We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing 'Grand' about this 'Castle' 'Resort'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rishabh Grand Castle
Ranked #48 of 60 Hotels in Rishikesh
Reviewed July 2, 2012

First off, it was a last minute booking and being in the peak season, we were just glad that we could find a place. But that is all we were happy about.

There is nothing that is grand about Rishab. It is NOT a resort, not by miles.

When we checked in, instead of giving us the rooms, the checkin clerk asked us what was the agreed upon rate for us since we had dobe the reservation through a friend. We found that very interesting. If we didnt know the rates, they would have charged us more probably. I was told by our driver that it is a common practice in the area to cross check and if one falls for the trick, they end up spending more.

The checkin looked seedy at best. The rooms were adorned by hand hung placards mentioning if it was a deluxe or a super deluxe room. The rooms were spacious enough for an overnight stay, i must admit. However, the linens were not maintained, and on requesting to change them, we were told it can happen only the next day as all the remaining have gone to the laundromat for cleaning.

The elevator was turned off and had to be turned on by the receptionist

The bathrooms were not very cleanly maintained either.

There were various etchings on the menu warning visitors not to eat food in the hotel restaurant. Since it was late at night we decided to go ahead and ate in the restaurant. The food was digestable.

Checkout was a breeze since we paid for the night earlier.

I wouldnt recommend this place unless this is the only accomodation in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mkn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were two families with children. Wanted a place to saty for a day and see the evening aarti. Decent, clean place, though small rooms. Average food though it was healthy and good for the kids. We walked down to the market and then the Laxman Jhula from where we took a jeep for Ram Jhula where we saw the evening aarti.

Room Tip: The suite is good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dbchowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

1. food quality was bad
2. rooms were new but washrooms were not clean
3. rates are really high, they were really over-charging.
4. variety and availability of food was bad, very bad.
5. breakfast which was included in the package was horrible
6. no views from the rooms

Room Tip: go to divine resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
7  Thank hemantvirmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were at Rishav for 2 nights in March. It was wonderful with the high mountain back drop and the cool breeze wafting in.The location was excellent.The satff very accomodating. We did'nt want to leave.Will surly stay there again, Often hotels make one fall in love with a place. This is what happened to us during our stay at Rishav.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RitaGuwahati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

the hotel's locaion is quite nice.....the room's and the food was just fine....bt al in al a gud experience......

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Our stay as a couple in this hotel has been eternally memorable. We have been mesmerized by its quiet elegance, authentic decors and fallen in love with its endearing staff. The accommodation is a pleasant place which is well managed. Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The property is gorgeous and very well maintained. We plan on staying again. The place is ran by very kind people whom are knowing of the area. All members of each staff were wonderful. Staff was very accommodating and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Daredevil_a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DaJabberwocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rishikesh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Raj Palace
Hotel Raj Palace
#46 of 60 in Rishikesh
17 reviews
1.8 mi away
OYO 4475 Hotel Akash Continental
2 mi away
OYO 5936 Hotel Hermitage
OYO 5936 Hotel Hermitage
#22 of 60 in Rishikesh
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Devoy Inn
Hotel Devoy Inn
#29 of 60 in Rishikesh
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green View by One Hotels
Green View by One Hotels
#33 of 60 in Rishikesh
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ishan
Hotel Ishan
#6 of 60 in Rishikesh
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rishabh Grand Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rishabh Grand Castle

Address: Tapovan, Laxman Jhula | opp Anand Dham, Rishikesh 249201, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Rishikesh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 60 Hotels in Rishikesh
Price Range: $28 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rishabh Grand Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Further when you are away from home, we assure you. You will feel at home with us. A warm and hearty welcome awaits our patrons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rishabh Grand Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing