We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget, Soulful Stay at the Ashram”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rishikesh
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Budget, Soulful Stay at the Ashram”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My first stay in an Ashram. I stayed here for almost a month. I also took up a yoga course here for 2 weeks.

Who should go here : If you are looking out for some peaceful time, cost effective and wish to see Hindu culture closely, you should stay here.

Right on the banks of river Ganga, Parmarth is famous for its amazing evening Aarti. Some or the other religious activities alos take place almost on a daily basis here.
This is close to Ram jhula, in Swarg AShram. The lane to the Ashram is dirty but the ashram in itself is neat and clean.

i was staying here in the yoga area of thew ashram. my accommodation had one basic room on twin sharing basis, one store room/kitchen, separate toilet and wash room and a small verandah. It was actually a cozy room.

I had a schedule to follow. get up at around 4:30 am for an optional chanting session in the ashram, followed by yoga class untill 8:00 am in the morning, breakfast, vedic chanting class, philosophy class, shramdaan, lunch at 1:00 pm, a short break, yoga class at 4:00 pm followed by yog nidra, then Ganga Aarti , followed by meeting Swamiji and Sadhviji where both address problems of people, followed by dinner in the ashram.

this was pretty much my day in the ashram. Far from the masdness of the world , here you are truely amidst divinity of God, taking a bath in the Ganges or just strolling down the narrow lanes from Ram Jhula to Lakshman jhula.

Charges of room with food is Rs 500 per day. (sharing basis)

If you want to chill, move to the other side which is the Laksman Jhula.

Must go places/ cafe's
- Maharishi Ashram ( where the Beatles stayed, close to Parmarth)
- Pyramid Cafe, Budha Cafe, East West Cafe, Freedom Cafe

If you wish to take yo yoga teacher training course, Rishikesh is a hot pick.
there are variety of drop in classes of a variety of styles of yoga, there are proper courses as well. If you want to know more about where to take up a yoga course, you might want to drop in a messgae.

Parmarth has various yoga courses, wellness programs, spiritual retreats.

To attend any of these courses you need to book in advance.

So if you wish to explore yourself, this is a place to stay. Please do not expect any kind of pampering.

Room Tip: yoga students accommodation rooms are new and better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank MDabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    38
    14
    22
See reviews for
90
44
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just amazing...hotels and rooms are just too good...but outside it is not that clean and room service is also nice...aarti in the evening will chill your mind...try to go by your own car..you will enjoy a lot...I'm going next week again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Musician123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
175 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The rooms at this Ashram are basic, but clean and pretty good from an Ashram's perceptive. Food is again basic, but hygienically prepared and healthy. We would definitely recommend everyone to take the Yoga classes as it gives a very good exposure to the same. Finally, do not miss the evening Aarti.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rishib80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I found the staff were not very friendly with one male being inappropriate.I felt very isolated. The rooms are VERY cold in the winter which I was not prepared for. I left very disappointed with the ashram experience here. However, Rishikesh is the most unique, incredible place I have ever been. It is definitely a must see, I don't think I would go back as I did have some negative experiences and I am more of a beach person but it is one of my most treasured life experiences I believe I will ever have. India is my favorite country and Rishikesh is somewhere everyone should see, especially if you are interested in spirituality etc. It will blow your mind.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter make sure to bring lot's of extra blankets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gypsy_Soul432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was our first time to visit an Ashram with our family and we loved the experience. This is a very nice place with very comfortable and spacious rooms. We booked in advance and got an AC one, which very convenient for this season and the children, we were travelling witn. Food was lovely and not too spicy, so children were happy with it. The Aarti was a special thing to experience too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monipili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I visited Parmarth Niketan in Feb 2014 for a Yoga Course of 15days and ended up staying here for 2months. Parmarth is the largest Ashram in Rishikesh. The front office staff is friendly and helpful specially Dixit Ji. The cost of stay here includes 3 meals a day along with general yoga classes twice a day (morning and noon).Other than the accomodation blocks the ashram also has a huge garden area and thats where the Yoga Halls are. The early morning arti happens in the temple are at 4.30am followed by Prayer in the satsang hall between 5 to 6am.
This Ashram is also known for its Ganga Arti in the evening, trust me its the best i have ever come across.I rarely missed the arti during my stay there.Arti here is well organised with good seating arrangement. This experience is divine, Swamiji along with Mataji and the Rishikumars there sing the arti.

Room Tip: Ganga and Yamuna blocks are best for stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was amazed with the evening aarti which is conducted herewith great devotion and energy. An amazing evening ambienece that leaves you completely stunned and mesmerized. The Ganges river looks beautiful in the backdrop of flames of devotional fire. An amazing experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Hiten72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
1.3 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
1.7 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#4 of 48 in Rishikesh
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Akash Continental
Hotel Akash Continental
#22 of 48 in Rishikesh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yog Vashishth
Hotel Yog Vashishth
#6 of 48 in Rishikesh
179 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kunwar Residency
Kunwar Residency
#7 of 48 in Rishikesh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmarth Niketan Ashram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmarth Niketan Ashram

Property: Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Address: P.O. Swargashram, Rishikesh 249201, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Rishikesh
Number of rooms: 1000
Also Known As:
Parmarth Niketan Ashram Hotel Rishikesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing