We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens, worth the visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park)

Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This copy of London's Kew Gardens was built in 1917.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, worth the visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The gardens are lovely and well maintained, very enjoyable to stroll around and worth the $5 foreigner admission price.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    169
    42
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Lots of colorful flowers and well manicured shrubs. There is a big bird that will come down from the tree and eat fruit sticks that you can buy from one of the venders. There is a lake with a pagoda in it and i saw three women sweeping the grass. Not sure why.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveDosTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Been to Pyin Oo Lwin several time on businesd trip, I was not really motivated the famouns Botanical garden.
But finally, I decided to have look and were very impressed. The place is huge, well maintain with a large variety of plants. Unfortunately, on my visit day, the weather was good, rainy. I will definitaly go again on a better weather.




Helpful?
1 Thank JPThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Garden is located next to Kandawgyi Lake. A US$5 entry fee is required to enter the garden. The garden is popular with the local. A nice place to relax and stroll. The lake is populated with some white gooses and swans. There is an aviary and an orchid nursery but during my visit there were hardly any blooming flowers. To view the extend of the park you need to climb up to the top of wooden tower which is located at the far end of the garden. The view is fantastic with expanse of greenery and overlooking the entire town. But the tower would need some maintenance as some of the step boards are coming out. The show piece of the garden is around the smaller lake which are filled with colourful flowers and plants. It provides a picturesque setting for taking photo. The garden is a must visit if you are in Pyin Oo Lwin. It complement the serene beauty of the town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A nice garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's a nice garden and when you are in Pyin Oo Lwin you must certenly go there. But don't expect to much of it. For Myanmar people it is wonderful and you will see many couples over there for pictures for their wedding. But for me as a European I have seen better gardens/parks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park) also viewed

Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Mandalay Region
Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Mandalay Region
 

Been to Maymyo Botanical Garden (National Kandawgyi Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing