We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable enough”
Review of Grace Hotel 1

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grace Hotel 1
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed only one night after train from Hsipaw and taxi onwards to Mandalay.
Pros: Comfortable beds, clean and tidy spacious rooms, above average breakfast for Myanmar served in the garden. Staff friendly.
Cons: Rather terrible decor (ok, it didnt physically hurt but orange rooms, pink and pastel green hallways are not a good mix), a bit pricey, and I suspect we got stung 'commission' on the share taxi to Mandalay - it was the first time i was asked to pay the hotel for the taxi, not the driver directly. While a bit away from the main area of town it is still situated on a main road so our room near the road picked up traffic noise early morning.
Overall acceptable and would possibly stay again if i could choose a different room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road do get traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Grace Hotel 1
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

I arrived here from Mandalay unannounced and was looked after very very well . Because I hadn't booked they said I would be only able to stay 2 nights then I had to go as they were fully booked . My room was great - the staff were just lovely . Breakfast in the garden was lovely too . I had a speaker on my I-Pod and we had John Coltrane with our bananas . Such a lovely Hotel - I was so relaxed there . Very soothing climate after the heat of sea - level . I could not fault this place , but I found the staff so pleasant and that makes it easy . I was on my own - the room I was given had 2xKing Size beds and a huge bath room .

Room Tip: Book so that you will not be disappointed . But if you are there is always the 'Bravo Hotel , in...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The room was large with 3 single beds. No air/con, however its not needed in the much cooler climate.
Both of us suffered a huge amount of scratching when on the beds, so bed bugs is an issue!
The breakfast was not bad, consisting of a few fruits, 1 egg & 2 toast. Not a good coffee.
Burmesse staff friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tacticalmunitions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel has an extremely helpfull and friendly staff.
When you're cold (and it can be very cold at night!) they will bring you as much hot tea as you like. Breakfast in the courtyard is excellent and served with a big smile. You'll receive more service than you would ever expect, and that makes up for the rooms which are a little dated.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Disappointing for such a great town. Dark dingy rooms, quite expensive with mediocre facilities - have had much better value for money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbracadabraEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Ok don`t get your hopes up. It is just a place to sleep and they have triple rooms and hot water but they have a sitting area just outside the rooms so you can relax when the little one is sleeping which is nice. They have a garden and the place is big enough to run around and there are more little kids to play with. It is nice to walk in to town after a nice breakast in the garden or rent bicycles. For lunch take a horse carriage to the new restaurant on the lake called Feel (safe for little ones!) and great views.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank McGonigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We chose the Grace 1 hotel because it was recommended in our guide book. The pricing policy was most unsual, $12 per person. This made room charges expensive for a couple. The hotel is conveniently situated just outside the main town, but within easy walking distance. The rooms are dark and dismal, but adequate. The hotel itself has a feeling of a lack of care or attention to detail We stayed for three nights and the hotel was practically empty even in the high season.

The staff tried their best, but seemed to have little idea about how to run a hotel. Breakfast was taken in the garden which was cold in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davebude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo) hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
Orchid Hotel Nan Myaning
#3 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aureum Resort at Governor's House
Aureum Resort at Governor's Hous...
#5 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
Hotel Pyin Oo Lwin
#6 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Green Hotel
Royal Green Hotel
#1 of 38 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Reward Resort
Royal Reward Resort
#13 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Jasmine Hotel
Royal Jasmine Hotel
#1 of 19 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace Hotel 1

Address: #114 Nann Myaing Rd., Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo), Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing