We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for Zamboanga Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Orchid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zamboanga City
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is by far the best hotel in the city but it's kinda expensive. They don't have wifi, but you can use lan cable for internet if you are using laptop. The Mobile internet signal specially the Globe Internet is good. This hotel only have 1 bell boy on duty during my stay, so I have to wait for 10-15 minutes or so for my baggage to be lifted to my room. Don't expect much so you won't be disappointed, as I have said it is "Very Good for Zamboanga Standard".

Room Tip: I checked in room 4403 facing the ocean, not good view all I can see is the ROOF of the convention c...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iOpenerMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Garden Orchid Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

It was not that clean and it is not complete. it doesn't have minbar.
there is nosing and the breakfast is not that good. the cafe is not included in the breakfast.
overall it is satisfied and it is the best in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahmed_alharthi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Big hotel few meters from Zamboanga airport. Spent there three nights. Rooms are ok. Nice silent sleep. I also had a terrace overlooking the swimming pool.
Restaurant has some choices also for vegetarians. Got Red Horse beer, my favorite.
Music in the restaurant (a duo with singer and electric piano) needs .... some revision.
There are cheaper and better placed hotels in town.

Room Tip: Swimming pool side.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco8960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here for one-night at their famous new wing. Overrated. Rooms are fairly clean, beds are comfy, shower and room are spacious. These do not however correspond to the price-tag. Maybe the hotel is really charging for the use of the pool since it is the only decent pool in the city? Breakfast also sucks big time.

Plus point is its location as it is practically walking distance from the airport. They also have reliable shuttle service.

Overall, if you are willing to pay for the best hotel in the city, then pay. But value-for-money wise, this hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PinoyMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Don't expect breakfast is pleasant. The breakfast buffet is the poorest I've been to on this kind of hotel. But it's better than you have empty stomach during your meeting. By the way, never ever ever ever check on the old building room facing the highway. You'll get pissed off every morning by the noise of vehicles passing.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the swimming pool. Never get the rooms facing the highway.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel's location is very convenient as it is just a stone throw away from the airport, they also have FREE airport transfers even if you do not arrange for it ( that's a PLUS) on the service. I was booked on the new wing as I knew the old building is already worn out. Rooms are huge, clutter-free and well-lit, although it is quite pricey considering that amenities are just basic. Rooms are not sound-proof , i can clearly hear the voices of the people talking next door which is quite disturbing. For locals, it is expensive, maybe because there is no other hotel that competes with this one. They offer FREE breakfast , however, choices are very limited, but I cannot complain since its complimentary, if you compare it to other hotels in the Philippines though it still has a lot of areas for improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheKissingNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

There are two sections to the hotel, old and new. Need to make sure you get the new section as the rooms in the older section are a bit worn but still very comfortable. The hotel has a number of good restaurants and some shops. Security here is very tight, which is always welcome. Staff is very good, helpful, and friendly. If you have to go to Zamboanga for any reason, this is the best place to stay. Difficult to make reservations on line, so it helps to have a local who can handle the arrangements or give the hotel a call. Will stay there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying in the new section unless money is an issue. Older section is a bit worn but...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllenLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zamboanga City hotels
1.2 mi away
Ever O Business Hotel
Ever O Business Hotel
#2 of 5 in Zamboanga City
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Astoria Hotel
Grand Astoria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Zamboanga City
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lantaka Hotel
Lantaka Hotel
#5 of 5 in Zamboanga City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Winzelle Suites
Winzelle Suites
#1 of 31 in Zamboanga City
11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jardin De La Vina Hotel
Jardin De La Vina Hotel
#7 of 31 in Zamboanga City
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zamboanga Town Home
Zamboanga Town Home
#2 of 3 in Zamboanga City
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Orchid Hotel

Address: Gov. Camins Avenue, Mindanao, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Zamboanga Peninsula > Zamboanga Sibugay Province > Zamboanga City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zamboanga City
Price Range: $56 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Orchid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Garden Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing