We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cliff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cliff Cottage
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

As backpackers my boyfriend and I were planning to stay here three nights but decided to move after two nights. The location was not the best (although if you are looking to simply relax then this place is ideal as it is very secluded).
We arrived in the middle of the night and had to walk through a section of the jungle to get to the resort which was a bit daunting after a long journey from Bangkok. The staff were not very friendly and the rooms were as basic as they could be with only a bed, fan and mosquito net in. The net had holes in and with holes in the walls and floor of the huts as well I would not advise staying here if you are prone to mosquito bites! There are only two showers for everyone to share which were not very clean but the bar/eating/sunbathing area was very nice and clean and perfect for relaxing. The views were also stunning and even though we would have preferred a better hut we could not really complain about the cost however a big concern is the security if the huts as they are not very secure and easy to break into. The food was more expensive than the village but it was very good and they also have mopeds to rent which is handy to get to/from the town. If you are looking for a basic, cheap stay in a secluded area for a few days then this could be a good place for you to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    67
    28
    19
    7
See reviews for
18
99
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Since the hotel was double booked and we actually never stayed there, I have no idea how the rooms are. We had to stay next door (Cliff view) which is NOT a place I can recommend (no restaurant area and by far the hardest things I have ever slept on - yes, "things", not "beds"). However the owner is a nice guy and they had fixed a place for us to stay even before arrival, so nothing to complain about there. The lounge area is just great with awesome views and the girls at the bar are really nice. We had most of our meals there and everything we tried was good.

We joined the diving trip from the hotel, just for snorkeling, and that also became a little uncomfortable I'm afraid. The trip is very nice on paper but both of us got seasick, which has never happed to any of us before and we have partly grown up by the ocean and on boats. Also during the lunch stop we had to watch the boat leave the island without us even though we were told that they would collect everyone. Another excursion boat contacted them and we were picked up, but back onboard no one seemed to have noticed that they had forgotten us.

Unfortunately a weird and disappointing experience, so it's a bit tricky to say if I would recommend the hotel and the trip or not.
However, I believe that the reason for this somewhat bad review was a bit of pure bad luck, and I don't agree with for example the famous old "dog-review" ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I came to Bongbao in Koh Chang Island because I was interested in diving. Scuba Dawgs seemed to be the best choice and they own Cliff Cottage so I booked a room with climate unit. Good choice, excellent really.
It is a quiet hangout away from the more crowded places of the island. There's a good crowd from all over the world hangin out there.
The food is good, the drinks inexpensive.
Shaun, the manager, is really taking good care of his customers and the staff is lovely.

Diving with Scuba Dawgs is fantastic but that is worth another entry here!

I really enjoy this place.

Georges Majerus

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxplayer0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place to be for a couple of days, this is the place to come to especially if you are on a low budget. It is a bit far off from the busy areas but it is worth staying there if all you want to do is chill and enjoy the days in the sun or in a hammock.
It has a decent restaurant/bar with good breakfast, lunch and dinner at very affordable price (80 baht-250 baht) as well as free Wifi. It is comfortable even if its just to laze around for the whole day and read a book.
The room is quite basic but clean enough to stay in. However, it is not recommended to stay in the basic hut if you do not stand the summer heat as it has only a fan and a tiny window. In addition it is inconvenient to go down all the time to use the bathroom and the shower (especially at night) since there is no bathroom in the huts. so it is better to upgrade to the room with Air condition and a bathroom which is also still in an affordable price range.
Concerning the staff, they are really friendly and helpful and make you feel welcomed at the place. it is definitely a place to be for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: In summer (March and April) , it is best to pick the room with Air condition. Its just too hot to sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty0211989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

As a writer in need of an escape from Chiang Mai's bad air, I've just returned from one month at Cliff Cottage, Ko Chang. It's at the quiet end of the island and caters to backpackers, divers & independent travelers. Inspiring, comfortable, affordable; three basic qualities. Shaun, the inn-keeper-proprietor is a kind and caring man. He made certain I had what I needed for a 30 night stay, and his staff is simply superb! I met travelers from throughout the world and many are now friends. Gently swinging in a hammock, overlooking one of nature's finest views from the open cafe-meeting-space, one realizes that few places on earth offer so much for so little. I'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-view, en suite & air-con are worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleasant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and if you enjoy finding the real Thailand then you will find it here ! But be warned this isn't the place if you want to party or be loud But if you're looking for something that's relaxing , quite , good value for money and a place where you can leave you iPad lying around and no will touch it then you have found that Paradise ! Also ask Shaun about his new Diving business and the Islands best snorkelling tour , Good guides and not big noisy crowds ! I hope Cliff Cottages never changes ,,,,,,PS Don't tell anybody I want this all to myself !

Room Tip: Bungalows above the bay have a really nice breeze all year round
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Cliff Cottage for 5 nights and all I can say, it was definitely worth it!

Be careful though, if you are not a backpacker traveling on budget and your accommodation priorities are to have air-conditioned room or beach within a walking distance, then the place is not for you. Don't worry, the are tons of other places on Koh Chang that will suit your needs.

Otherwise, if you want the cheapest, most relaxed and quiet place on the island, this where you want to spend your time. I myself have never before had the opportunity to live in a real cottage. By real cottage I mean a REAL hut made from planks of wood, straw rooftop, bed, mosquito net (you will thank the maker for it and in case there is none, make sure to get one or you will be eaten alive no matter what repellent you use) and couple of nails in the walls to hang your clothes on, nothing else.

So the huts are quite an experience, if you haven't tried them, make sure you do and if you are an open-minded and humble person, not a "yo I need my comfort zone" nerd, than you will love it!

The real jewel of this place, for me at least, was the bar+restaurant+terrace area. Hammocks, cozy chairs and sofas, wi-fi, plenty of books to read if you are not a smartphone/laptop geek (unfortunately most back-papers were glued to their devices the whole time instead of reading a book or just playing cards which would make the whole experience so much more special....call me old-fashioned), decent, all-around menu (banana pancakes are amazing) and drinks though a bit pricy for general Koh Chang price index, helpful and enthusiastic staff that will be glad to arrange your transfer from the island or book and elephant-trekking trip and a great-guy owner, who gave us plenty of useful information and directions.

Every evening we used to come down to this bar and just hang out, watch the sunset, play cards, read a book and ponder about the meaning of life...You won't find a better place to relax, be it a five star top-notch resort on White Sands beach or whatever, the laid-back atmosphere of this place is just amazing.

I really wanna give you a good heads-up about this place so here is a couple of things I/we found a little bit frustrating but not in the sense that would make you reconsider staying there. Just to know what to expect. Since this place is at the southern-most area of the island, there is not much going on except for a few other resorts a bit down south, a ''fishing village'' which is rather a souvenir market for foreigners by now and a nice tiny strip of beach further down the main road south if you want to watch some crabs going about their daily business. That being said, the nearest public beach the Lonely Beach with all its ammonites and facilities (restaurants, bars, tattoo parlors, etc.) is at least 3km up north. So unless you are a walking maniac, you definitely want to rent a scooter since songtaews or whatever the taxis on the island are called are pricy and rare to find at Cliff Cottage. So scooters were the first issue because the resort had all of its scooters booked out (not sure how many they have but I always saw just few of them parked around). Being main tourist season, it took us about two hours to find a place to rent scooters as everything was booked out. I guess this was the only ''major issue'' of our stay...barely an issue...right?

Except for that, if you have no problem with taking shower in cold water, taking a little walk to use public toilet/shower, having termites eat away from your cottage and remoteness of the whole place, you will love this place, you will miss it, and will definitely want to come back.

One thing I forgot, the sunset. There is a cliff just behind the bar where you can watch on of the coolest sunsets ever so once you are there make sure to check it out. The sunrise is just on the opposite side, equally stunning to watch from an ancient wooden peer, hopefully its still there :)

Room Tip: All huts are double, 5 USD per person per night. There are though a few higher quality huts with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.4 mi away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#3 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.3 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#5 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pajamas Koh Chang
Pajamas Koh Chang
#1 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Paradise Cottage
Paradise Cottage
#12 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elephant Bay Resort
Elephant Bay Resort
#4 of 111 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
#29 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Cottage

Property: Cliff Cottage
Address: 108 Moo 1 | Bang Bao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cliff Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The way Thailand used to be. Serenity, tranquility and peace. Cliff Cottage is a secluded and quiet resort. No noisy bars or discos. The wooden bar and restaurant is built over the sea in a private cove. There are very few places so picturesque. It's a great place to relax. The bar area and the cliff top tents offer a great place to relax and watch the sunset. Close to the village and the Bang Bao pier. Perfectly located for people seeking to travel to the other islands, take boat trips. Try snorkeling and diving with our sister company ScubaDawgs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Cottage Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing