We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Rim Nam
Nearby Hotels
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
$65
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Grande Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)
$87
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
175
22
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
22
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiger hutguest houseon stiltsshort paddleshort walklaid backthe main roaddeck areafree kayaksriverside settingcanoe ridehonesty fridgehis partnerprivate transferrooms are basiccost bahtenjoy your stay
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 203 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a lovely 4 night stay here. It's a fairly unique riverside spot with a lovely sun deck and shaded veranda to relax and watch the world go by. Rooms are fairly basic but well priced. Ian and Mam are welcoming, helpful and knowledgable hosts. Helping us to organise transport to and from the island and suggesting lots of places to eat and things to do. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTomWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thanks Tom, hope you make it to Koh Chang again on your travels. Good to hear you enjoyed your time at Baan Rim Nam and on the island in general.

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Where to start? All the words have already been taken by other guests, as this place really is excellent and great! :)

If you'd like to just get away from your busy/stressful everyday life - this is the place to come. It's so peaceful and nice - just sit out on the deck or take a kayak and paddle down the river and you really feel that you're relaxing. When we arrived in the evening it was so quiet that I started to think if anyone's even there..:))

Ian was very nice and helpful setting us up and giving nice tips what to do / where to eat etc. (although I had already looked up his site a dozens of time to get a better overiew of the island) - a big thanks to you!

Room was very nice & clean and I liked the bed - it was very comfortable! Sleep quality was perfect in my opinion - the fact that we were mostly the last ones to get up in the mornings (after series of my phone alarms) should confirm that there's nothing disturbing nearby!

The beach was only a quick few minutes walk away and it was amazing!

Unfortunate that we were only able to stay for 4 nights (after that all the rooms were booked) - but it was still a great experience! Will definetely come back if I visit Koh Chang again (hopefully soon).

Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks Siim. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation as much as you did your stay with us at Baan Rim Nam.

Nice beach photo too. The beach, 2 mins walk away through the coconut field, is always at its best in March - with very low tide during the daytime and never many people. Although the water can be a bit too warm for some people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just visited this lovely peaceful place again .We visited last year but had to come back because it iso peaceful .Well known around the world now.In the time we were there there was a lady from Russia,a man from Canada,two ladies from Finland ,a family from China,a couple from Australia and people from England .
A lovely converted fisherman s house that Ian and Mam have so sympathetically converted to a guest house.and kept beautifully clean by their maid Pui.
Peace just peace what more do you require ?
Thankyou Ian and Mam.We will return hopefully to meet up again with new found friends made at Baan Rim Nam.xxxx

Room Tip: The only reason we have put sleep quality at just very good is because the beds are quite firm which is normal for Thailand and we prefer something a little softer. We have also put the pool as very good because the sea is the pool for the guest house just s few minutes walk away through the coconut grove
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5,151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hi '5151'. It does feel like the United Nations here sometimes. The only difference being that somehow people always manage to get on well together and make new friends. Thanks for returning to stay with us again and hope to see you in the coming years .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked here at the last minute on impulse having spent a couple of days here in November 2012. We were not disappointed. We will return here every time we go to Koh Chang and have recommended it to all our family and friends too. Ian accomodated us at the last minute and even though we had to change rooms it was perfect. Ian also arranged our transport from and to Bangkok and a cookery class for us. He also advised us about where to stay in other parts of the island. It felt like going home when we arrived and next time we will spend all our time on the island here. Don't change a thing- you cannot improve on perfection!!

Room Tip: All rooms different and excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annoee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Hi annoee59 - thanks for your review of our guesthouse and also for other reviews of places on Koh Chang. We now have quite a few guests who also stay at The Souk and Saffron on the Sea. Proof that although Koh Chang is getting busier it's still possible to find small bungalow resorts or guesthouses and avoid the package tourists.

Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ians guest house for seven days on our honeymoon. I have to say any of the amazing pictures you see on this site do not do this place justice. Words cant describe the calmness of this place, it is one of the most peacfull and relaxing places I have stayed at in Thailand. We arrived later in the evening one day early, Ian greeted us and was able to check us in . He gave us the larger room at a discounted rate which was perfect, but any of the five rooms would have been fine, they are all amazing. Baan Rim Nam is in a superb location. 2 minute walk to the beach, 5 minute walk to the main road and secconds away from peace, quite, beutiful scenery and nature. Ian has kayaks and a canoe for guests to use FOR FREE. His 24 hour bar is cheap and affordable and saves you a walk late at night. Breakfast is perfect and simple not to mention the cofee is amazing. Ian is very polite and quite knowledgeable about the Island. He and his wife were great hosts, we look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian_on_Koh_Chang, Owner at Baan Rim Nam, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks Aaron. Good to meet you guys and thanks for heading all the way over here for your honeymoon. But bear in mind you're going to have to top our place for your 1st Anniversary, not going to be easy ;-)

ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews