We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful escape from Mandalay”
Review of Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Peaceful escape from Mandalay”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Rxcellent accomodation just out of town, very new spacious bungalows with large fireplace, built in wardrobe and bath.
Fast Internet connection also.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Beautiful facilities with pool table, swimming pool and reclining lounge area

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    62
    37
    10
    2
See reviews for
14
92
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canggu, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I booked this hotel expecting heating from its many fireplaces shown on the internetsite photos. They even mention its "cosy fireplace" in the agora description. And arriving in the cold month of January in our nice booked bungalow we found a 5 meter high chimney with a 1 meter wide fire place. After sunset the temperature dropped to 8 Celsius and we called the reception to light the wood which filled the fireplace. It turned out that this was all for decoration. Even in the lounche which would be the obvious place to light a fire as the hub for the guests heath was denied to the guests who fled early to there beds looking for warmth in the twin beds under the duvets. What a miss and what a disappointment.
When we left we asked if a fire could be lightened the next time when we would return which was 3 days later. Staff assured us there would be a fire but on return it was the same cold song.
Food is very mediocre, duvets are good, helpful staf and nice bungalows but a freezing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter de Jager D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htoo, Owner at Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

We deeply apologize for the unpleasant experience you had had at our hotel. As our hotel is still new, there are still some facilities that we cannot fully provide to our hotel guests.

Currently we do not allowed anyone to use any fireplaces yet, because there are some safety equipments needed to be installed before it would be safe for our guests to use our fireplaces.

Now we have already started to use our fireplaces in our Bungalows with the best views, and within the few months after we have installed more safety protections, all our bungalows will be able to use our cozy fire places.

We appreciate and thanks for your review about our hotel as we are always willing to improve our service and facilities to provide the best for your honoured guests.

Regards,
Htoo Paing Soe
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Myanmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

After a rather hair-raising drive from Mandalay [ our driver just had to pass everything on the road regardless of size or position!!] we arrived at Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin and it was beautiful. The semi-detached bungalows are magnificent and so spacious. It was lovely to sit out on our verandah and watch the fish jumping in the carp pool. There are flowers everywhere and it really is very pretty.
Breakfast is buffet style and you can order egg dishes as well. The chef makes really tasty omelettes. The staff are very attentive.
Turn left out of the hotel and a 15 minute walk brings you to the beautiful Botanical gardens. You could easily spend a whole day here exploring the gardens. Unfortunately on the day we visited it rained steadily and after half a day we were getting very wet so returned to the hotel. The gardens are lovely as are the birds on the lake and in the walk in aviary.
Turn right out of the hotel and about a 40 minute walk brings you into town. Only about 5 minutes along this road is a plant nursery with a cafe/restaurant attached. We ate here and the food was very good and reasonably priced which made it a good alternative to the hotel restaurant. They have a wonderful selection of plants for sale too and are happy for you to wander around.
We had a ride in one of the little stagecoaches into town. We flagged an empty one down on the road but you could always get one at the gardens as they wait there for fares back into town.
The market is interesting and people are very friendly. Also there are a lot of colonial buildings to look at.
I would like to return and see more of the surrounding area. Oh and our hotel made sure that we had a 'good' driver to take us back to Mandalay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were happy to be out of Mandalay, as it was dirty, crowded and air unclean. As we drove up the mountain, we wondered where we would end up. The 90 minute drive was well worth it. The hotel welcomed us warmly with drinks and the attentive nature of the staff made for a relaxing and nice stay. The room was awesome, with a great bed and bathroom. The food was lacking, though we at at Feel Cafe one night and enjoyed the food there.(Owned by same company). It was a 5 minute walk to the Botanical gardens, which we loved. Visit a coffee plantation while you are in Pyn Oro Lwin. Highly recommend this hotel for a feel of Myanmar stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marycairns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am a Burmese Australian and took two weeks tour of Burma recently with my Aussie friends. We were so pleased with the Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin right from the moment we arrived. Friendly staff, excellent service, I think it was rated as 5 stars if I weren't wrong & they do deserve the rating. We were made to feel like guests of honour and could tell they were so well trained. I was so proud to show off the Burmese hospitality to my friends. On the last night, the chef said he could cook anything we wanted, which wasn't on the menu and we had the best Chinese that night. The staff prepared a candle lit dinner by the pool and it was just so magical. And best still, it didn't cost us a fortune! The service was amazing, the staff were just so polite, so friendly, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You would need to bargain with the driver to get the good value. It takes approximately two hours fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My only regret was that I only stayed one night here. Great location (10 minute walk to Botanical Gardens), excellent service, nice pool, wonderful, huge rooms, nice feel to the hotel. Beautifully landscaped. Great beds. Only opened a year ago, so not in many guidebooks, but it deserves it. We and to leave early to catch the Hsipaw train, and they started breakfast early, just for us. Great place to unwind - the town is definitely worthwhile if you're in the Mandalay area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After having substantially travelled throughout Myanmar I can very much recommend this hotel to stay in and Pyin Oo Lwin as a village to visit. Although it's a little outside of Mandalay its convenient to stay here as it offers a great alternative with its beautiful botanical garden (that alone is program for a day already) and cooler air. The distance from here to the Airport is not much longer than from Mandalay to the airport. Hotel is modern, looks like just recently opened and up to international standards. Staff is friendly, rooms are spacious, food and beverage is good and reasonably priced. Hotel also has a nice pool. Room prices are value for money.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on top of the hill as they offer more privacy and a view overlooking the hotel and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfrogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
1.5 mi away
Aureum Resort at Governor's House
Aureum Resort at Governor's Hous...
#5 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#6 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
#2 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Jasmine Hotel
Royal Jasmine Hotel
#1 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
49 reviews
67.9 mi away
Hotel Maymyo
Hotel Maymyo
#4 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
19 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Property: Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Address: 9 Nandar Rd. | Near Botanical Garden, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) 08, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the beautiful botanical garden on the side of hill with individual private teak bungalows each with its own veranda. Heated swimming pool, pool room, cosy lounge with a bar and a great restaurant makes for a very relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing