We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good (but basic) hotel in Maymyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Park View Hotel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good (but basic) hotel in Maymyo”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is small, rooms rather small but clean, good size bathroom and good shower. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was very basic. They could add tomatoes, onions, vegetables and make a tastier omelette, also a bigger choice of fruits would be nice (rather than a banana) given the variety of fruits that grow in the area. WIFI was fine in the breakfast room and small lobby and terrace right in front of it but not in rooms. It would make very convenient for guests to get WIFI signal in their rooms. Overall a good and clean but very basic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adm496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    31
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
47
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

So glad we decided to stay in the garden area of this town. Royal Park View was a lovely relaxing hotel in a well maintained garden setting. The staff were helpful and anxious to please.
The dining room was very good both for breakfast and dinner. Our room was comfortable and we appreciated the fridge and the bathroom with its separate shower recess.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokkaido, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe room (55 $) for 2 nights here. The room was spacious and clean, accompanied by a private small terrace. They gave us hotwater for tea and tasty cookies everyday, so we enjoyed tea time in the room. We liked the lovely courtyard between our room and the front desk. The staffs were friendly, nice people. The front lady speaks beautiful English and she was always helpful. The restaurant was decorated nicely and each dish tasted very good.
Only one regrettable thing. We were planning to rent bicycles to go around the town, but they didn't give the service anymore. We had to walk in the hot weather or ride a horse carriage at tourist price.
The hotel can arrange various kind of tours such as visiting waterfalls, coffee plantation, cave, local villages, etc (you can get a brochure near the front desk).
We joined the coffee plantation tour. It was only 2000 kyat for one person, but it was really interesting. Unlike normal plantation, it is in the forest and the coffee trees are grown totally organically. You can have pleasant walk in the green forest, see all the process of the coffee production, and enjoy tasting coffee which is incredibly nice!
We wished we could have stayed here longer and joined other tours. We didn't expect so much about Pyin Oo Lwin, but now we look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eri086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

An awesome and fantastic hotel good location. Good service, staff courteous and friendly and good hospitality. Elaborate Breakfast. Value for money. The hotel is clean and good ambience. Would recommend for those going to Myanmar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family enjoyed our stay in Royal Park View Hotel in mid-February. Very beautiful surroundings and outstanding service. We especially like the kitchen. It's like a family kitchen and the boys working in the kitchen/ canteen are sincere and honest.

Room Tip: Excelsior Room is much much better than superior room though the rate is only a little bit higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were walk-ins and stayed in a Deluxe Room for $42 which was the rack rate for their normal rooms which were significantly worse.

Positives: clean, nice new shower (though the hot water needed fixing), air con and little outside terrace.

Negatives: could not connect to Wifi (looking at the reviews we are not alone) as they have a ridiculously complicated system which does not work with all smartphones. Breakfast is average until you realise there is a Burmese / Indian option which has to be ordered the day before. They also offered to rent bicycles which turned out to belong to the staff and were very poor quality.

Overall, a decent option and the staff were nice and willing to please, but with a bit of TLC and tweaking this could be much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokyodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Pyin Oo Lwin after a night in Mr Charles in Hsipaw and an overnight trek in the villages there, so by comparison, the Royal Parkview was a very comfortable and good value. We paid only $12 more for a large room with comfortable bed, good air con, and a decent bathroom than we paid in Hsipaw for a very basic room with so-so bathroom and intermittent electricity. The bed was comfortable and the room clean (a bit musty, but we opened up the door to the garden and the air cleared within a few minutes). At first, there was a problem with the hot water in our shower, but we phoned reception and it was rectified immediately.

It is true that the property could use a minor face-lift. A coat of paint and a little of bit of refurbishment of the bathrooms would make it a truly solid mid-range accommodation option. It is very quiet and they have done a good job maintaining the grounds. The western-style breakfast was utterly lacklustre (you'd think that given the area's fame for fresh produce, they'd do a nice fruit plate or similar), but the Burmese breakfast (my partner had mohinga, I had poori with curry potatoes) is marginally better.

We'd enquired the evening of our arrival if we could rent bikes from them - the man on the desk said "yes" but did not know the price and told us to ask at reception the following morning...which we did - only to be told that they do not rent bikes. The female day-time receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful and offered to arrange something for us. 10 minutes later we had 2 bikes - but it turned out that they were simply the bikes belonging to 2 staff members. While it was sweet of them to rent their own bikes to us (4000 kyat each), one bike was far too small for my partner (he is 6'4'') and my bike was so seriously out of alignment that it was practically impossible to ride. In the end we rented a scooter from Grace Hotel for the same price as the 2 bikes.

We could not get the Wifi to work on our phones, but they had a laptop at reception for guest use (free of charge).

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we'd probably stay there again...with a little bit of refurbishment, this place could be one of the best mid-range options in town!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
#4 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#6 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
#2 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aureum Resort at Governor's House
Aureum Resort at Governor's Hous...
#5 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Jasmine Hotel
Royal Jasmine Hotel
#1 of 16 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Green Hotel
Royal Green Hotel
#1 of 38 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park View Hotel

Property: Royal Park View Hotel
Address: 107, Eindaw Street, Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Royal Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing