We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden tranquility, quite paradise, beautiful rooms and fantastic staff. The perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden tranquility, quite paradise, beautiful rooms and fantastic staff. The perfect hotel”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed at the Gajapuri for a week during our stay on Koh Chang. Whilst very few people had heard of the island before, do not let this put you off...it is absolutely beautiful and there can not possibly be a more perfect place to stay to enjoy your time on the island than the idyllic Gajapuri hotel. Away from the bustle of White Sands, Kai Bae offers a charming little beach. The hotel exceeded all our expectations: the rooms are to a very high standard with each one in its own authentic Thai hut. The staff at the hotel could not have been more accommodating and made sure that we had the most fantastic stay there. The pool and beach areas were maintained to a very high standard, the food was superb and was excellent value for money. We also had massages on the beach which were thoroughly relaxing...60 minutes of pure bliss with the noise of the sea providing the most calming setting. We went for a quiet and relaxed week "away from it all" and this hotel matched and then exceeded all our expectations. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombaker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    119
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
67
254
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Had a wonderful 1 week stay at the Gajapuri in August 2011. It was a bit expensive for Koh Chang but well worth every penny. The rooms were all private (and we just had a normal room) and the wood throughout is great. The staff made us feel very welcome and we really appreciated the little touches (like having the towel folded to look like an elephant on the first day). The facilities were all modern but charming and dinner by the beach was really nice and romantic. The only thing to be aware of is that the beach is quite small and not really conducive to swimming but the pool is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We arrived late and were met by staff with cool washcloths and welcome drink. A staff member gave us a tour and showed us to our room. Rooms are spacious and clean with a/c and fan that keep room very cool. Bathrooms are huge with separate tub and large shower with great pressure (although hot water can be sporadic). The bed is comfy with duvet and nice linens. WIFI and breakfast are included. There is adequate storage, a desk, reasonably priced drinks and food in room, and a DVD player with large selection of DVDs at the front office.
Breakfast was good: strong coffee, homemade breads and jams, egg station (with soft poached eggs!!), fruit, etc. The staff are attentive. At night, they bring down the outside night blind, turn down your bed and leave a treat of homemade caramel toffee (delicious) wrapped in tissue. One morning we were reading by the pool and a staff member asked us what our room number was and then brought us the phone. They were calling to let us know that they were cleaning our room and we had left our safe open. We did two days of diving with BB Divers (which I highly recommend) but the other two we hung out at the pool and beach. The pool is very clean with a large whirlpool tub. There are plenty of loungers and hammocks to laze away the day.
I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

we stayed 2 weeks in Koh Chang, at Gajapuri Resort & Spa, the next time when on Koh Chang, we will definately stay there again! really professional Staff, very quiet location, very central located as well. Spacious rooms, eye for detail and Swiss perfection and solid built really nice.

Tamara

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Display boards

1. Where in th

We would like to thank everyone at Gaja Puri for a wonderful week stay in October 2011. It would take a very long time to describe just how fantastic this place is so I will outline the things that impressed us most.

1. The hotel facilities and grounds. The rooms are beautifully decorated with high quality finishings and all you would expect from an exclusive 5* hotel. The place is impeccably clean and surprisingly bug free. The bed is the most comfortable I have slept on. Ever! The grounds are tropical and superbly kept. The location is fantastic too, right on the beach and within a few steps to bars and restaurants. 

2. The staff. EVERY SINGLE member of the Gaja Puri team is professional, friendly and efficient. They will go to great lengths to meet your individual needs. For example a member of our group wanted breakfast after the allotted time due to him going to the gym in the mornings. The staff cooked his breakfast fresh when he came back, refusing the idea of him eating a cold plate of food collected from the breakfast. The ladies on reception speak fantastic English and are always available to answer questions, book restaurants And so on. They will gladly show you every room until you have picked your favourite (very hard to do as all so wonderful). It is extremely clear that they are proud to work at the resort and because of this they enjoy what they do and do it very well.

3.The food. You will not be disappointed with the breakfast here. The produce is fresh and presented well. There is an extensive range of twinnings Tea and fresh coffee. The selection of breakfast is not huge but everything that is placed out for you is high quality rather than quantity. You can also expects eggs cooked to perfection. We had poached eggs every morning and only one of them was slightly overcooked. The restaurant food is delicious too and the romantic beach dinner is a must.

To say I could go on is an understatement but I will stop there. I was reluctant to write this review as I want to make sure it doesn't get too popular as we always want this place to be available for us! However, after staying here and being treated like royalty for the week we wanted to repay the favour. Thank you Gaja Puri! 

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FfrancesRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our stay at the Gajapuri resort was about everything we could have wished for. The professional and friendly staff stood by on every occassion. The resort is clean, modern, cosy and has a beautiful swimming pool and beach. Breakfast and food at the restaurant was very good. The bungalow we stayed in was terrific, luxury and comfortable. Ofcourse it is not the cheapest option around but based on what we have seen on the island it's probably the best value for money.
Tip: ask for the dinner at beach arrangement at the front desk. Especially the fresh seafood menu is delightful. Great chance you'll eat it during an astonishing sunset.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

we went as a family and stayed in pool villa suite. It was so niceee. Everything seems like in the pictures. i like the style of this resort because it's all wooden.
the staffs were very nice too. It is next to the beach but too bad, we went when it was rainy season.

However, the pool in our suite was kinda not so good. Like the light in the pool seem to be broken. Our villa was very private but still can hear noise from outside as it is next to the resort pool.

Overall it was very lovely resort to go to.

Room Tip: Pool Villa suite that's next to the resort pool was quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earnie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
0.0 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
5.6 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
971 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#6 of 73 in Ko Chang
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.6 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
1.0 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gajapuri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gajapuri Resort & Spa

Property: Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Address: 19/19 Moo 4, Moo Baan Klongprao | Tumbol Koh Chang, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gajapuri Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GajaPuri Resort & Spa Koh Chang is a Boutique style Hotel at the beach of Kai Bae. Only a short 20 min drive from the ferry pier, the resort offers a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere in-midst tropical gardens. To the west you'll find the beach of the Gulf of Siam while to the east the rain forest with scenic mountain views surrounds your line of sight. GajaPuri and GajaLanai are laid out like cozy villages with unique wooden pathways leading you towards your private corner in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gajapuri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gajapuri Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing