We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal in Rishikesh”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Rishikesh
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The real deal in Rishikesh”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

For a true ashram experience Parmarth Niketan is the best choice. There are other ashrams and "fancy" boutique hotels in the area with running water and wifi but if you are looking for a more traditional ashram this is it. The service at the front desk is average. The food is great except for breakfast (I recommended taking a walk to The Office for a fruit bowl or porridge). The rooms are austere but clean (we had a room with two single beds). For the most part our block was quiet at night, no major monkey noise or loud people. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starviptrav33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    106
    38
    14
    22
See reviews for
91
46
80
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I spent a week here on a trip to Rishikesh and had to check out and go to a nearby hotel because I could not complete my stay. The room was FILTHY. After the first night, I went to a local store and bought cleaning supplies so that I could put my clothes into the cabinet and could use the bathroom sink and toilet. The rags I used to clean were BLACK after wiping everything down. There was so much mold in the rooms (black/green on my walls) that one of our group members had to be rushed to a Dr. because she had an allergic reaction and her eyes swelled to where she could not see. There were no sheets on the bed, so I had to cover myself with FILTHY comforters and blankets. I went into town and bought fabric to use as sheet and bought new pillow cases. The people in the office were incredibly rude and impatient with all of our group. The hallways have an Alcatraz feel to them and my door would not lock. The shower head was so clogged that water would only dribble out - no spray at all.

I realize this is an ashram and not intended to be the Four Seasons, but it was truly an awful place. My hotel that I stayed in was INFINITELY nicer and only $10US per night more. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a place situated in Swargashram.
Make sure you have made reservation. It can be done easily done with the help of sending a mail only. You are not required to pay at the time of booking.
The place is great with ample space
Rooms are neat and clean with attached bathroom and kitchen.
Don't expect room service as it is an ashram.
A great place to meditate.
It is conveniently located on the bank of ganga.
Prices are rock-bottom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ritwik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at parmath niketan ashram.
Rooms are modest but you get everything you need. The only drawback to mention: we stayed there in january so it can get really cold during the night (the rooms are pretty cold even during the day). So you might ask for some extra blankets (I am sure that's no problem).

The food is also modest but delicious.

They have a very nice garden and offer free (on a donation-basis) yoga classes which was a good experience.

Don't expect total calmness as there might also be (more or less annoying) tourist groups. Fortunately we had our rooms confirmed up front as the ashram was fully booked because of a large chinese tourist group.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I attended the Bhavad Gita and Patanjali yoga retreat 2012 which was wonderful. The vedic chanting and prana practice were the highlights of the course. Beautiful location, clean rooms and very friendly staff made this retreat a great haven for rest/relaxation. I will definitely return again.

Room Tip: I choose the mountain with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent xmas and new year at this wonderfully welcoming ashram near Ram Jhula in Rishikesh. Room are comfortable and clean (after arrival you can clean your room yourself when needed, ask for fresh towels etc) and water boiler worked relatively fast. But would recommend bringing a warm sleeping bag during the winter months as it keeps you warm better than the blankets (although plenty of those were available).

Room rate includes three meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner which were good) and safe drinking water is available 24hrs. Hatha yoga classes great too, Mata-ji Shanti managed to warm us up totally in half an hour at the morning session, yoga lessons are followed by guided vedic meditation. Evening Aarti ceremony was lovely. Very sad to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful location very friendly staff for the person who wishes to experience that being grateful and humble for what you receive. Great for yoga chanting and meditation stays at the Ashram are on a donation basis includes bed three meals and yoga. Food and water are clean and safe to eat and drink. You do not have to be concerned as the kitchen and dining area is clean. The Ashram has the best interest of all the people staying here it is a place if very good will. However it gets very cold be sure to bring plenty of warm clothes especially for the evening during sleep. After all it is the base of the Himalayas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WWilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
1.3 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yog Vashishth
Hotel Yog Vashishth
#6 of 51 in Rishikesh
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 51 in Rishikesh
388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kunwar Residency
Kunwar Residency
#8 of 51 in Rishikesh
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shiv Shakti Hostel
Shiv Shakti Hostel
#1 of 201 in Rishikesh
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmarth Niketan Ashram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmarth Niketan Ashram

Property: Parmarth Niketan Ashram
Address: P.O. Swargashram, Rishikesh 249201, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Rishikesh
Number of rooms: 1000
Also Known As:
Parmarth Niketan Ashram Hotel Rishikesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing