We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got Children in Dehradun / Mussorie and travel by Air via Jolly Grant Airport? If yes I have some GREAT news for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My daughter studies in Mussorie International School and I have to travel to Mussorie and Dehradun fairly often. Like many other parents I too need to take my ward back from Mussorie for an Exeat / vacation and travel back to my home town and back in a really short time. The Shatabdi train allows a very narrow window to do this job in a single day. (This may be true for short business trips as well). Hence you end up needing to stay at a hotel in Dehradun / its vicinity as the last flight out of Dehradun is around 1630 hrs or so and the Shatabdi leaves at 1700 Hrs. There are some very good options to stay in Mussorie like the Amber Vermont, Country Inn etc BUT I feel for a capital Dehradun really lacks a good hotel.
The Hotel Ganga Kinare in Rishikesh is a very good place to stay and fills this gap rather perfectly. It is only 15 Kms from Jolly Grant Airport while from anywhere in Dehradun you need to travel at least 22 Kms through some heavy traffic.
The hotel is not a huge property but it is excellent. The view is simply SUPERB as the river Ganga flows by it. In fact the Hotel has its own private ghat that one can use (if of a religious bent of mind). The top floor I think the 4th is under renovation and the newly redone Lotus Suite on that floor would be my top pick as the room is really large and your ward can easily fit into the same room with an extra bed. I am posting some pictures of this room also online for all to see. The view from the room is simply great.
The staff is courteous and the food is good. It’s certainly a great option for any other parent like me or even a business traveler transiting through Jolly grant.

Room Tip: The Lotus Suite would be my first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanjaySharma_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 949 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The location of the hotel is gr8. Wide stretch
of the river ganges is visible from all rooms.
Feels like heaven with river and forest background.
You won't see any buildings from the rooms.
landscaping is excellent.
In house holy water restra offers everything.
Food is awesome and very tasty.
Room service and all the services were gr8 & prompt.
View from the restra was very good. You could sit there for hours and watch the view with a sip of coffee.
Staff was very good and cooperative.
interior was excellent.
overall a very gr8 stay with no complains.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anand131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went there last week (16-18 Aug '13) with my parents, who visit Haridwar / Rishikesh very often. As per them, this was their best trip to Ganga and stay experience. Hotel's location is excellent with private ghat. water is so much clean here than at other public ghat locations in Rishikesh. Truly feels like a dip in the holy river amidst the mountains. Rooms have beautiful panoramic views of mountains and Ganga river. The promenade between the hotel and Ganga literally invites you for a walk. Town is like 5 min drive away to visit for evening aarti or other local site seeing.
The restaurant too has to be rated 5 star. Very few places offer non-oily, yet tasty and light North Indian food and it was customized to no-garlic-no-onion at our request. Choice wise too menu was extensive and has multi-cuisine options. Even during the breakfast, staff saw to it that we get hot puri / bhature served at our table despite it being a buffet. One of the staff members even offered to hold my rowdy 5 month old son while we eat peacefully.
My parents plan to stay at this hotel only whenever they visit Rishikesh next and we recommend it to everyone, whether you are going there for a break or pilgrimage.
Its a beautiful hotel at the best location for a blissful trip to Ganges.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

the hotel is a great find right at the beginning of Rishikesh. It's not too far from the main town center, but far enough to enjoy the serene aspect of this wonderful city. the terrace and the restaurant offer beautiful views which make a big impact. the hotel has a beautiful riverside garden and a ghat where the hotel priest performs ganga aarti everyday. it is a very very indian and holy experience while offering all the comforts one needs when on vacation. not to forget the well equipped spa and the pleasant people serving us throughout. highly recommended accomodation option in rishikesh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehatravbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hi.. i stayed at Hotel Ganag Kinare from 20/25 June. this is one of the best hotel in RIshikesh. main USP of the hotel is the location i.e. right on bank of the River Ganges.. Hotel has private Ghat ...

The stay at the hotel was great.. Great food (no non veg & alcohol).. good rooms and excellent view... staff is very friendly...

I definitly suggest this hotel to all the people who want to have great experince in Rishikesh..


Arvind

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvind_Saklani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

beautiful property, beautiful decor with a private ghat and sweet staff. What do you need more??
the food is amazing and so is the ambience. In the evening time there is bhajan sandhya on the lawn adjacent to the private ghat. there is a small temple too. beautifully maintained with excellent staff and service!! worth every penny you pay!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are ganga facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I liked almost everything about this hotel. The restaurant is quaint. The serving guy was very friendly and got a quick meal prepared for our famished toddler even when the kitchen had a lot of orders lined up. They have 2 lifts now - so it is extremely comfortable to run up and down. And the best part of the hotel is the river-front walk - it refreshes you up totally.
Minor Cons: They ran out of hot water and took ages to get it back. Also, the room did not have a balcony, but there were huge glass windows.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
3.6 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
0.7 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 54 in Rishikesh
396 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kunwar Residency
Kunwar Residency
#8 of 54 in Rishikesh
159 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ganga Beach Resort
Ganga Beach Resort
#33 of 54 in Rishikesh
413 reviews
3.2 mi away
Divine Resort
Divine Resort
#10 of 54 in Rishikesh
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: 237 Virbhadra Road | (Also Called Barrage Road), Near Aiims, 3 Km Before Ram Jhula While Coming From Haridwar to Rishikesh, Rishikesh 249201, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rishikesh
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rishikesh
#1 Family Hotel in Rishikesh
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rishikesh
#2 Spa Hotel in Rishikesh
Price Range: $107 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled snugly on the banks of a tranquil River Ganges, Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel is a charming retreat in the sanctum of Rishikesh, a land where spirituality and Mother Nature blend into a heady concoction. The only hotel resort in Rishikesh built right on the banks of the Ganges, Ganga Kinare overlooks the Rajaji National Park, one of North India's expansive sanctuaries and a melting pot of diverse flora and fauna. The resort boasts of a waterside esplanade beside the sinuous river, where one can soak in the sight of the mountains and revel in the sheer verdancy of it all. The resort houses 38 contemporary river facing rooms, each subtly touched with a flavour of tradition and local culture. Every room of the hotel presents an enthralling view of the interplay between the woods, the great Ganges and the Shivalik hills in the background. In addition, a modernistic conference hall can host up to 120 delegates. The resort can enhance an overall experience through enticing activities including safaris, white water rafting, camping, trekking, biking, nature walks, bird watching, boating, sky gazing, yoga and meditation, and Ayurvedic spa treatments. The hotel has hosted the International Yoga week on many an occasion and its guest list includes dignitaries like Mr Anil Kapoor (famoun Bollywood and Holywood Actor), Ms Lisa Ray (famous model and actor), Mr Rahul Gandhi (Gen Secy, Indian National Congress), Mr Lal Krishna Advani (ex-Home Minister and Deputy Prime Minster), Padam Shri BKS Iyengar, Mr. Moti Lal Vora (ex- Governor U.P.), Mr Ramanand Sagar (producer and director, Ramayana - a renowned television serial), Mr Ghulam Nabi Azad (ex-Tourism Minister, Govt of India), Dr. Karan Singh (ex-Union Cabinet Minister), Mrs Hema Malini (renowned film actress), Ms Yukta Mookhey (ex-Miss World), Pandit Jasraj (renowned Indian classical musician) among international heads of states, ambassadors, artists, celebrities, religious leaders and other VIPs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganga Kinare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing