We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Palms Resort
Ranked #4 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banff, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“The place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

After being dissatisfied with another resort, we landed at Paradise Palms. Even though the other resort was larger, Paradise Palms seemed to offer us more in the way of scenery (our bungalow opened right up onto the sea), hospitality and comfort. Tara and Matt were an incredible help giving us suggestions of things to do, booking our activities and offering to give us lifts to places we needed to go. My teenage kids would agree that the resort had a "homey" feel. The bungalow was spacious and clean and a pleasant place to come home to after a trek in the jungle. The restaurant Safron on the Sea (best place to eat on the island) was only minutes away and we quickly became regulars. If I return to Koh Chang, I would most definitely book into Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    21
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
174
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Booked this place on a recommendation from a friend.

We has bungalow number one, facing directly out to the sea. Gorgeous view. Shame the weather when we visited (low season!) wasn't so kind to us.

Matt is great. Lovely guy from the Uk. Runs the resort with his thai family. We were the only ones there as it was low season. Koh Chang itself was quite empty but we enjoyed the peace and quiet. He came and collected us from the ferry and also dropped us back up for a small few which spared us the hassle of getting a taxi. He also helped sort out a taxi from the airport, which was appreciated!

Rooms were clean and tidy, with a new fridge which was a great size to take our beers and water, new curtains had just been put up, tv with satellite. And wifi was coming this coming week, so will be perfect for future guests.

Saffron in the sea restaurant next door was an added bonus for eating out every night with ease as it was minutes to walk there and the food was amazing!

We enjoyed our stay. I can only imagine in high season when the sun comes out, the beach bar is open and more guests are around it must be a lovely place to chat, drink and enjoy the view.



  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Galeo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

A lost resort....for those who are unable to find something better.
Few bungalows..but it's not a problem. Bungalows are cleaned every 3 days when most of the competition is able to do it daily. Services are ultra basic : no Wireless, no breakfast, no soap in the bathroom, no restaurant and just an archaic "fitness" center ... Just "enjoy" a beer in front of the sea then search for a restaurant (fortunately there is a Thai's mama at 100m and cooking well). I am surprised when some tourists are so enthusiast in their comment and when closed by, some others resorts are definitely providing a better quality for a cheaper price...In promotion you get what you pay...in satisfaction what you are charged for!
It seems that nor me nor my Swedish friends were very satisfied. Definitely a second choice and for a short period of time searching quickly for something else...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guyr267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Paradise Palms Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Just quickly before we make our yearly apperence on tripadvisor to response ! A big thanks to all the lovley cool guests that stayed over the last seasons ,thanks for your support !
Ok now for our side of the story as resort owner ,firstly we have no idear who wrote this ,which is strange ,cos we remmember all ,as our guests know us quite personally as ther are only 3 of us ,me my wife and our daughter .small family run bussiness open for 12 years on koh chang .So that part make us think !!
We have only 3 bungalows and a 2 bedroom family bungalow ,the same as we started in 2000 ,all with seaviews ,aircon ,cable tv ,king beds ,western bathroom ,hot water ,beach bar,chill out deck and still west coast sunset !
So who ever books or signs up for it ,know everything ,before starting there stay with us ,normally with many emails and questions back and forth ,before booking !!
No false websites ,or pictures , we never had a resturant ,and dont advertise the fact ,we have 3 resturants directly outside the property ,30 sec walk to all ,one being tripadvisors No 1 resturant ( safron on the sea ) on koh chang .Why do we need it .Our guests are mad for the food there ! Good for us !
We do have fresh coffee and breakfast on request at the beach bar everyday ( high season ) ,try the famous fruit salad ,there are pictures if you browse ! So that part is wrong !
We thunk again !!!!
The cleaning is every 3 days ,as we are eco friendly resort ,stopping our carbon foot print on koh chang ( world ) ie ,electric .water ,watse ,detergents ,do people change there sheets everyday when living in there homes ??
No soap in the bathroom ,that one did make us laugh ,but we do supply contance rolls of toilet paper when the bad belly starts ,and extra beach towels ,beach mats ,etc
We do laundry ,which my wife does personaly ,left clean on your bed next day !
So if your looking for a buffet breakfast style with the hoards ,hotel-motel rooms and no personal service ,maybe paradise palms may not fit your travel criteria !
However if you are lokking for down-to-earth personal service ,wealth of information in a language you understand ,clean sunset view bungalows ,an almost private beach ,a honesty beach bar with cold beer ,then that maybe what your looking for, in a hoilday on the island
But on professional note ,we are getting the wifi put on ,as i cant stand lisening to my daughter ,for her ipad ,and of corse the guest comments ( proberley last man ( resort ) standing on that one on the island ! )
Also forget !!!!!
We also provide lifts in the truck to the stores when raining ,help you with your kids ie baby sit so you can have a night off ,help you with your problems that accure on the island ,translate ,check airline tickets ,give snorkel equipment when on the beach '' FOR FREE "
Arrange all your tour activites on the island ,trips ,bus rides ,taxis ,car ,bike rentals ,diving ,bbq on the beach ,wedding cemonys ,birthday partys at the beach bar the list goes on ,by me my wife or our 12 year old daughter ( family run )
We welcome you with open arms !
We maintain our idears even if the travel industry trys to mould us with the internet !
THE SUN IS SHINNING ,THE SEA IS WARM ,AND THE COCONUT TREES ARE LUSH !
KEEP SMILING
PARADISE PALMS FAMILY !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Had a very relaxing time here.
The hosts were friendly and helpful and happy to help where ever possible.
Bungalows very clean and well equiped

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed 6 nights at paradise palms resort in may ,we had been around south east Asia for 2 months of backpacking in cheap hotels on a budget ! The bungalows were perfect ,big clean rooms,with the Best bathrooms and toillet we had on the whole trip ,and a view of the ocean with wild seas ,as it was the rain season . The hosts Matt,and Tara were so kind to us ,giving us a Few lifts around in there truck ,as it was very wet while we were on the island .All in all great place to relax before going Home ,and good value .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisherdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I spent 5 nights there and it was really beautiful. The host of the resort is a really nice English guy who was friendly and helpful. The three double bungalows are really lovely and also have a quite good price. I can definitely recommend to go to this resort, if you want to stay away from to crowded and noisy tourist spots on the Island.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is my first time in Thailand (and Asia), and I wanted to ease in with something relaxing. I couldn't have asked for a better start than staying with Matt & Tara at Paradise Palms Resort in Koh Chang! A little bit of jungle, a little bit (a lot) of sun & sea, and fantastic and chill stay.

There are 4 bungalows right on the sea, and this is the farthest from an impersonal resort that you can imagine. Matt helped navigate my way from the airport to Koh Chang. A minibus directly from the airport provided door to door service. He even gave me a ride to the waterfall when he was running some errands. Tara helped me out with some much needed laundry, arranged my ride back to the airport and they both saw me off.

Thanks again Matt & Tara, and I hope to visit again when I'm back in this neck of the woods!

Room Tip: The front bungalow is the closest to the sea, but all are about 20 feet from a seating area where yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.1 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 72 in Ko Chang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
1.2 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
1.6 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
1.9 mi away
The Erawan Koh Chang
The Erawan Koh Chang
#2 of 107 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Palms Resort

Property: Paradise Palms Resort
Address: 13 / 12 Moo 4, Haad Sai Kaew Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Palms Resort is in Hadd Kai Mook (Pearl Beach), West Coast ( sunset side ) Koh Changs national marine park. We are a small family-run business with only 3 large luxury seaview bungalows,and a 2 bedroom family bungalow. All bungalows have air con, cable TV (60 channels in English), large fridge, fan, king beds , western bathroom, hot waterlarge balconey . We also provide motor bike & car rental for your use arrange all your trips ,diving ,fishing ,elephant ,jungle trexs . The resort has a tiki beach bar, man-made sandy beach, chill out deck, sun chairs ,snorkel equpiment . All bungalows have sea view, with great snorkeling off the beach. Paradise Palms is a very quiet location, great if you're looking to chill and relax.PLEASE BE AWARE WE DO NOT DEAL WIH ANY BOOKING AGENTS ,AS SOME ADVITISE WE DO SO .YOU HAVE TO BOOK DIRECTLY ON OUR WEBSITE AT paradisepalmsresort .LOOKING FORWARD TO HEARING FROM YOU THANKS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Palms Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing