We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid Experience for Indian Tourists.”
Review of Tip Top Restaurant

Tip Top Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 201 Restaurants in Rishikesh
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 18, 2019

I notice that most of the rather flattering reviews are written by foreigners. We were a group of 4 adults and a child (all Indians) who went for dinner. Right from the outset, there was an air of reluctance and resentment from the staff. The cashier, the waiter etc were downright rude and were snapping at us for no reason. We finished our meal only because the place had been highly recommended. All of us were disgusted with the experience. Even the 5 year old accompanying us could tell that there was something "off" about it. I don't know if the staff was just high on something or were going out of their way to discourage us. We had to share plates, because they told that they didn't have any more! The Indian food we had was passable, the "kashmiri pulao" was a joke. There are places in the vicinity which serve much better food at lesser cost. If you are a foreigner looking for a good view and jasmine tea it might for you, as Indians national looking for good food, our experience was nothing short of horrid.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2019

Ahhh this spot is such a gem. The restaurant itself is reached up stairs so steep they could pass as a ladder, but when you get to the top the views of the river are breathtaking. Always order the Indian dishes here, they do those best. The egg plant Masala is delicious as is the veggie curry with cashews served with hot chapatis. We came here a handful of times and the food was consistently good. Sumit who served us each time is just a delight and so welcoming and it's great value for the standard of food. The service is quite slow so arrive with a spare hour or two to sit back and relax - everything is worth the wait here and its a good excuse to sit back and soak it all up.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank JudyC1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

Tip Top Restaurant is one of the best cafes in Rishikesh. We have spent good time here and enjoyed delicious food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RichiS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018 via mobile

The place was recommended by a friend, it’s a bit hidden and one can easily miss it.
The food was very delicious, I was especially careful because not all places in India are safe to eat for for Europeans and especially first timers in India.
It’s now my favorite place in Rishikesh. The view of the Ganges is just amazing, pictures don’t do it justice.

Date of visit: September 2018
9  Thank KatiaDimova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

A mixed fruit smoothie, that's all I ordered before stepping into the seating area. I got a wonderful view of the river, and met a happy bunch of travellers sipping on juice. They have limited staff so orders take quite a while to process. If you're in the mood for a tall, thick glass of natural juice, you have arrived at the right place!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Suzanna_stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Restaurant also viewed

Rishikesh, Dehradun District
 
Rishikesh, Dehradun District
Rishikesh, Dehradun District
 
Rishikesh, Dehradun District
Rishikesh, Dehradun District
 

Been to Tip Top Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing