We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganga Aarti at Triveni Ghat

Ganga Aarti at Triveni Ghat
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Haridwar and Rishikesh Day from Delhi
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Rishikesh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Triveni Ghat is. Landmark by itself, being one of the spots from where daily worship of the sacred River Ganga has been performed since times immemorial.
1 review
“Superb ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I love it
I am thankful to be here
I love RISHIKESH
I have been living here from last 15 years
I have never ever ever seen this typ of place
I wanna always be live here
I love mah RISHIKESH

Helpful?
Thank Prince K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    183
    44
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uttar Kashi
Level Contributor
351 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“simple and sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is the ancient aarti site where worship has continued for hundreds of years. Unfortunately the addition of bad loud speakers detracts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank atmananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most authentic Aarti in Rishikesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Aarti at Parmarth Niketan is nice but if you want a truly authentic experience of Aarti head down to the Triveni Ghat about a half hour before sunset. Celebrate with the local people (not the tourists up river) and experience the power of Aarti. Moved to tears every time. JGD

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

One of the must have experiences of rishikesh. it makes a life time memory. standing there and watching the aarti go on, with everybody around you reverberating at the same frequency with all the minds focused at the aarti, this can be literally felt!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank abheesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Triveni v. Ram Jhula v. Haridwar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

After seeing all three, here's what I think of the basic difference in the evening Ganga prayers.

1. Haridwar, Har Ki Paudi: Big, bass boosted, tight, kind of a spectacle for the eyes with all the human energy and little temples bustling together.

2. Rishikesh, Triveni Ghat: More quiet, subtle, payers directly next to the river almost touching the water; no steps in between like in the other two. Wide, stony, empty beach with twinkling lights in the back... pretty peaceful (if the prayers are not being done over loudspeakers).

3. Swarg Ashram, Ram Jhula: 3km from Rishikesh, prayers here are most different. Many people gather here too but its not tight like Haridwar. More of a meditative discussion-prayer-chant. Whole thing lasts the longest here. Lots of young disciples sing along with much harmony and unison. Seen it over three years, and it is still exactly the same.

They all start around sunset. Being part of any is a feast. See whatever works for you.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank walkingaroundintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganga Aarti at Triveni Ghat also viewed

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 
Rishikesh, Uttarakhand
 

Been to Ganga Aarti at Triveni Ghat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing