireing and the access points. Instead it was a problem of TOT which is the main internet provider on the island. Finally we made a deal for a new business line which is now working since a few days.
Regarding our Front Office we regret very much that you missed a ceratin professionality of information about tours and activities on the island. We underestimate obviously that new staffs, coming from the mainland, need more profounded training to get familiar with local activities and sighseeing on offer.

It remains to thank you for your comments and it would be with pleasure, welcoming you again and having the opportunity to show you our improvements.

With best regards
Hansjoerg Jenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked one night at Gajapuri for our first night on Koh Chang and despite arriving on a late transfer from Trat airport were welcomed with cold drinks and chilled flannels at the small open-air reception. The hotel is set back from the main road in Kai Bae, so traffic and bar noise is minimal, and the rooms are all set on a raised walkway in lush tropical gardens. Breakfast was fresh and tasty - the only comment to make (as other reviewers have) is that the beach area is small - swimming in the sea from the hotel grounds is easy and lovely, but if you want a large stretch of sand for your deckchair, this isn't for you. Would happily have stayed here for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonknowlesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhans, General Manager at Gajapuri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Simon
Sunny greetings from Koh Chang
Many thanks for your review. We are very please to hear that you liked our resort.
We wish to have a more suitable beach but mother nature decided different.
However, during high tide one can enjoy swimming in a clear sea and during low tide we recommend to use our swimming pool. The water is maintained up to 90% with salt which is eco friendlier than chlorine.
We are looking forward welcoming you again and remain
With best regards
Hansjoerg Jenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Gajapuri is the ideal place to stay if you're on a long-term stay on Koh Chang... Everything is in place!!! Cleanliness, nice rooms, beautiful venue, super staff, anything you need :o)) The only small disadvantage is the beach, but there is a nice sun garden instead :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dimitri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.6 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#12 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.3 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
1.2 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gajapuri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gajapuri Resort & Spa

Property: Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Address: 19/19 Moo 4, Moo Baan Klongprao | Tumbol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gajapuri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GajaPuri Resort & Spa Koh Chang is a Boutique style Hotel at the beach of Kai Bae. Only a short 20 min drive from the ferry pier, the resort offers a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere in-midst tropical gardens. To the west you'll find the beach of the Gulf of Siam while to the east the rain forest with scenic mountain views surrounds your line of sight. GajaPuri and GajaLanai are laid out like cozy villages with unique wooden pathways leading you towards your private corner in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Gajapuri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gajapuri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing