We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, quiet, convenient”

Green Valley Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rishikesh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Valley Cottage
Ranked #31 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Rishikesh
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, quiet, convenient”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This friendly family guesthouse is my favourite place to stay in Rishikesh (Tapovan)
Situated remote in the Swiss cottage oasis, this place remains peaceful and quiet.
All rooms are well maintained and good value. Three upper rooms and the one on the top have a huge sunny terrace in front. From there view to the green hills including the one with Kunjapuri temple to where u can hike up and down in one day passing through tiny villages
in beautiful hill area.

Easy Access to Green Valley from Rishikesh town via shared Riksha for 7Rs (March 2013).
Get off at the left-hand turn just before the round white Kriya Yoga Ashram-building and follow the turn up around 200m. There is also a shortcut starting from the Riksha parking area.

The Family is laid back, the service perfect. People stay there often longterm.

A new restaurant, run by the family and situated at the backside of the building,
is about to open soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Mammas cottage is adding new rooms so our stay at green valley was marred by the construction noise and dust. In addition anew restaurant is being built behind so its a construction site this end of high bank.

However, the room (202) is very clean, basic, plenty of balcony space and wonderful friendly family. Free WiFi. Monkeys came which was kind of funny. Plenty of beautiful birds and mostly surrounded with trees, nice view of Tapovan from the terrace.
I feel safe here. In future the new restaurant will make this place great. Basically a good value small and friendly place to stay.
Just terrible timing with all the construction.
Rooms currently 500-600 rupees per night, all very clean. Could be cheaper given the circumstance.

Mammas cottage we were offered the worst room I have ever seen. Not sure why it is so popular but perhaps again, just bad timing.

High bank is ever more popular but still shanti compared to the rest of main rishikesh.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A quite oasis with view of Ganga, mountains, and the big night sky. Spacious, clean rooms and a big roof perfect for nightly meditation. Also close to bunch of garden restaurants and just 5-10 minute walk from Laxman/Ram Jhula and various ashrams.

The host are gracious and warm which creates a family like setting. Great place to chill/read/meditate while meeting fellow travelers.

WIFI is good but I would prefer a base station per floor for stronger signal. This was the only bugaboo as I was writing a book. The room attendant is a nice/helpful fella but seems to be distracted with constant calling from his wife/girlfriend.

Overall a great find.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank travlwrtyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

In the backpacker area, a quiet hostel with a few rooms, family ambiance and very good service.
I was happy to be able to retreat in this calm place for a few days, the service was good and the room was very clean and large. The top - roof has a great view of the ganga river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyWorldOurPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Green Valley cottage for 12 nights in June 2012. We were at the end of a four and a half month jaunt around India and decided to put our feet up and chill out before heading down to Delhi to fly out to Bangkok.

If you've spent any time in Rishikesh you'll know that it is far from a picture of serenity. The backpackers, the yogaphiles, the pilgrims and the young Indians who come for the rafting all add to the melee in this little town by the Ganges.

Up at High Bank there is a small enclave of guest houses and restaurants with no road through it, so there is little traffic to shatter the peace. Green Valley Cottage is run by a lovely lady called Madhu (with her son's help - I've forgotten his name); a warm welcome awaits you there.

Our room was neat and clean with a big bed and decent hot water shower. There is wifi with a decent speed (for Rishikesh) and a huge roof terrace from wich you have a great view of the mountains and the river.

There is also a laundry service and crucially, a battery back-up system - like much of India Rishikesh suffers regular power cuts - which means the lights and the fans are always stay on.

In all, I have no hesitation in recommending the Green Valley Cottage to fellow travellers; it was certainly one of the nicest places we stayed at in India.

Room Tip: Some rooms have air coolers which are handy when it's 40+°.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpome7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
0.3 mi away
60's Green Hills
60's Green Hills
#9 of 48 in Rishikesh
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kunwar Residency
Kunwar Residency
#7 of 48 in Rishikesh
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Valley Mama Cottage
Mount Valley Mama Cottage
#28 of 195 in Rishikesh
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bhandari Swiss Cottage
Bhandari Swiss Cottage
#17 of 119 in Rishikesh
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Bank Peasants Cottage
High Bank Peasants Cottage
#16 of 119 in Rishikesh
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Valley Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Valley Cottage

Property: Green Valley Cottage
Address: O P Green Valley Cottage Badarinath Road, Rishikesh 249201, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing