We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb”
Review of Baan Rim Nam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Rim Nam
Ranked #7 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
heywood
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

this was a fantastic place to relax by the river, in an unspoiled area of koh chang, we could only get the one night which is a real shame.
Ian who is a fantastic guy, with a wealth of knowledge of the area, is on hand for any information you need .
right beside the river and just a short stroll to the lovely beach , it is the perfect place to relax, free use of the kayaks , you can take a relaxing trip up river.not to far upriver you can see the elephants with the tourists taking a dip after a trek in the forest, around 11 each morning, great fun to watch from the kayak. be careful not to go to far at high tide as you may get stuck coming back if the tide goes out .
although they do not serve food here just across the river are plenty of places to get some great food, Ian will phone your chosen restaurant and they will come and collect you by boat and return you after you have had your meal.
the rooms for me were brilliant, hangers for your clothes and adequate shelves .
the bathroom is well set out with plenty of room. the beds are very comfortable , the only down side is the walls are so thin any noise can easily be heard,they do provide earplugs in the room should you find the noise from adjoining rooms to much.
this place makes you feel so relaxed it is fantastic.
should you want a drink beer or soft drink you just help yourself and leave the empty bottles outside your room so they know who has had what, so nice too see the TRUST element here and HOPEFULLY NEVER abused,

Room Tip: they are all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks 'Thefitter'

In almost 9 years since we opened we've never had anyone abuse the beer fridge and stash their empties under the bed or in front of someone else's room. Trusting people seems to work. Same as we don't require any upfront payment when people book direct. I trust people to show up if they say they will.

I know what you mean about the thin walls. If I was constructing the house from scratch then it would have better soundproofing - but not a lot you can do with an old wooden building.

If we ever get round to 'Baan Rim Nam Version 2.0' then then creaky old floorboards and better soundproofing will be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
110
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Trip Date 03-8 Jan 2014

This is my first trip to Koh Chang thought i have been planning the trip long, and place was all as I thought it would be did not disappoint me

Baan Rim Nam:

Property: A fisherman's House so to say but almost but nothing less compared to a hotel
The property is bed and Breakfast rather i would say Guest house and so don't expect room service its more like self service. you pay for room only, though basic breakfast like coffee, Toast, cereal are available but u need to pay and inform in advance. Though we needed Heavy breakfast. There is a small kitchen and you can cook up a small snack if u want but that beats the idea of being on a holiday. There are 2 dogs but very calm and friendly mostly will mind their own business.

Scenic: its just a beautiful and breath taking view from deck or your room based on which room you take. It based on an inlet channel and the view keeps changing with each tide flow (not that big change).
Rooms: They are Specious and clean. (Yes AirCon.. is there)

Unique: I guess one of its Kind, there are other properties there but not the same feel.
No mini bars in room. But a larger one just a few feet from your room.
It just feels you are in your own house.

Free: Kayak's to paddle up or down the inlet beautiful feeling and good exercise to loose extra holiday weight.

Friendly: Ian Your Man: a warm greeting on arrival, will show you the place and will suggest all you can do places to go etc.. will even give you a map. Everything well organised. It just makes you feel home.

Location: a bit of the road and the first time you feel my God!!, where is this Taxi guy taking me
but close to the beach and Restaurants closely located.

Booking: only 5 rooms if i am not wrong so best bet is to book in advance.

Recommendation: Hire a bike and Ian can arrange makes life all that easy to go around as the nearest store would seam far if you have to walk it out but riding makes everything easy.

Will i go back : cant wait when......... just miss it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAD-2979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks 'MAD-2979' Next time yo need a break from city life and some peace, quiet and greenery . . , you know where we are. See you both on the island again.

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Baan Rim Nam is unique. Set on stilts at the edge of the mangroves and over a swimable tidal river, with spacious rooms, two big lovely decks,one sunny, one shady,a restaurant on the opposite bank who come in their boat to ferry you to supper, you don't really need to move for days. But if you do, it's a 3 minute saunter down to the white sand beach and blue-green sea. And a laid back, quiet music bar for lounging and cold coconuts. Or you can kayak up river - or out to sea if adventurous. Ian and Mam are terrific hosts, helpful but unobtrusive. I found this place by accident on the internet and could only find space for 4 days. Wish it had been longer. Don't really want more people to discover it! Thank you Baan Rim Nam and all who sail in her.

Room Tip: The only drawback with traditional buildings is thin walls. Our neighbours kept similar hours to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi Christina

Thanks for your review. Let's hope no-one reads it and discovers our place for themselves. ;-)

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was our 3rd time in Koh Chang and 2nd time staying at Baan Rim Nam with Ian and Mam. This is truely a gem of a place. It's location is perfect, away from the crowds and busy roads. The rooms are nice and clean. There are nice covered and uncovered patios where you can lounge watching fisherman coming in and out of the inlet on their longtail boats. A short walk (or kayak) you will find some restaurants, small bars and beautiful beaches. I would strongly recommend Baan Bim Ram to anyone. Ian and Mam are very helpful and will point out things to see and do. We will be back hopefully next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nparisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi guys. Thanks for being one of our ever increasing number of return visitors and for taking the time to review our guesthouse. Hope to see you on the island again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at Baan Rim Nam for 4 days in June this year and would have really liked to have stayed longer, so when we booked our flights for November 2013 we didn't hesitate to book 8 nights at Ian and Mam's place ...... we really wish it could have been longer as this is such a lovely place in a peaceful location, with fantastic owners and kept very well maintained.

Pui keeps the rooms spotless, on our last day we were being picked up by mini bus at 6.15am and Pui made the effort to get up at 5.30am to make breakfast for us, you wouldn't get that in one of the 4* resorts.

Since our last visit the owners have built a fantastic outdoor teak decking area with a canopy with wooden reclining seats looking out on to the river. We found that we couldn't drag ourselves off those seats to go to the beach, as they were so comfortable.

The beach is very close to the accommodation, just a couple of minutes away, or you can take one of the kayaks and paddle down to the sea, the river is incredibly clean too.

There's a fantastic selection of restaurants in the town, all serving really good food. The seafood restaurant on the opposite side of the river (Phu Talay) serves fantastic food and they are happy to send a boat over to pick you up and return you to Baan Rim Nam at the end of your meal. On our last evening, Mam arranged with the Phu Talay boatman to take us for a trip down the river to see the fireflies. This was incredible as we'd never seen fireflies before and was something to remember.

Ian and Mam are superb hosts, they are friendly, thoughtful and very knowledgeable about the area. I wouldn't hesitate in returning to Baan Rim Nam, it really is a fantastic place.

Thanks again for a superb stay Ian & Mam and pass on my thanks to Pui.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juxined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you 'Juxined' it was good to have you back for your second stay of the year.

I'll pass your kind words onto Pui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Not long back from Thailand and had a wonderful 4-night stay at Baan Rim Nam. The place is so comfy and chilled and the sundeck and covered terrace is a wonderful place to lose a few hours. The location is also great being away from crowds and noise, but only a few minutes walk to the beach with bars and places to eat. The reggae bar on the beach does amazing Mojitos and Phu Talay seafood across the river is wonderful. Pui keeps the place spotless as well. Ian and Mam have got a really unique thing going with Baan Rim Nam and I'd love to go back for longer next time. I also rented a scooter from them which was very reasonably priced, and in good nick (unlike other rental places). Their dogs, Brownie and Santa are lovely, gentle souls too. Hope to come back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falkirk_Spam_Fritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thanks 'Falkirk_Spam_Fritter - Pity I can't rate your username ;-)

Thanks for including a stay at our guesthouse on your travels. Hope you enjoyed the rest of the trip just as much and make it back to this warmer side of the world soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a very relaxing 4 nights at Ian and Mam's guesthouse. The accommodation is right on the water and immaculately kept. Kayaks are free to use whenever you want and it's only a 5 min kayak to the sea. Ian Mam and Poi are all very friendly and helpful and give good recommendations on places to eat. The local town is a 15 min walk away and quite small but has everything you need. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for the review, Kelsey. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels before heading back to sunny England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
1.7 mi away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.2 mi away
Santhiya Tree Koh Chang Resort
0.5 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
0.7 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
1.0 mi away
Koh Chang Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rim Nam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rim Nam

Property: Baan Rim Nam
Address: 29 / 3 Moo 4 | Klong Prao, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Baan Rim Nam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Rim Nam Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing