We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we had stayed longer here”
Review of Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Reviewed December 22, 2012

After a rather hair-raising drive from Mandalay [ our driver just had to pass everything on the road regardless of size or position!!] we arrived at Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin and it was beautiful. The semi-detached bungalows are magnificent and so spacious. It was lovely to sit out on our verandah and watch the fish jumping in the carp pool. There are flowers everywhere and it really is very pretty.
Breakfast is buffet style and you can order egg dishes as well. The chef makes really tasty omelettes. The staff are very attentive.
Turn left out of the hotel and a 15 minute walk brings you to the beautiful Botanical gardens. You could easily spend a whole day here exploring the gardens. Unfortunately on the day we visited it rained steadily and after half a day we were getting very wet so returned to the hotel. The gardens are lovely as are the birds on the lake and in the walk in aviary.
Turn right out of the hotel and about a 40 minute walk brings you into town. Only about 5 minutes along this road is a plant nursery with a cafe/restaurant attached. We ate here and the food was very good and reasonably priced which made it a good alternative to the hotel restaurant. They have a wonderful selection of plants for sale too and are happy for you to wander around.
We had a ride in one of the little stagecoaches into town. We flagged an empty one down on the road but you could always get one at the gardens as they wait there for fares back into town.
The market is interesting and people are very friendly. Also there are a lot of colonial buildings to look at.
I would like to return and see more of the surrounding area. Oh and our hotel made sure that we had a 'good' driver to take us back to Mandalay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 170 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were happy to be out of Mandalay, as it was dirty, crowded and air unclean. As we drove up the mountain, we wondered where we would end up. The 90 minute drive was well worth it. The hotel welcomed us warmly with drinks and the attentive nature of the staff made for a relaxing and nice stay. The room was awesome, with a great bed and bathroom. The food was lacking, though we at at Feel Cafe one night and enjoyed the food there.(Owned by same company). It was a 5 minute walk to the Botanical gardens, which we loved. Visit a coffee plantation while you are in Pyn Oro Lwin. Highly recommend this hotel for a feel of Myanmar stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marycairns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am a Burmese Australian and took two weeks tour of Burma recently with my Aussie friends. We were so pleased with the Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin right from the moment we arrived. Friendly staff, excellent service, I think it was rated as 5 stars if I weren't wrong & they do deserve the rating. We were made to feel like guests of honour and could tell they were so well trained. I was so proud to show off the Burmese hospitality to my friends. On the last night, the chef said he could cook anything we wanted, which wasn't on the menu and we had the best Chinese that night. The staff prepared a candle lit dinner by the pool and it was just so magical. And best still, it didn't cost us a fortune! The service was amazing, the staff were just so polite, so friendly, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You would need to bargain with the driver to get the good value. It takes approximately two hours fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My only regret was that I only stayed one night here. Great location (10 minute walk to Botanical Gardens), excellent service, nice pool, wonderful, huge rooms, nice feel to the hotel. Beautifully landscaped. Great beds. Only opened a year ago, so not in many guidebooks, but it deserves it. We and to leave early to catch the Hsipaw train, and they started breakfast early, just for us. Great place to unwind - the town is definitely worthwhile if you're in the Mandalay area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After having substantially travelled throughout Myanmar I can very much recommend this hotel to stay in and Pyin Oo Lwin as a village to visit. Although it's a little outside of Mandalay its convenient to stay here as it offers a great alternative with its beautiful botanical garden (that alone is program for a day already) and cooler air. The distance from here to the Airport is not much longer than from Mandalay to the airport. Hotel is modern, looks like just recently opened and up to international standards. Staff is friendly, rooms are spacious, food and beverage is good and reasonably priced. Hotel also has a nice pool. Room prices are value for money.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on top of the hill as they offer more privacy and a view overlooking the hotel and fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfrogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

New Hotel.rooms clean and all comforts in rooms,Large and spacious .staff happy and always there for service.The Manager was on hand at all times to make sure any needs or questions were dealt with,a very professional team he leads Hotel,great location for the gardens.Food was great breakfast and dinner.Would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dixie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Being a new enterprise, we were cut an extremely good price to stay in this luxurious place as they are quite hungry to build their customer base. The buffet breakfasts were generous and delicious. Onward travel arrangements were reasonable and efficient. The staff were falling all over themselves to be accomodating without being overly obtrusive. The resident manager Aung Zaw Oo was incredible, gracious, professional and experienced. He was very open to feedback in sorting out the inevitable bugs that come with any new venture. There was a problem with a noisy short cycling pump that resonates through the plumbing system( needs an inline large capacity diaphram tank but try explaining that across the language barrier let alone getting one in a sanctioned country). Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the hill get a nice breeze and good veiw. There is a great veiw of the observati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank deepforestpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Shwe Nann Htike
Hotel Shwe Nann Htike
#1 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aureum Resort at Governor's House
Aureum Resort at Governor's Hous...
#6 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#7 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
#2 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
94 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Jasmine Hotel
Royal Jasmine Hotel
#3 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
51 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Maymyo
Hotel Maymyo
#4 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin

Address: 9 Nandar Rd. | Near Botanical Garden, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) 08, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range: $86 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the beautiful botanical garden on the side of hill with individual private teak bungalows each with its own veranda. Heated swimming pool, pool room, cosy lounge with a bar and a great restaurant makes for a very relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing