We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanskriti Vedic Retreat
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Rishikesh
New Delhi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely vacation”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were two families who stayed for 3 days at this place. The cleanliness, staff and overall ambience is great. The place scores 100% on location being right next to the Ram -Jhoola providing easy access to the evening Aarti. Also the bazaar is just below the rooms, so one can stroll and buy stuff or take a boat ride across Ganga anytime of the day. Rooms are good-sized, bathrooms clean with nice hot water. The views from the rooms are to die for sp in the early morning and evening hours. There is a nice cafe which has good veg food. One needs to pre-order for lunch and dinner and even though as Indians one might find the 'spices' a bit low, the preparation is very good. The spa has well trained people and the massages are value for money. The hotel also helped us book a river-rafting outing at a cost less than what was usually charged. The owner made it a point to meet us and kept us informed about everything. Thank you Deepti for your wonderful place. I have already recommended it to many friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anurakshat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
16
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were a group of 4 from UK who visited Sanskriti in March 2012.
We originally intended to stay for two nights but having visited the premises prior to our stay we decided against this, as the living facilities did not meet our expectations.

Instead we thought we would use the day spa facilities.

We prearranged with the reception to ensure that there would be enough therapists to provide five treatments for each one of us (approx. 3 hrs for each person) on the day. This was also further confirmed with the reception on the day before our arrival.

On the day we arrived as agreed in the morning but found there was only one therapist available and almost two hours were spent by the reception staff to arrange for other therapists. During this time we also overheard the reception staff speaking to the owner who refused to give approval for a therapist as this therapist wanted to charge more then 100 rupees. Given that for example a massage treatment was around two thousand rupees we sensed some staff exploitation.

After two hours two further therapists arrived who were completely unfamiliar with the surrounding, accessories and available equipment. They had to constantly ask the one in house therapist where things were kept.

The treatments that we had were of a very low standard in comparison to the prices charged, Treatments were also unhygienic as for example Manicure and Pedicure was carried out using the same bowl of water and this same water was also used by the therapists to wash her hands. Towels used for wiping hands and feet were torn and dirty.
Same slippers and robes were reused for different clients. In one case the towel used for massaging was also the same provided for having a shower!

Also forget any offering for a drink after your treatment unless you are willing to pay, as this is a two star facility at five star prices!

The premises are also not suitable for anyone with even a slight disability as access is by means of a very steep stairwell. One of our group members also slipped and fell over after the shower due to a stair being in the most inappropriate place together with non- grip soles on the slippers.

The owner was present during our treatments and we had actually spoken to her on the phone prior to our visit. She did not however have the courtesy to greet and apologise on the happenings in the morning and just ignored us!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had such an amazing time at this location!! The staff was wonderful and welcoming and the food and service were outstanding. The rooms were clean and well appointed, there was good wireless access in the lounge area, and the staff was knowledgable and helpful about things to do in Rishikesh. The spa and aruyvedic treatments were all top notch. The location is great!! You can watch the Ganga out your window or deck and you can walk easily all over Rishikesh. We felt well taken care of as foreigners on our first trip in India. It is a little hard to find, but once you are there you realize it is a well hidden gem.

Room Tip: It seemed to be that all the rooms were terrific - no major differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi,

I really appreciate your concerns for Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.

We are open again after a lot of hard work and ready to welcome people like you who enjoyed and miss the stay with us. We are finalizing the finishing touches and ready to serve you. Very soon we are posting pictures of Sanskriti .

Looking forward to welcome you

with warm regards

Krishn Vaish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I have been traveling around Northern India for 2 months, and have enjoyed Sanskriti the most. Their beds and pillows are comfortable. The rooms, cafe, and yoga rooms have been clean and comfortable. The food from the cafe has made a nice change of pace from the Indian diet. Being able to eat fresh vegetables and fruit has made my day. The staff has been very helpful with my Hindi practice and willing to show my classmates and I around Rishikesh.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdglobe-hopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello Heera Gopal,

We appreciate your efforts to write a review for us, we are open again and welcoming people like you who give us an opportunity to serve and to show our professionalism.

We will look forward for your visit at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.


With warm regards

Krishn Vaish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed at Sanskriti during my last trip to India.
It is a beautiful - small sized hotel that truly cares about your well-being as a foreign in India.
The staff was the best! They were attentive and caring, making us feel ¨at home...¨
I would love to come back soon and have wonderful panchakarma treatments in their beautiful spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belencitasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello Heera Gopal,

We appreciate your efforts to write a review for us, we are open again and welcoming people like you who give us an opportunity to serve and to show our professionalism.

We will look forward for your visit at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.


With warm regards

Krishn Vaish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishikesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I was in Rishikesh foe a Yoga retreat, in an ashram which was great but a little basic.
wondering around i stumbled to this place and i was amazingly surprised to see the classy interiors, smiling staff, and beautiful Ganga view from the terrace, after rigorous of Ashram it was a soothing place for the body n relaxing experience for the body.

they have a great Spa clean and best therapists love you all at Sanskriti...

this a professionally managed place By A management company named SIX SENSES Pvt. Ltd.
Who is coming with some new and exciting places around the city. must visit. they have a vision and a style for unique works.
i also went on a jungle Safari which was a class experience after the spiritual and healthy lifestyle, saw wild elephants for the first time in my life.....
well managed trip and great people to do it with. thanks guys for making this trip an spacial experience.
they also have nice day hikes and excursions to the surroundings and Rafting is also a great activity to do..
At Last Great place great location great staff( Rakesh) great food( Diwakar, Alendra) and Great Management.
Best of luck To Deepti and Vivek For the New ventures and for the future of Six senses and Sanskriti......

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello Heera Gopal,

We appreciate your efforts to write a review for us, we are open again and welcoming people like you who give us an opportunity to serve and to show our professionalism.

We will look forward for your visit at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.


With warm regards

Krishn Vaish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place has got a amazing aura about it nice decor, Ganga bank, Bridge view, Hospitable Staff Great Management by " Six Senses Hospitality Pvt. Ltd."

Stumb;ed accross this place when going through Ram Jhula region for Ganga Aarti. nicely located but some what hidden as doesn't have a front entry initially took some time for us to decide to go in as we were not sure about the place n Entrance.

but boy what a gem hidden behind that basic front.we were treated very nicley n services on offer were excellent.

we visited the SPA n amazed with the decor n treatments.
figured out that this is one of the best places to have Panchkarma Done in Town

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanskriti1982, Manager at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hello Heera Gopal,

We appreciate your efforts to write a review for us, we are open again and welcoming people like you who give us an opportunity to serve and to show our professionalism.

We will look forward for your visit at Sanskriti Vedic Retreat, Rishikesh.


With warm regards

Krishn Vaish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
1.1 mi away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
2.0 mi away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#4 of 49 in Rishikesh
383 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aranyam River Retreat
Aranyam River Retreat
#5 of 49 in Rishikesh
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Divine Resort
Divine Resort
#10 of 49 in Rishikesh
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanskriti Vedic Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanskriti Vedic Retreat

Property: Sanskriti Vedic Retreat
Address: Ramjhulla Near Shivanand Hospital | Opp. Shivanand Ashram, Rishikesh 249203, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanskriti Vedic Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanskriti vedic retreat located in the himalayan foothills-rishikesh.the spiritual and mythological land where the celestial ganges descended on the earth. The sanskriti vedic retreat will take you to the ultimate bliss in this land of divine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sanskriti Vedic Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing