We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Siam Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siam Bay Resort
Ranked #68 of 107 Ko Chang B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I´m writing this review with mixed emotions. On one side we had a really nice time on the resort, but on the other side I honestly think the location has so much more potential. The hotel has a really nice beach that is somewhat isolated from the other resorts, so it is not that crowded. For food and drinks I would recomend following the beach until you get to Porns treehouse (5 min walk). During the day you can rent a scooter and explore the island on your own.

Room Tip: Would recomend the beach houses without the small pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathias S. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
29
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed in a beach-front bungalow, 5 meters to the sea. Great to sit and watch the sights, and the stars at night. Nice beach and sea.
The room was spartan, and not very clean. The shower was pretty useless, but plenty of towels. Great lack of sunbeds on the beach and by the bungalows, -hardly anywhere to sit down.
The restaurant was good with reasonable prices, but it closes really early. The location is not very convenient with regards to bars, shops or restaurants, and you need to get a taxi, which can be expensive late at night. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Make sure the shower works
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed in the beach front bungalows. The standard was quite good, clean and fresh. The main downpoint of the bungalow was the bathroom and toilet, neither we're particularly clean. Infant on our arrival the room had been cleaned so well that there was something left behind in the toilet !! The bathroom, sink and shower is an outside one, linked to your room but no roof. It was ok but not particularly tempting.

On the plus side the location is fantastic, you are on a beautiful beach, which was perfect for young children. It was also relatively cheap.

On the downside, the rest of the resort is very run down and best avoided. The decking around the pool was an accident waiting to happen, uneven and some exposed nails. The restaurant was awful, the only bad pad Thai we had during one month in Thailand. We ate there only once.

Breakfast was poor as well, (included in the price) the hot food was cold and not very tempting. It had fruit, yogurt, musli , pancakes though so you could make do.

Location isn't brilliant, bit out of the way, it's a 15 min walk along the beach to the nearest town.

It's a shame, a great location but the owners have given up on the place, it will just get worse with time, best avoided really, there are many better places.

And by the way they don't take credit cards, despite their claims to do so.... Machine didn't work !!! (and has never worked ;-))

Room Tip: Beach bungalows only, all others terribly run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CymroStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Chang hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here in Pha Pha Buri family bungalows and couples bungalow and Seaview Bungalow. The latter was much more expensive (2000 baht a night) but really nice, the other two were reasonable value but a bit run down and not that well sealed from insects and geckos. Beds can be rock solid, might have to request a soft one before taking a room. Doesn't have the resort quality pools, service and food of nearby resorts, but much cheaper option and a really nice beach spot for swimming, kayaking out to little island nearby or around to lonely beach. Staff were okay, non-English speaking Cambodian workers were friendly but not easy to communicate with, management helped us out a fair bit. Hard to get to and from, but they can call taxis to come and get you. Buffet breakfast was pretty decent; walk around the beach to Porn's for quality lunch and dinner in awesome treehouse style set-up. Kids had a blast in the pool. New years eve dinner and entertainment were awful, but also good for a laugh and story. Kids had a blast.

Room Tip: Bungalows are good value when you consider pools, buffet breakfast and wifi internet, expensive opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Hawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the weekend. We had two wonderful bungalows on the hillside, less then 100 mtrs to the beach. The resort was extremely family friendly. We had a package that included 6 meals, boat trip to 4 islands. The snorkeling was incredible fun, and we will come back for more of that.
The breakfast was pretty standard fare, but the evening meal was absolutely incredible. It seemed as if the food would not stop coming.
The location was amazing. A quick 5 minute drive into Kho Chang village and all the beer bars and shopping what-nots, and perhaps a 10 minute drive to the pier on the SW side of the island. Very true. You don't want to be walking on the road at anytime.The resort is perhaps 25km from the North pier, that you catch a ferry to the mainland.
Great time. will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mstribling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We booked here for Xmas because we had heard that the island was filling up. They market themselves as being on lonely beach which is where we wanted to be. The reality is that it is a very dangerous 20 min walk or reasonably expensive taxi (50-70 baht per person each way depending on the time of night.) we stayed in a family bungalow which was nice and quiet and had a good balcony. However we had ants all over our beds and on the walls before we took to the place with repellent. One of the double beds downstairs was literally the hardest bed I have ever experienced. We suspect it was in fact a bed base. Their private beach is quite nice at low tide and very family orientated. 2/5 of us got suck whilst here but cannot say whether it was due to the resort at all. The buffet breakfast was not great although the restaurant is reasonably nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This promised much - a good price, refurbished bungalows, a quiet location and a competitive price. Alas, it delivered so little.
Our arrival was early evening, and we felt awkward as the reception staff dealt with us in a fairly dismissal tone. We were shown to the "newly refurbished" bungalows. (Viman Buri Bay View Bungalows)
Pros
The main room was a good size, and had a television and surfaces to put things on, as well as a wardrobe. The view was quite good due to its high position on the hill.
Cons
The climb to the bungalow was up steep and quite slippery steps, and our bungalow seemed to be on a thoroughfare for the other nearby ones, and often someone would walk past.
The room was not as clean as I would have expected, with surfaces dusty. The bathroom was fair.
Even though the fridge/minibar had been promised back in February 2010, there was no sign of this. Probably worst of all was the bed; it was like sleeping on a large dining table. Very small bugs were crawling on the bedding when we awoke the following morning.
The restaurant had a good central location, and although the vegetarian options were not always listed on the menu, they were able to provide them on request.
However, the staff all disappeared at 9pm. This meant that there was no option to buy another beer, or to order anything else. The dirty plates were left out overnight to attract insects, and one guest, locked out of his room, was unable to find anyone to help him and was last seen walking the half an hour along a dark and very dangerous road.
A walk along the beach the following revealed a number of other resorts, many of which had internet. Sadly there was no internet access at Siam Bay resort.
After a disappointing stay, and a very uncomfortable sleep (that bed!) we called a songtheaw and left.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BathroomGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
2.2 mi away
Koh Chang Cliff Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Siam Beach Resort
Siam Beach Resort
#82 of 115 in Ko Chang
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Noren Resort
Noren Resort
#16 of 107 in Ko Chang
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
K.B. Resort
K.B. Resort
#6 of 115 in Ko Chang
264 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nature Beach Resort Koh Chang
2.0 mi away
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
Ramayana Koh Chang Resort
#12 of 73 in Ko Chang
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Bay Resort

Property: Siam Bay Resort
Address: 100 Moo 4 | Kai Bae Beach, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siam Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siam Bay Resort is a last quiet family resort on Koh Chang's beautiful west coast. Being located at the very end of Kai Bae beach, there are no clubs or beach bars with loud thumping music to keep you awake, there are no outsiders that just walk in and squat all the best places on the beach or next to the pool, there is no traffic noise: it is just you, your loved ones, an extremely safe beach and lots and lots of peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Siam Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam Bay Hotel Koh Chang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing